Gyuto Club

Mercer Genesis 6-Piece Knife Block Set Review

Five forged, full-tang German blades in a beech-and-tempered-glass block. What Mercer publishes, the one number it doesn't, and whether a block still beats buying two knives.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which knife we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Short version: the Mercer Culinary Genesis 6-piece block set (model M20050) is five forged, full-tang, bolstered German-stainless knives and a block, sold at a price where almost every competing block is stamped steel. That single structural fact is why it is our top pick among chef knife sets. What it is not is a complete kitchen: there is no honing rod, no shears, no santoku, and Mercer publishes no hardness figure for any blade in the box.

What is actually in the box

“Six-piece” is doing some quiet work here, as it does on every knife block ever sold. The sixth piece is the block. What you get is five knives:

  • 8-inch chef’s knife— the one that does most of the work, and the one we review on its own.
  • 8-inch wavy-edge bread knife— serrated, and the quietest bargain in the set, for reasons covered below.
  • 6-inch boning knife— narrow, for separating meat from bone. The piece most home cooks will use least.
  • 5-inch utility knife— the in-between blade for sandwiches, tomatoes and small vegetables.
  • 3-1/2-inch paring knife— in-hand work: hulling, peeling, trimming.

The block itself is beech wood with tempered glass, and Mercer publishes its footprint: 8 inches long, 3-1/4 inches wide, 9 inches tall. That is a genuinely small footprint for five knives, which matters more on a crowded counter than any spec on the blades.

Set that list against the standard 15-piece block, where six pieces are steak knives, one is a pair of scissors, one is a honing rod nobody taught you to use, and one is the block. The Genesis set is honest about its count in a way its shelf-neighbors are not.

Forged construction is the entire argument

Mercer’s listing describes “German stainless steel blades with thick bolsters and full tangs,” and the Genesis chef’s knife sold individually is listed as forged with a short bolster, a taper-ground edge and a full tang. In a block set at this price, that is unusual enough to be the reason to buy.

The difference is not marketing. Wüsthof, which makes both kinds, publishes the process gap: a forged blade goes through over fifty-four manufacturing steps from a single heated billet and is hardened to around 58 Rockwell, while a non-forged blade is cut from a steel sheet with a precision laser in about thirty-five steps and runs between 55 and 57 Rockwell. Our forged versus stamped comparison works through what that actually buys you.

For a block set, three of those consequences matter:

  • Full tangs throughout. The steel runs the length of each handle. Cheap block knives frequently use a partial or rat-tail tang, and that joint is what eventually works loose after a few hundred wash cycles.
  • Bolsters. The collar of steel between blade and handle is a finger guard first and a balance point second. On knives that get handed to guests and teenagers, that is a real safety feature.
  • Consistency across the set.The usual trick in a budget block is one decent chef’s knife and four afterthoughts. Here the boning knife and the paring knife are built the same way as the flagship.

One honest caveat: forging does not make steel harder. Hardness comes from heat treatment, so a forged and a stamped blade of the same alloy at the same Rockwell hardness hold an edge for the same length of time. Forging buys you structure, weight and feel — not edge retention.

The one number Mercer will not give you

We read Mercer’s published listing for this set and the published listing for the Genesis 8-inch chef’s knife sold separately. Neither prints a Rockwell figure. The chef knife’s page does not even name a steel grade — it says “high-carbon German stainless steel” and stops. The set’s specification block lists the blade material as “High Carbon Stainless Steel.”

We treat that as a finding rather than a gap in our research, which is why the hardness row on the card below reads Not publishedinstead of carrying a number. Plenty of retail pages and third-party reviews quote a specific HRC for this line; none of them is the manufacturer. If edge retention is the axis you buy on, that silence is information: makers running genuinely hard steel — Shun, Miyabi, Tojiro — put the figure on the box, because it is the thing they are selling.

What can be said from the category is that German stainless of this type sits in the mid-to-high 50s on the hardness scale, which is soft by Japanese standards. That is not an insult. Softer steel dulls sooner but chips far less, straightens under a honing rod in seconds, and forgives a wobbly sharpening angle — which makes this set an unusually good one to learn on.

Which of the five you will actually use

The chef’s knife earns its slot on day one and will do roughly 80% of your cutting. The paring knife earns its slot within a week. The bread knifeis the sleeper: a serrated edge cannot be brought back on a whetstone the way a straight edge can, so most people run one until it is genuinely blunt and then replace it. Getting a forged one bundled here is better value than the piece count suggests — and if you do want to maintain it, there is a method for that; it just needs a tapered rod rather than a stone.

The 5-inch utility knife is the piece people either use daily or never touch, depending entirely on whether they cut a lot of sandwiches and tomatoes. If you like it, our petty and utility roundup covers the field. The 6-inch boning knife is the honest weak link for a home kitchen. If you break down whole chickens or trim your own roasts it is excellent; if you buy meat already portioned, it will sit in the block looking sharp for a decade.

