Gyuto Club

The Best Miyabi Knives

One core steel, one published edge angle and one workshop behind all of them — which turns a Miyabi purchase into two questions: which shape, and whether you are paying for Damascus.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Buy the Kaizen II 8-inch chef’s knife. It is the shape that does most of the work in a kitchen, it carries everything Miyabi is actually selling — an FC61 fine-carbide stainless core, a hand-honed 9.5 to 12 degree edge per side, an ice-hardened FRIODUR blade and 48 layers of Damascus — and at 200 mm it is long enough to be a primary knife rather than a specialist. If you want the same steel and the same edge for less money and you do not care about the pattern, the Koh line is the answer: a plain mirror-polished blade with an octagonal Japanese handle. If you want a second knife rather than a first one, the Kaizen II nakiri and bunka are the two shapes that cut genuinely differently from the chef’s knife.

Miyabi is ZWILLING’s Japan-made line, handcrafted in Seki, and the most useful thing to understand before you shop it is how little varies. Across every Miyabi in our registry ZWILLING publishes the same core steel (FC61), the sameedge angle (“9.5-12° edge angle” from a “hand-honed, 3-step Honbazuke blade”), the sameice-hardening process and the same origin. That 9.5 to 12 degree figure is the most acute factory edge any mainstream maker on this site publishes — Shun states 16° per side for its Classic line, current Wüsthof Classic blades are listed at about 14°.

So this page does not rank Miyabis by quality, because the published specifications do not support a quality ranking. It ranks them by what each shape and line gives you, and it is explicit about the three things ZWILLING does not tell you: what alloy FC61 actually is, what the blades measure behind the edge, and whether its published weights across the two lines are comparable at all. We own none of these knives; our methodology page sets out what we do instead, and our full review of the Kaizen II 8-inch covers the top pick in detail.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which knife we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on steel, hardness, geometry and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not cut with every one of these — here is exactly how we compared them instead.

#KnifeBest forPrice
1
Miyabi Kaizen II 8-inch Chef's Knife

Miyabi Kaizen II 8-inch Chef's Knife

Miyabi is Zwilling's Japan-made line, and the Kaizen II pairs an FC61 core at ~60 HRC with a 48-layer Damascus jacket and a comfortable D-handle. A polished alternative to the Shun Classic at a similar price.

Best overall
$169.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 21, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Miyabi Koh 4000FC Sujihiki 240 mm

Miyabi Koh 4000FC Sujihiki 240 mm

Miyabi's plainest line doing the slicer, and the only one at this length that puts a hardness number on the page: an ice-hardened FC61 blade at a published 61 HRC, hand-honed to 9.5-12° and left mirror-polished with no cladding and no Damascus. Buy it when you want the Seki grind and the figure, not the decoration.

Best slicer
$164.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 21, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Miyabi Kaizen II 6.5-inch Nakiri

Miyabi Kaizen II 6.5-inch Nakiri

Zwilling's Japan-made answer to the Shun Classic nakiri: an FC61 core under 48 layers of flower-Damascus, with a rounder pakkawood D-handle that suits larger hands better than Shun's narrower one.

Best for vegetables
$189.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 21, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Miyabi Kaizen II 6.5-inch Bunka

Miyabi Kaizen II 6.5-inch Bunka

The same FC61 core, 48-layer Damascus and hand-honed edge as the Kaizen II chef's knife, in the shorter bunka shape. If you already wanted a Kaizen II and prefer a flat edge with a tall tip, this is the one to buy.

Best flat profile with a point
$189.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 21, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Miyabi Kaizen II 8-inch Chef's Knife

Miyabi is Zwilling's Japan-made line, and the Kaizen II pairs an FC61 core at ~60 HRC with a 48-layer Damascus jacket and a comfortable D-handle. A polished alternative to the Shun Classic at a similar price.

Strengths

  • FC61 core at ~60 HRC with a hand-honed, keen factory edge
  • 48-layer Damascus and a birch pakkawood D-handle
  • Made in Seki, Japan by Zwilling's Miyabi workshop

Trade-offs

  • Premium price, same as the other boutique Damascus knives
  • D-handle again favors right-handed use
Blade steelFC61 (fine-carbide stainless)
Hardness~60 HRC
Blade length200 mm
WeightNot published
Edge geometryDouble bevel, ~9.5-12° per side
HandleBirch pakkawood, D-shape
ConstructionFC61 core, 48-layer Damascus cladding

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best slicer

Miyabi Koh 4000FC Sujihiki 240 mm

Miyabi's plainest line doing the slicer, and the only one at this length that puts a hardness number on the page: an ice-hardened FC61 blade at a published 61 HRC, hand-honed to 9.5-12° and left mirror-polished with no cladding and no Damascus. Buy it when you want the Seki grind and the figure, not the decoration.

