Gyuto Club

DMT Dia-Sharp D8F Review

One grit, one unbroken diamond face, and a flatness guarantee no water stone can make. Checked against DMT's own product page, its FAQ and its published grit table — including the advice on it we think you should ignore.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which knife we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Buy the D8F if you sharpen thin, pointed Japanese knives and want a plate that will still be dead flat in a decade. Buy the two-grit DuoSharp instead if you need one tool to cover both edge repair and routine sharpening. That is the whole decision between DMT’s two 8-inch bench plates, and it comes down to a single physical difference: this one has no holes in it.

DMT’s own page for SKU D8F describes a “precisely engineered Dia-Sharp Bench Stone with continuous diamond surface” that “assures consistent, even sharpening every time,” and leads with a claim no water stone can make: “Guaranteed not to hollow or groove.” The grade is published plainly as “fine diamond (25 micron / 600 mesh) for honing a razor sharp edge,” on a “micronized monocrystalline diamond surface,” with “non-skid rubber feet with the diamond grit clearly marked on side of stone,” and it is “Made in the USA.” The Amazon listing we link adds the dimensions: 8 x 3 x 0.38 inches.

We have not worn this plate out over years — we do not own one, and our methodology page says what we do instead. What follows is DMT’s published specification, read against the rest of the field and against what a Japanese kitchen edge actually needs.

The continuous surface is the product

DMT sells two bench formats and the difference is not cosmetic. The DuoSharp line uses what DMT calls interrupted surface technology — the familiar polka-dot face, which DMT describes as “slightly recessed” so swarf falls away instead of loading the abrasive. Dia-Sharp is unbroken diamond from edge to edge, and DMT itself points that surface at “small and pointed tools.”

On a kitchen knife that distinction shows up in one specific place: the tip. Draw the last 20 mm of a thin gyuto across an interrupted plate and the point repeatedly crosses a void and lands on the far rim of it. On a soft German blade nothing happens. On a 60–61 HRC Japanese edge, that is exactly the kind of point loading that takes a small chip out, and the tip is the thinnest, least supported steel on the knife. The continuous face removes the mechanism entirely.

The second thing you are buying is flatness you do not have to maintain. A water stone dishes in the middle with use — that is normal, and the fix is a flattening plate and the pencil-grid routine in our flattening guide. A dished stone grinds a convex bevel, which is a real and under-discussed reason edges come off a stone less sharp than they went on. DMT’s plate does not dish, and DMT puts that in writing. It will also flatten other things for you: DMT’s page names “flattening plane soles, irons and chisel backs,” and in a kitchen context a diamond plate is the standard tool for lapping a water stone back to true.

What 25 micron / 600 mesh actually does

Fine is the grit a kitchen knife lives at, and it is worth being precise about what it is not. DMT’s published color-coded table runs Coarse at 325 mesh / 45 micron, Fine at 600 mesh / 25 micron, and Extra-Fine at 1200 mesh / 9 micron. This plate is the middle one, in one grade only.

DMT D8F against its two-grit sibling and a typical water stone, on published figures
 DMT D8F Dia-SharpDMT DuoSharp W8FCNB1000/6000 water stone
GritsFine only — 600 mesh / 25 µmCoarse 325/45 µm + Fine 600/25 µm1000 + 6000
SurfaceContinuous diamondInterrupted (recessed dots)Continuous, bonded abrasive
Plate size8 x 3 x 0.38 in.8 x 2.63 x 0.38 in.Varies, typically ~180 x 60 mm
Stays flatGuaranteed not to hollow or grooveYes — diamond plateNo — dishes with use
PrepDry or water, no soakingDry or water, no soakingSoak or splash, depending on stone
Base / feetNon-skid rubber feetNone (NB = no base)Usually a holder in the box
Finishes an edgeNo — working gritNo — working gritYes, at 6000
Best forThin, pointed Japanese bladesOne plate for repair + sharpeningA polished finish, cheapest route

So: this is a maintenance and sharpening plate, not a finishing one. If you want a polished edge you add a fine water stone or a strop after it — our grit guide explains why that extra polish matters less for kitchen work than most people assume, and how to strop a knife covers the cheap version of the same effect.

The advice on DMT’s own site that we tell you to ignore

DMT’s FAQ recommends “sharpening at a 20-degree angle,” and adds that “sharpening at the proper angle is not as important as sharpening at a constant angle.” The second clause is among the best sentences any maker has written about sharpening. The first is wrong for the knives this site is about.

Twenty degrees per side is Western and outdoor geometry. Shun publishes a 16° edge per side for the Classic line; the VG10 gyutos in our registry sit around 15°. Sharpen one of those at 20° and you are not maintaining the edge, you are grinding a thicker one and throwing away the geometry you paid for. Use the plate at the angle your knife already has — our angle guide covers how to find and hold it.