Count it up before you buy: if you would only ever use three of the five, you are paying for a block plus two ornaments, and two really good knives bought separately may serve you better. That is the calculation our cost guide walks through in detail.

The block, and the hand-wash rule

The beech-and-tempered-glass block looks better than the all-plastic slabs sold at this price and takes up less counter than most. The glass face is also the set’s most obvious cosmetic weakness: it shows fingerprints and water spots the way any glass panel does, and a block that lives beside a stove will need wiping far more often than a solid wood one.

The care instruction is not a suggestion. Mercer’s own features line reads “Hand Wash Only Non-Slip Handles NSF Certified.” A dishwasher is the fastest way to ruin any knife: the detergent is abrasive and alkaline, edges knock against everything else in the basket, and the drying cycle bakes handles. Our care and storage guide covers the rest, including why a wet knife should never go straight back into a slot.

On the NSF certification: it is a sanitation-design standard for commercial foodservice equipment — materials that will not harbor bacteria, seams that can be cleaned properly. It says nothing about how sharp a knife is or how long it stays that way. It is a genuine mark of a tool built for a working kitchen, and it is routinely misread as a claim about the edge. It is not one.

What the set leaves out

No honing rod. That is the notable omission, because soft German stainless is exactly the steel that benefits most from ten seconds of honing before a session — the difference between a set that feels sharp for a month and one that feels sharp for a year. Budget for one from our honing rod roundup and read the difference between honing and sharpening before you use it, because the two are constantly confused and only one of them removes metal.

No shears, no steak knives, no santoku or nakiri. If you cut a lot of vegetables and want a flatter Japanese profile for it, that is a separate purchase — our santoku roundup is the place to start. The block has no spare slots worth speaking of either, so a growing collection ends up on a magnetic strip regardless.

How it compares

The Genesis block against the two other honest ways to buy a set
 Mercer Genesis 6-pcWüsthof Classic 2-pcHENCKELS Statement 15-pc
Knives in the box52Knives, shears, rod, steak knives
ConstructionForged, full tang, bolsteredForged, full tang, bolsteredStamped
SteelHigh-carbon German stainlessX50CrMoV15German stainless
Hardness publishedNoNoNo
HandleSantoprene, non-slipPOM, triple-rivetedMolded
Storage includedBeech + glass blockNoneFull block

Against the Wüsthof two-piece, this is a breadth-versus-polish choice: the Wüsthof pair is the more refined object and the better knife in the hand, while the Mercer block covers five jobs instead of two. Against a 15-piece stamped block, it is not close on paper — five forged blades beat fifteen stamped ones — but a stamped block genuinely does win if what you want is a matched set with steak knives and every slot filled.

Who should buy it

Buy this set if you are furnishing a first kitchen and want every common cutting job covered by a properly built blade; if you want forged knives without premium-brand pricing; if your hands are often wet, since Santoprene grips where polished handles do not; or if you are buying for a household where knives get treated roughly and you would rather not be precious about them.

Buy something else if you already own a chef’s knife you like — then buy the missing pieces individually and skip the block. Buy something else if edge retention is your priority, because a harder Japanese blade will hold its edge considerably longer. And buy something else if you want a published hardness figure and a named steel grade before you spend, because on this line you will not get either.

How we reviewed this

We do not own this set and have not cut with it. This review reads what Mercer and its distributors actually publish — the piece list, blade lengths, construction, handle material, block material and dimensions, the care instruction and the NSF certification — against the published figures for comparable sets and the known behavior of German stainless at this class of hardness. The set’s Amazon listing was re-checked live on the day this review was published, to confirm it is currently in stock rather than a lapsed product page. Anything the maker does not state is marked Not published rather than estimated, and every price on this page comes from the live pricing feed with its own date stamp. Our methodology page sets out the whole approach.

Our verdict

Mercer Culinary Genesis 6-Piece Forged Block Set

The best-value real knife set: the forged Genesis chef's knife you'd buy on its own, plus the four other blades you actually reach for, in a beech-and-tempered-glass block. The listing describes 'German stainless steel blades with thick bolsters and full tangs' across the set — not the stamped filler most cheap blocks pad the count with.