Strengths

  • Zwilling publishes the number most slicer makers leave blank — 61 HRC on an ice-hardened FC61 fine-carbide blade
  • Hand-honed to a 9.5-12° edge by Miyabi's three-step Honbazuke process, more acute than a factory slicer usually arrives
  • Handcrafted in Seki with an octagonal pakkawood handle and the line's lifetime warranty behind it

Trade-offs

  • A plain mirror-polished blade with no cladding and no Damascus — the least decorated knife Miyabi makes
  • Concealed tang, not the full tang most Western-handled slicers at this level advertise
  • Hand-wash only, and at 61 HRC that 9.5-12° edge chips sooner than a softer carving knife's
Blade steelFC61 (fine-carbide stainless)
Hardness61 HRC
Blade length240 mm
Weight159 g
Edge geometryDouble bevel, 9.5-12° per side
HandleOctagonal pakkawood, concealed tang
ConstructionFC61, ice-hardened (FRIODURx2), mirror-polished — no Damascus cladding

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on September 23, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best for vegetables

Miyabi Kaizen II 6.5-inch Nakiri

Zwilling's Japan-made answer to the Shun Classic nakiri: an FC61 core under 48 layers of flower-Damascus, with a rounder pakkawood D-handle that suits larger hands better than Shun's narrower one.

Strengths

  • FC61 core at ~60 HRC, hand-honed in Seki, Japan
  • 48-layer Damascus cladding and a black pakkawood D-handle
  • Handle is fuller in the palm than Shun's — worth trying if the Classic feels thin

Trade-offs

  • Priced with the Shun rather than under it
  • Same limitation as any nakiri: no tip, so it's a second knife
Blade steelFC61 (fine-carbide stainless)
Hardness~60 HRC
Blade length165 mm
WeightNot published
Edge geometryNot published
HandlePakkawood, D-shape
ConstructionFC61 core, 48-layer Damascus cladding

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on August 10, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best flat profile with a point

Miyabi Kaizen II 6.5-inch Bunka

The same FC61 core, 48-layer Damascus and hand-honed edge as the Kaizen II chef's knife, in the shorter bunka shape. If you already wanted a Kaizen II and prefer a flat edge with a tall tip, this is the one to buy.

Strengths

  • FC61 core at ~60 HRC with the line's hand-honed 9.5-12° per side edge
  • 48-layer Damascus and the rounded birch pakkawood D-handle
  • Made in Seki by Zwilling's Miyabi workshop, with the line's warranty behind it

Trade-offs

  • Boutique pricing for a knife that overlaps a gyuto you may already own
  • D-handle is shaped for right hands
Blade steelFC61 (fine-carbide stainless)
Hardness~60 HRC
Blade length165 mm
WeightNot published
Edge geometryDouble bevel, ~9.5-12° per side
HandleBirch pakkawood, D-shape
ConstructionFC61 core, 48-layer Damascus cladding

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on August 18, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

What is identical across every Miyabi here

Read the four spec tables above in sequence and the pattern is obvious. The steel row says FC61 four times. The edge row says roughly 9.5 to 12 degrees per side. The construction row says ice-hardened. The origin is Seki, Japan, in all four cases. ZWILLING is not running a good-better-best ladder inside this range; it is selling one blade specification in several shapes and two finishes.

That is genuinely useful information for a buyer, because it means you cannot accidentally buy the compromised one, and it means the upgrade pressure inside the line is about appearance and handle shape rather than cutting. It also means the decision collapses into two questions, which is how this page is organized: which shape do you actually need, and do you want to pay for Damascus cladding.

Kaizen II or Koh: the only line decision that matters here

Kaizen II is the Damascus line. An FC61 core under 48 layers of stainless cladding, with a birch pakkawood D-shaped handle and a rounded bolster. ZWILLING describes the Kaizen II blade as FC61 with fine carbide distribution, double ice-hardened FRIODUR, hand-honed by the three-step Honbazuke method. It is the Miyabi that looks like the money.