One more piece of DMT guidance worth carrying over, because it applies to every hard Japanese knife: Shun’s own FAQ warns “please do not use a diamond steel for regular honing. Diamond steels are for sharpening and will remove metal from your knife before it is necessary.” A diamond plate is a sharpening tool, used when the edge needs steel removed. The ten-second daily habit is a ceramic rod, not this.

Living with it

Break-in is real and DMT says so.“The diamond surface will seem aggressive in nature; the diamond sharpener will smooth after initial sharpening with no impact to long term performance. Your first few sharpenings are the break-in period.” Do those sessions on a cheap knife.

Water, then dry it.DMT’s care instruction is to “clean after each use with water and wipe dry,” and after several sharpenings to “use a mild kitchen abrasive cleanser and a nylon scrub brush.” A loaded plate feels finer than it is and cuts worse.

It will not last forever.DMT states that its sharpeners “do not last forever, but they last for several years,” while guaranteeing replacement for defects “regardless of age.” That is a more honest pair of claims than most of this category manages.

Who should buy something else

  • You have a chipped or badly neglected edge.600 mesh will get there eventually and you will be at it a long time. Start with a coarse plate or a coarse stone — see how to fix a chipped knife.
  • You want one tool to do everything. The two-grit DuoSharp is the better single purchase, and the holes are a non-issue on Western knives.
  • You want a mirror finish. Buy a water stone. Diamond cuts; it does not polish.
  • You are buying your first sharpening tool ever. A 1000/6000 combination stone costs less and teaches more. Our beginner stones page is the starting point.

The verdict

This is the plate to own if your knives are thin, hard and pointed — the continuous surface removes a real chipping mechanism that nobody selling polka-dot plates mentions, and “guaranteed not to hollow or groove” is a claim with teeth. It is a narrow tool: one working grit, no finishing grade, and no answer for a damaged edge. Within that range it does the job better than anything else we cover, and it is one of the few sharpening products whose maker publishes everything you would want to check. Worth noting for anyone cross-shopping: DMT’s own store was listing this plate well above what the Amazon listing has been running at on the date we checked, so compare both before you buy — the live price on the card above is read fresh and dated.

#1Reviewed here

DMT D8F Dia-Sharp 8-inch Bench Stone, Fine

The single-grit, continuous-surface plate — no holes, so nothing catches a thin blade tip on the way across. Fine 600 is the grit a kitchen knife actually lives at, and this is the version to buy if you want one plate that does the job properly rather than two that do it adequately.

Strengths

  • Unbroken diamond face — a delicate tip cannot drop into an interrupted hole
  • Fine 600 mesh (25 µm) is the working grit for most kitchen sharpening
  • Made in the USA, and flat to a tolerance a water stone never holds

Trade-offs

  • One grit only — you need a coarser plate for a badly damaged edge
  • Costs about the same as the double-sided SHARPAL for half the grits
Grit(s)Fine 600 mesh (25 µm)
MaterialMonocrystalline diamond on continuous nickel surface
PrepDry or with water — no soaking
Base includedNo
Dimensions8 x 3 x 0.38 in.

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

DMT DuoSharp 8-inch Bench Stone, Fine/Coarse (W8FCNB)

If you would rather have two grits than one surface

DMT DuoSharp 8-inch Bench Stone, Fine/Coarse (W8FCNB)

The diamond plate to buy if you are buying one. Coarse on one face, Fine on the other, on DMT's interrupted 'polka-dot' surface that clears swarf instead of clogging with it. It cuts hard Japanese steel faster than any water stone and it will still be dead flat in ten years.

Read the DuoSharp review
$92.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Frequently asked questions

Is the DMT D8F worth buying?

If you want one plate for routine sharpening and you own thin, pointed Japanese knives, yes. The continuous surface is the reason: there are no interrupted holes for a fine tip to drop into, and DMT guarantees the plate 'not to hollow or groove'. What you give up is range — 25 micron / 600 mesh is a single working grit, so a badly chipped edge still needs a coarser plate.

What grit is the DMT D8F?

Fine, which DMT publishes as 25 micron / 600 mesh. On DMT's own color-coded grit table that sits between Coarse (45 micron / 325 mesh) and Extra-Fine (9 micron / 1200 mesh). In water-stone terms it behaves roughly like a low-medium working stone — it sets and maintains an edge rather than polishing one.

What's the difference between Dia-Sharp and DuoSharp?

The surface and the grit count. Dia-Sharp is a continuous diamond face in a single grade; DuoSharp uses DMT's interrupted 'polka-dot' surface, which DMT describes as 'slightly recessed' so debris falls away, and the bench version carries two grits on one plate. DMT itself points the continuous Dia-Sharp surface at 'small-pointed tools'. Two grits are more versatile; one unbroken surface is kinder to a thin tip.

Do you need water or oil on a Dia-Sharp plate?

Neither is required. DMT's own wording is that 'no messy oils are needed either, allowing you to sharpen dry or with water', and its FAQ says to use DMT products 'dry or with water only'. Water helps carry swarf away and keeps the surface cutting, so we use it. Never oil — it clogs the surface and DMT does not recommend it.

