Gyuto Club

Tojiro Classic Damascus 2-Piece Set Review

Two knives, one VG-10 core, 37 forged layers and a maker that currently publishes nothing at all — so every number on this page is attributed to whoever actually printed it.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which knife we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Buy this set if you want two Japanese knives with a Damascus finish and a handle designed to be washed, and you would rather pay once than twice. The 8.25-inch chef’s knife and 4-inch paring knife cover board work and in-hand work between them, the core is a real VG-10 cobalt-alloy steel, and the pair lists for less than the same Damascus chef’s knife plus any other Damascus blade in the line bought separately. If your goal is the most cutting performance per dollar, buy the plain three-layer DP gyuto instead — same core steel, no pattern, far less money.

This review exists because of a gap: the set is the top-of-the-line pair on the Tojiro pages of this site, and until now it had no review of its own. It also exists under an unusual constraint, which shapes everything below. On the date we wrote this, Tojiro’s own English site served the same notice in place of every single product page — “We are currently preparing a new multilingual website to provide you with an improved online experience” — which means the maker currently publishes no model number, no dimensions and no hardness figure for any knife it makes. Every number on this page is therefore attributed to whoever actually printed it.

What is published, and by whom

The specialist retailer’s spec for the set is the only complete published source right now, and it gives: contents of a “4" Paring Knife” and an “8.25" Chef’s Knife”; the model number F-600-2; 60 Rockwell hardness; construction as a “37-layer stainless steel Damascus with VG10 core” built on a “VG-10 premium cobalt alloy steel” core; “black micarta with stainless steel rivets and bolster” including a “closed bolster collar”; “Made in Niigata, Japan”; and a “Lifetime Warranty.” The same retailer’s listing for the chef’s knife on its own gives it as model F-655at “8.25" (210mm).”

That 210 mm figure is the most useful thing on the spec sheet, because it tells you what the big knife in this box actually is: a 210 mm gyuto, the standard Japanese chef’s-knife length and the same length as the DP gyuto we rate as the best first Japanese knife. You are not buying an unusual format here. You are buying the usual format with cladding on it.

What nobody publishes is just as worth knowing: there is no edge angle, no blade weight and no component model number for the paring knife anywhere on the listing or the retailer page. On a Japanese knife the edge angle is a real decision input — Shun, for contrast, states a 16° edge per side for its Classic line in its own FAQ — so treat the grind here as “unstated, probably in the usual 15° neighborhood for a double-bevel VG10 knife” rather than as a number you can rely on.

The steel is the point, and the layers are not

VG-10 is the steel this whole site keeps coming back to for a reason: the Japanese steelmaker publishes its composition, so you can actually know what you are buying, and it hardens into the low 60s HRC — hard enough to take and hold a genuinely keen edge, soft enough to sharpen on an ordinary 1000-grit stone. At the retailer’s stated 60 HRC this set sits exactly where a Japanese kitchen knife should: harder than the 58 Rockwell Wüsthof publishes for its forged knives, and in the same band Shun states for VG10 and VG-MAX.

The 37 layers are something else. They are forged stainless cladding wrapped around that core — real layers, not a pattern printed or etched onto a plain blade, which is a distinction worth paying attention to on a marketplace. But cladding does not cut. The core does. Everything the pattern buys is aesthetic, plus a small practical benefit at the knife’s shoulders where a textured surface releases wet slices slightly better than a polished one. If you want the full argument, Damascus steel explained is the page, and the VG10 guide covers the core.

The handle is the quiet upgrade

The part of this set we would actually pay for is the one nobody puts in the headline. The retailer describes a black micarta handle with stainless rivets and a closed bolster collar. That collar matters because the blade-to-handle joint is where a Western-handled kitchen knife goes grim: water and food get into the seam, and on a riveted wooden handle it eventually darkens, swells and smells. A sealed collar with a resin-impregnated canvas handle is a joint you can scrub.

It also sidesteps the care warning every maker publishes for wooden handles — ZWILLING’s own care page says wooden-handled knives are “not dishwasher-safe and should only be washed by hand,” with the wood “regularly treating... with oil (e.g. linseed oil) or wax (e.g. beeswax).” Micarta needs none of that. Hand-wash it like any knife, dry it, and there is no maintenance ritual attached.

How it compares with the obvious alternatives

The Classic Damascus pair against the two ways to spend the same money
 Classic Damascus 2-piecePlain DP gyuto aloneForged German pair
Core steelVG-10 cobalt alloy (retailer)VG10, stainless-clad 3-layerX50CrMoV15
Published hardness60 HRC (retailer, not Tojiro)~60 HRC (listing)58 HRC (Wüsthof's own figure)
What you get for the moneyTwo knives + 37-layer claddingOne knife, no patternTwo knives, tougher and softer
HandleMicarta, closed bolster collarComposite eco-wood, WesternPOM, triple-riveted
MaintenanceStone; no rod on a 60 HRC edgeStone; same cautionHoning rod does most of it
Who it suitsWants two Japanese knives, likes the lookWants maximum cutting per dollarWants forgiveness over keenness

What we hold against it

Every number is second-hand.Not because the retailer is unreliable, but because the maker is silent. When Tojiro’s site comes back we will re-read it; until then the 60 HRC and the F-600-2 are the retailer’s figures and we label them that way.