Kohis the plain line. The same FC61 core, the same published 61 HRC, the same 9.5 to 12 degree Honbazuke edge, the same FRIODURx2 ice-hardening — with no cladding at all. A mirror-polished monosteel blade on an octagonal pakkawood handle over a concealed tang, which is the traditional Japanese handle format rather than the Western-facing D-shape.

Put plainly: the cutting is in the core, and both lines have the same core. Choose Kaizen II if you want the pattern and a fuller Western handle; choose Koh if you would rather spend the difference on a second knife. Our Damascus explainer covers what the layers do and do not do, and FC61 vs VG10 compares this core against the steel most of the Japanese knives on this site use.

What 9.5 to 12 degrees actually means for you

This is the number that makes a Miyabi feel different in the hand, and it is the number that should decide whether you buy one. A more acute edge has less steel supporting the apex, so it enters food with less force and separates a slice more cleanly — and it is correspondingly easier to damage. At roughly 10 degrees per side on a 61 HRC blade you have a knife that will glide through a tomato and chip if you twist it through a squash shell or lever against a bone.

Three practical consequences, none of them optional:

  • No pull-through sharpener, ever. A fixed 20-degree carbide or electric slot does not maintain this geometry; it replaces it with a blunter one, and the first few cuts after that feel dramatically worse. Our Japanese-knife sharpener page covers what can actually hold a 12 degree edge.
  • No ribbed steel rod.A 61 HRC edge does not bend back the way a 56 HRC German edge does — it micro-chips. A fine ceramic rod abrades very lightly instead, which is the right mechanism; see do Japanese knives need honing.
  • A soft board, always. Wood or soft polyethylene. Glass, stone and ceramic destroy acute edges faster than any amount of cutting does, which is the first thing why knives get dull so fast covers.

If any of that sounds like more care than you want to give a knife, this is the wrong brand and we would rather tell you now. A forged German knife at a published 58 Rockwell is the forgiving alternative, and the Wüsthof page is where to read about it.

What Honbazuke is, in ZWILLING’s own words

Every Miyabi listing leans on the term, so it is worth knowing what is being claimed. ZWILLING translates Honbazuke as “true cutting edge” and describes three steps: the knife is “initially ground on a coarse vertical rotating sharpening stone,” then “finely honed on a horizontal rotating sharpening stone,” and finally “a vertical rotating leather stropping block is used to polish the grind/cutting edge.”

That is a real three-stage process ending in a strop, and it is the reason these knives arrive sharper than most. It is also worth noticing what the same page does notgive: no edge angle, no hardness figure and no guidance on honing rods appear in ZWILLING’s own account of the process — those figures come from the individual product pages. We cite them separately rather than blending them.

The three things ZWILLING does not publish

1. What FC61 actually is.ZWILLING names the steel only as “FC61 fine carbide stainless steel” and gives the hardness. It does not publish a composition or an industry designation anywhere we have found. The most-cited third-party account holds that “FC61 is Zwilling’s trade name for Sandvik 13C26, which is in turn essentially identical to Uddeholm AEB-L,” with a composition of 0.68% carbon and 13% chromium and a hardness target of 61. We report that as a third-party claim because that is what it is — ZWILLING has not confirmed it. If the equivalence holds, it is good news: AEB-L is a fine-grained steel known for taking a very keen edge, which is consistent with a 9.5 degree factory bevel.

2. Anything about thickness.Not the spine, not the blade height, not the cross-section behind the edge. On the Koh sujihiki, for example, ZWILLING’s dimension block gives “Length of product: 15.12 in,” “Width of product: 0.75 in” and “Height of product: 1.30 in” — figures that describe the packaged object rather than the blade. Thickness behind the edge is the property that decides whether food separates or splits, and it is unpublished here as it is almost everywhere; how thick should a chef’s knife be explains what to use as a proxy.

3. Weights you can compare.ZWILLING does publish per-model weights, and they do not reconcile across the two lines: the Koh 8-inch chef’s knife is listed at 0.62 lb against 0.44 lbs for the Kaizen II 8-inch, and the 9.5-inch Koh sujihiki at 0.35 lbs. A longer blade weighing little more than half of a shorter one is possible for a thin slicer, but a plain monosteel chef’s knife weighing substantially more than the clad Damascus version of the same length is hard to explain. We print the figures and decline to build an argument on them.