Why does a new DMT plate feel aggressive?

Break-in, which DMT states openly: 'the diamond surface will seem aggressive in nature; the diamond sharpener will smooth after initial sharpening with no impact to long term performance. Your first few sharpenings are the break-in period.' Run the first couple of sessions on a knife you do not care about, not on a new gyuto.

Should I sharpen at the 20 degrees DMT recommends?

Not on a Japanese knife. DMT's FAQ recommends 'sharpening at a 20-degree angle' and adds that 'sharpening at the proper angle is not as important as sharpening at a constant angle'. The second half is good advice; the first half is written for Western and outdoor blades. Shun publishes a 16-degree edge per side and most VG10 gyutos sit near 15 — sharpen at 20 and you are thickening the edge the maker ground.

How long does a diamond plate last?

DMT is unusually direct about this: its sharpeners 'do not last forever, but they last for several years', and its guarantee is that 'if your product fails to perform due to defects in materials or workmanship, we will replace it regardless of age'. Care is simple — 'clean after each use with water and wipe dry', and after several sharpenings 'use a mild kitchen abrasive cleanser and a nylon scrub brush'.

Does the D8F come with a base?

No base, but it does have feet. DMT's page specifies 'non-skid rubber feet with the diamond grit clearly marked on side of stone', which is more than the bare DuoSharp NB plates get — those skate on a wet counter unless you add a mat or holder.

Sources

  • 8-in. Dia-Sharp Bench Stone - Fine (D8F) — DMT Diamond Sharpeners — DMT's own product page for SKU D8F: 'Guaranteed not to hollow or groove', a 'precisely engineered Dia-Sharp Bench Stone with continuous diamond surface assures consistent, even sharpening every time', 'fine diamond (25 micron / 600 mesh) for honing a razor sharp edge', 'non-skid rubber feet with the diamond grit clearly marked on side of stone', a 'micronized monocrystalline diamond surface', 'No messy oils are needed either, allowing you to sharpen dry or with water', 'Sharpening surface accommodates range of edges from large knives to small pointed tools', suitable for 'edge repair and honing' and for 'flattening plane soles, irons and chisel backs', and 'Made in the USA'. DMT's own store price on the access date was substantially above what the Amazon listing has been running at. No weight is published (accessed October 7, 2026)
  • DMT FAQ — DMT Diamond Sharpeners — DMT's own answers: on break-in, 'the diamond surface will seem aggressive in nature; the diamond sharpener will smooth after initial sharpening with no impact to long term performance. Your first few sharpenings are the break-in period'; 'DMT recommends you use DMT products dry or with water only'; care is to 'clean after each use with water and wipe dry' and 'After several sharpenings, use a mild kitchen abrasive cleanser and a nylon scrub brush'; on life, DMT sharpeners 'do not last forever, but they last for several years'; the polka-dot surfaces are 'slightly recessed' so debris falls away while Dia-Sharp's 'continuous diamond surface' suits 'small-pointed tools'; DMT recommends 'sharpening at a 20-degree angle' and notes 'sharpening at the proper angle is not as important as sharpening at a constant angle'; and the guarantee: 'If your product fails to perform due to defects in materials or workmanship, we will replace it regardless of age' (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • DMT Diamond and Ceramic Color-Coded Grit Chart — Sharpening Supplies — DMT's own color codes with the mesh and micron figure for each grade (Coarse 325/45 µm, Fine 600/25 µm, Extra-Fine 1200/9 µm) (accessed August 11, 2026)
  • DuoSharp Bench Stone collection — DMT Diamond Sharpeners — DMT's full DuoSharp range with SKUs and sizes: the 8-inch no-base plates (W8FCNB, W8EFNB, W8ECNB, W8CXNB) are '8" x 2.63" x 0.38"'; the with-base versions (W8FC-WB etc.) are '12.125" x 4.625" x 2"'; the 10-inch plates (W250 series) are '10" x 4" x 0.38"'. The range 'Employs DMT interrupted surface technology and in the PLUS model, a continuous surface as well' — the DuoSharp Plus (WM8FC) adds 'an additional continuous diamond surface for sharpening small and pointed tools' (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Sharpening stone — Wikipedia — Reference on water, oil and diamond stones: Japanese water-stone grit ranges, why stones dish in the middle with use, and why a diamond plate retains its flatness (accessed August 13, 2026)
  • Shun Knives FAQ — Shun Cutlery (Kai USA) — Shun's own answers: 'Shun hardens VG10 and VG-Max steel to 60-61 Rockwell and SG2 to 61-62', 'Shun knives, for example, are sharpened to a 16 degree angle on each side of the blade', and on rods, 'Please do not use a diamond steel for regular honing. Diamond steels are for sharpening and will remove metal from your knife before it is necessary' (accessed August 28, 2026)

Per-knife specs (steel, HRC, blade length, geometry) are read from each maker’s spec sheet or product listing and dated on the individual review cards above. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure — we flag it rather than guess.

Keep reading