Strengths

  • Forged, full-tang, bolstered blades throughout, not stamped block-filler
  • Five knives that earn their slot: 8-inch chef, 8-inch wavy-edge bread, 6-inch boning, 5-inch utility, 3.5-inch paring
  • Grippy Santoprene handles across the set, and NSF certified

Trade-offs

  • Mercer publishes no Rockwell hardness for the Genesis line on this listing or its chef knife's
  • Hand wash only, and the tempered-glass block face shows every smudge
  • No santoku, no shears and no honing rod — budget for a rod separately
Pieces6 (five knives + block)
Knives included8-inch chef, 8-inch wavy-edge bread, 6-inch boning, 5-inch utility, 3-1/2-inch paring
Blade steelHigh-carbon German stainless
HardnessNot published
ConstructionForged, full tang, thick bolsters
HandleSantoprene, non-slip
BlockBeech wood + tempered glass, 8 x 3-1/4 x 9 inches
CareHand wash only; NSF certified

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on August 26, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

What knives come in the Mercer Genesis 6-piece set?

Five knives and the block. The distributor listing itemizes a 3-1/2 inch paring knife, a 5 inch utility knife, a 6 inch boning knife, an 8 inch wavy-edge bread knife and an 8 inch chef's knife, in a beech wood and tempered glass block measuring 8 inches long by 3-1/4 inches wide by 9 inches high. There are no steak knives, no shears and no honing rod — the sixth piece is the block itself.

Are the Mercer Genesis blades forged or stamped?

Forged. Mercer's listing for this set describes “German stainless steel blades with thick bolsters and full tangs,” and the Genesis chef's knife sold on its own is listed as “forged construction with short bolster” and “full tang.” That is the whole reason this set is interesting: nearly every other block anywhere near its price reaches its piece count with stamped blades punched from sheet steel.

What Rockwell hardness are Mercer Genesis knives?

Mercer does not print one. We checked the published listing for this set and the published listing for the Genesis 8-inch chef's knife sold separately, and neither states a Rockwell C figure — nor, on the chef knife's page, even a steel-grade designation beyond “high-carbon German stainless steel.” Treat any specific HRC number you see quoted for this line as third-party, not manufacturer-published.

Can the Mercer Genesis set go in the dishwasher?

No. The listing's own features line reads “Hand Wash Only Non-Slip Handles NSF Certified.” Dishwasher detergent is abrasive and alkaline, the wash cycle bangs edges against other items, and the heat is hard on handles. Wash, rinse and dry these by hand and the set will outlast several dishwasher-abused blocks.

Is the Mercer Genesis 6-piece set better than buying knives individually?

It depends on how many of the five you would have bought anyway. If you want a chef's knife, a bread knife and a paring knife — the three that cover most kitchens — the set is close to fair value and throws in a utility and boning knife. If you only want one great chef's knife, buy it alone and spend the difference on a whetstone; a sharp cheap knife outperforms a dull expensive one every time.

What happened to the tempered-glass Mercer Genesis block set?

The earlier M20000 version, which used an all-glass block, now reads “Currently unavailable” at Amazon — we re-checked it on the day this review was written. The M20050 reviewed here is the current configuration: the same forged Genesis blades in a beech wood and tempered glass block.

Sources

  • Mercer Culinary M20050 Genesis 6-Piece Wood / Glass Knife Block Set — WebstaurantStoreThe distributor listing for this set: 'German stainless steel blades with thick bolsters and full tangs', 'Ergonomic, easy-to-grip, soft Santoprene knife handles', 'Features a beech wood and tempered glass knife block' and 'Includes a paring, utility, boning, bread, and chef's knife' — itemized as a 3 1/2 inch paring, 5 inch utility, 6 inch boning, 8 inch wavy edge bread and 8 inch chef's knife in an 8 inch L x 3 1/4 inch W x 9 inch H block, blade material 'High Carbon Stainless Steel', features 'Hand Wash Only Non-Slip Handles NSF Certified'. No Rockwell hardness figure is printed (accessed August 26, 2026)
  • Mercer Culinary M21078 Genesis 8-inch Forged Chef Knife with Short Bolster — WebstaurantStoreThe Genesis line's own chef-knife listing: 'Forged construction with short bolster', a 'Taper ground edge' for 'superior stability, easy-honing, and long-lasting sharpness', and 'Full tang creates better balance' — with no steel-grade designation and no Rockwell hardness figure printed anywhere on the page (accessed August 26, 2026)
  • The Difference Between WÜSTHOF Forged and Stamped Kitchen Knives — WÜSTHOFWüsthof's own account of both processes: forged blades start as a single piece of steel heated to over 2000°F and take 'over fifty-four manufacturing steps', hardened to '58 Rockwell'; non-forged blades are 'cut from a high-quality steel sheet using a precision laser' in 'thirty-five manufacturing steps' and run 'between 55 and 57 Rockwell' (accessed August 18, 2026)
  • Rockwell hardness test — WikipediaDefinition of the Rockwell C (HRC) scale used to state knife-steel hardness (accessed July 21, 2026)

Per-knife specs (steel, HRC, blade length, geometry) are read from each maker’s spec sheet or product listing and dated on the individual review cards above. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure — we flag it rather than guess.

Keep reading