You are paying for cladding.Measured in cutting, the three-layer DP line gives you the same core for substantially less. Measured in knives-you-will-be-pleased-to-own, that is not the whole story — but the page should say it plainly.

Two knives and nothing else. No block, no rod, no sheaths. If you do not already own a stone, budget for one: a 60 HRC edge should not be put on a ribbed steel rod, and the Japanese-knife sharpener page covers what can hold the angle instead.

It is a hard, thin edge. The usual Japanese caveats apply: no bone, no frozen food, no twisting, no prying. Hardness buys keenness and costs toughness, which is the trade explained in Japanese vs German knives.

Who should buy it

Someone furnishing a kitchen from nothing who wants Japanese steel, wants it to look like something, and would rather make one purchase than three. Someone buying a substantial gift for a cook who has a cheap chef’s knife and no paring knife. And someone who has used a three-layer DP for years, knows they like VG10, and wants the nicer version of the same idea.

Who should not: anyone buying their first Japanese knife on a budget — the plain gyuto is the better first purchase, as our first Japanese knife guide sets out — and anyone who wants a knife they can maintain with a rod rather than a stone. For that, read the Wüsthof page instead.

We do not own this set and we have not cut with it. Everything above is read off published specs, attributed to the party that published them, with the gaps named rather than filled — our methodology page explains the approach. The price on the card below comes only from our live price layer, with the date it was read.

Our verdict

Tojiro Classic Damascus 2-Piece Set (F-600-2)

Two knives, no filler, and the Damascus version of Tojiro's one idea: an 8.25-inch chef's knife and a 4-inch paring knife built around a thick VG-10 cobalt-alloy core, here under 37 forged layers of low- and high-carbon stainless instead of the plain three-layer cladding. The pair lists for less than the same 8.25-inch Damascus chef's knife plus any other Damascus blade in the line bought separately, which is the whole argument for buying it as a set.

Strengths

  • A real VG-10 core forged under 37 layers of low- and high-carbon stainless, not a Damascus pattern printed on a blade
  • The two blades most Japanese-knife guides tell you to buy first — a 210 mm chef's knife for the board and a 4-inch paring knife for in-hand work
  • Micarta handle with three stainless rivets and a closed bolster collar, so the blade-to-handle joint that goes grim on a Western knife is sealed
  • Made in Niigata, Japan, and both the listing and the specialist retailer state a lifetime warranty

Trade-offs

  • Tojiro publishes nothing for this set right now — its own English site serves a renewal notice in place of every product page, so the 60 HRC and the F-600-2 model number are both the specialist retailer's figures
  • Neither the listing nor the retailer publishes an edge angle, a blade weight or the component model numbers for the two knives
  • Two knives and nothing else: no block, no honing rod, no sheaths
  • It costs materially more than the three-layer DP pair it replaces, and the extra buys cladding rather than cutting — the core steel is the same VG10 either way
Blade steelVG10 (stainless)
Hardness60 HRC (specialist retailer)
Blade lengthNot published
WeightNot published
Edge geometryDouble bevel
HandleBlack micarta, three stainless rivets, closed bolster collar
ConstructionVG10 core, 37-layer Damascus cladding

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on October 16, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Tojiro Classic Damascus 2-piece set worth buying?

If you want two Japanese knives with a Damascus finish and a handle built to be washed, yes — it is a genuine VG-10 core under 37 forged layers from a Niigata maker, and the pair lists for less than buying the same 8.25-inch Damascus chef's knife alongside any other Damascus blade in the line. If what you want is the best cutting per dollar, no: the plain three-layer DP gyuto has the same core steel for much less, and the extra money here buys cladding rather than cutting.

What knives are in the Tojiro DP Damascus 2-piece set?

An 8.25-inch (210 mm) chef's knife and a 4-inch paring knife, per the specialist retailer's published spec for model F-600-2. The retailer's companion listing gives the chef's knife alone as model F-655 at 8.25 in. (210 mm). No block, no honing rod and no sheaths are included.

How hard is the steel in this set?

The only published figure is 60 Rockwell, and it comes from the specialist retailer rather than from Tojiro. Tojiro's own English site currently serves a website-renewal notice in place of every product page, so the maker publishes no hardness figure, no model number and no spec for any knife in the line right now. We cite the retailer and say so.

Is Damascus cladding on a Tojiro worth paying for?

Cosmetically, that is your call; functionally, no. The cutting is done by the VG-10 core, which is the same steel grade as the plain three-layer DP line. The 37 forged layers are stainless cladding around that core — real forged layers, not a printed pattern, but they do not make the knife cut better. Buy the Damascus if you want the look and the micarta handle.

What is the difference between this set and the old Tojiro DP 2-piece set?

The old pair — the three-layer DP set — is discontinued: its listing went 'currently unavailable' and searches on the model and on the component knives returned no live listing at any ASIN in October 2026. This Classic Damascus pair is the same maker one line up: the same VG-10 core, 37-layer Damascus cladding instead of plain three-layer, and a black micarta handle with a closed bolster collar instead of the DP line's composite handle.