Where each one earns its place

  • Kaizen II 8-inch chef’s knife — the one to buy first. 200 mm, FC61 at around 60 HRC, 48-layer Damascus, rounded bolster, birch pakkawood D-handle. It is a gyuto in all but name and it is the only knife here that can be your primary. The honest reservations: the D-handle is shaped for right hands, and it is priced with the Shun Classic rather than under it.
  • Koh sujihiki 240 mm — the documented specialist.The only Miyabi in our registry with a hardness figure published for the exact model (61 HRC) alongside the edge angle, and the best-specified slicer on this site. 159 g of published weight on a 240 mm blade, octagonal handle, no cladding. It is a fourth or fifth knife — buy it if you carve roasts or slice fish, not as a general-purpose blade. Full detail in our Koh sujihiki review, and the field is in best sujihiki knives.
  • Kaizen II nakiri — the vegetable knife with the fuller handle.165 mm, dead flat, tall enough to scoop. Its one advantage over the Shun Classic nakiri most people buy is the handle: the Miyabi D-shape is rounder in the palm, which suits larger hands. Its limitation is the shape, not the brand — no usable tip means it cannot replace a chef’s knife, and it is a push-cutting tool, which how to use a nakiri covers.
  • Kaizen II bunka — the flat profile that keeps a point. 165 mm with a reverse-tanto k-tip: a nakiri’s board contact plus a point you can pierce and score with. The k-tip is the most chip-prone tip shape in a drawer, especially at this edge angle, and the knife overlaps a gyuto you may already own. Bunka vs santoku is the comparison to read before you commit to the shape.

What is not on this page, and why

Miyabi sells considerably more than four knives — Birchwood, Artisan, Mizu, Evolution, Hibana, 5000MCD and the SG2 lines among them. None of them appears here, for the same reason this site declines to rank Shun’s Premier and Kanso lines: we feature only products we can tie to a verified live listing and a published maker specification, with a price from our own daily check. A page that ranked the whole catalog from marketing copy would be a longer page and a worse one.

Two notes for anyone looking at those lines anyway. The powder-steel Miyabis (SG2 / 5000MCD) are a different proposition from FC61: harder, more wear-resistant, more expensive and more brittle, and the hardness chart sets out what that trade costs. And a Miyabi at a startling discount from an unfamiliar seller is a reason to slow down, not to hurry — where to buy Japanese knives covers the checks.

Warranty: read the authorized-seller clause before you buy

ZWILLING’s US warranty governs a Miyabi purchase, and its terms are specific. Products “will be free of defects in material and workmanship from the date of purchase for as long as said purchaser owns the product” — but it “does not cover defects resulting from normal wear and tear, misuse, abuse, alteration, negligence, or use of the product other than its intended purpose,” the original purchaser “must provide valid proof of purchase,” and it applies only to products “purchased in the United States from Zwilling or a Zwilling authorized seller located in the United States,” with ZWILLING reserving “the right to reject warranty claims for products purchased from unauthorized sellers.”

Two things follow. First, a chipped 10-degree edge is not a warranty matter in any reading of those terms — it is wear or misuse, so the care rules above are the actual protection. Second, if warranty cover matters to you, confirm the seller is authorized before you buy, and keep the receipt. We link to a marketplace because that is where the live price is; that does not make every seller on it an authorized one.

Care, in ZWILLING’s own words

The maker’s own instructions are stricter than most owners assume, and they are the right standard for a knife at this angle. Clean it “by hand using lukewarm water, mild dish soap and a non-scratch cloth or sponge” and dry it with “a plain dishtowel or microfiber cloth.” The dishwasher is ruled out for “aggressive chemical tablets,” “high temperatures” and “bumps and bangs with other objects.” Wooden handles are “not dishwasher-safe and should only be washed by hand,” with the wood benefiting from “regularly treating... with oil (e.g. linseed oil) or wax (e.g. beeswax).” And a knife needs “its very own space away from other objects, so not simply thrown in the cutlery drawer” — a block, drawer organizers or sleeves. The Koh sujihiki listing simply says “hand wash only.”

For sharpening, a 1000-grit stone sets the edge and a 3000 to 6000 finishes it; the technique is in how to sharpen a knife, and the honest answer to how often is in how often to sharpen a knife. Expect to maintain the factory angle rather than recreate it: nobody is reproducing a three-stage machine Honbazuke at home, and you do not need to.