Does the set come with a warranty?

Both the marketplace listing and the specialist retailer state a lifetime warranty, and the retailer gives the origin as Niigata, Japan. We would read 'lifetime' the way every knife maker means it — manufacturing defects, not chips, bent tips or an edge you ground away — and note that Tojiro itself publishes no warranty text in English at the moment.

Is a two-knife set better than buying one good knife?

For most kitchens, yes, if the second knife is a paring knife. A 210 mm chef's knife plus a 4-inch paring knife covers board work and in-hand work, which is the overwhelming majority of prep. What you should not buy is a block of six blades you will not touch; our set roundups go into which configurations are real and which are filler.

Can this set go in the dishwasher?

No. A hard, thin Japanese edge and a dishwasher are a bad pairing for the reasons ZWILLING publishes for its own knives — aggressive chemical tablets, high temperatures, and bumps against other objects. Hand-wash and dry immediately. The micarta handle is the one part of this set that will not mind getting wet, but the edge still will.

Sources

  • Tojiro Classic Damascus 2 Piece Knife Set — Cutlery and More — Specialist retailer's published spec for the set Amazon sells as the 'Tojiro DP Classic Damascus 2 Piece Knife Set': contents a '4" Paring Knife' and an '8.25" Chef's Knife', model 'F-600-2', '60 Rockwell Hardness', a '37-layer stainless steel Damascus with VG10 core' built on a 'VG-10 premium cobalt alloy steel' core, 'Black micarta with stainless steel rivets and bolster' with a 'closed bolster collar', 'Made in Niigata, Japan' and a 'Lifetime Warranty'. The retailer's companion listing for the 8.25-inch knife alone gives it as model 'F-655', '8.25" (210mm)'. This is the ONLY published hardness figure and the ONLY model number for the set — Tojiro's own site publishes neither right now (accessed October 16, 2026)
  • English Website Renewal in Progress — TOJIRO — What Tojiro's own site serves on this date in place of EVERY /products/ page, including the ones cited elsewhere on this site: 'We are currently preparing a new multilingual website to provide you with an improved online experience.' The notice is returned for every product URL under the path, so the maker currently publishes no spec, no model number and no hardness figure for any knife. Cited to explain why the Classic Damascus two-piece set's figures are attributed to a specialist retailer rather than to Tojiro (accessed October 16, 2026)
  • VG10 — TAKEFU SPECIAL STEEL CO., LTD. — The steel maker's own published composition for VG10: 'C: 1.00, Cr: 15.00, Mo: 1.00, V: 0.25, Co: 1.55' (percent), a hardness of 'HRC60≦' (60 HRC and above), and the maker's own explanation that '15% chromium (Cr), 1% molybdenum (Mo), and 1.5% cobalt (Co) which all strengthen the matrix, yielding high hardness, in addition to maintaining a long-lasting sharp edge'. Intended uses listed as kitchen knives, general-purpose knives and machine blades (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Japanese kitchen knife — Wikipedia — Reference on gyuto/santoku/nakiri, single- vs double-bevel (kataba/ryoba) and edge angles (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Rockwell hardness test — Wikipedia — Definition of the Rockwell C (HRC) scale used to state knife-steel hardness (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Shun Knives FAQ — Shun Cutlery (Kai USA) — Shun's own answers: 'Shun hardens VG10 and VG-Max steel to 60-61 Rockwell and SG2 to 61-62', 'Shun knives, for example, are sharpened to a 16 degree angle on each side of the blade', and on rods, 'Please do not use a diamond steel for regular honing. Diamond steels are for sharpening and will remove metal from your knife before it is necessary' (accessed August 28, 2026)
  • How to Clean and Care for Your Knife — ZWILLING — ZWILLING's own care instructions: 'clean it by hand using lukewarm water, mild dish soap and a non-scratch cloth or sponge', dried with 'a plain dishtowel or microfiber cloth'; the dishwasher is ruled out for 'aggressive chemical tablets', 'high temperatures' and 'bumps and bangs with other objects'. On wooden handles: 'not dishwasher-safe and should only be washed by hand', with the wood 'regularly treating the wood with oil (e.g. linseed oil) or wax (e.g. beeswax)'. On storage, a knife needs 'its very own space away from other objects, so not simply thrown in the cutlery drawer' — a block, 'drawer organizers or protective sleeves' (accessed September 23, 2026)
  • The Difference Between WÜSTHOF Forged and Stamped Kitchen Knives — WÜSTHOF — Wüsthof's own account of both processes: forged blades start as a single piece of steel heated to over 2000°F and take 'over fifty-four manufacturing steps', hardened to '58 Rockwell'; non-forged blades are 'cut from a high-quality steel sheet using a precision laser' in 'thirty-five manufacturing steps' and run 'between 55 and 57 Rockwell' (accessed August 18, 2026)

Per-knife specs (steel, HRC, blade length, geometry) are read from each maker’s spec sheet or product listing and dated on the individual review cards above. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure — we flag it rather than guess.

Keep reading