How we ranked these

By shape and line utility, using ZWILLING’s own published figures for steel, hardness, edge angle, process, weight and origin, plus its published warranty and care terms — all cited below, with the one third-party claim about FC61’s composition labeled as third-party. We own none of these knives, we have run no cutting tests, and there is no score column on this page for exactly that reason. Prices come only from our live price layer and carry the date they were read.

Frequently asked questions

Which Miyabi knife should I buy first?

The Kaizen II 8-inch chef's knife. At 200 mm it is the only knife in the range that can be a primary, and it carries the whole Miyabi specification: an FC61 core, a hand-honed 9.5 to 12 degree edge per side, ice-hardened FRIODUR construction and 48 layers of Damascus cladding. Add a nakiri, bunka or sujihiki later only if you have a job the chef's knife does badly.

Are Miyabi knives better than Shun?

Different, with one measurable distinction. ZWILLING publishes a 9.5 to 12 degree edge angle for Miyabi; Shun publishes 16 degrees per side for its Classic line. That makes the Miyabi keener out of the box and more fragile. Shun publishes 60-61 Rockwell for VG-MAX and ZWILLING publishes 61 for FC61, so hardness is effectively a wash. Handle shape is the other real difference: Miyabi's D-handle is rounder in the palm than Shun's narrower one.

What is the difference between Miyabi Kaizen II and Koh?

Cladding and handle, not cutting. Both use the FC61 core at the same published hardness with the same 9.5 to 12 degree Honbazuke edge and the same FRIODUR ice-hardening. Kaizen II adds 48 layers of Damascus and a Western-style birch pakkawood D-handle; Koh is a plain mirror-polished blade on an octagonal pakkawood handle over a concealed tang, and costs less. If the pattern does not matter to you, Koh is the value buy.

What steel is FC61?

ZWILLING names it only as 'FC61 fine carbide stainless steel' and publishes a hardness of 61 HRC. It does not publish a composition or an industry designation. The most-cited third-party account says FC61 is ZWILLING's trade name for Sandvik 13C26, essentially identical to Uddeholm AEB-L, at 0.68% carbon and 13% chromium — a claim ZWILLING has not confirmed, which is how we report it.

How hard are Miyabi knives?

ZWILLING publishes 61 HRC for the Koh line and describes the Kaizen II core as FC61 with fine carbide distribution; the figure quoted for FC61 generally is 60-62 Rockwell with a target of 61. That puts Miyabi at the top of the mainstream stainless band — harder than the 58 Rockwell Wüsthof publishes for its forged knives, and level with the 60-61 Shun states for VG10 and VG-MAX.

Can you sharpen a Miyabi on a whetstone?

Yes, and a stone is the only sensible way to maintain one. Use a 1000-grit stone to set the edge and a 3000 to 6000 to finish, matching the factory angle rather than imposing a wider one. What you must avoid is a fixed-angle pull-through or a ribbed steel rod: at roughly 10 degrees per side on a 61 HRC blade, the first grinds the geometry away and the second chips it.

Are Miyabi knives dishwasher safe?

No, and ZWILLING says so itself. Its care guidance rules out the dishwasher because of aggressive chemical tablets, high temperatures and bumps against other objects, and it specifies hand washing in lukewarm water with mild soap, drying with a cloth, and storing the knife away from other objects rather than loose in a drawer. The Koh sujihiki listing states 'hand wash only' outright.

Does the Miyabi warranty cover a chipped blade?

Realistically, no. ZWILLING's US warranty covers defects in material and workmanship for as long as the original purchaser owns the product, but excludes normal wear and tear, misuse, abuse, alteration and negligence — and a chip on a 10-degree edge falls in that territory. It also applies only to purchases from ZWILLING or an authorized US seller, with proof of purchase, and ZWILLING reserves the right to reject claims on products from unauthorized sellers.

Is a Miyabi worth the money?

If you push-cut, hand-wash, cut on wood and own or will buy a whetstone, yes — you are buying the most acute published factory edge among mainstream makers on a 61 HRC core, hand-finished in Seki. If your kitchen is shared, your board is glass, or your maintenance ceiling is a rod, you will chip it and resent it, and a forged German knife at 58 Rockwell is the better purchase.

Sources

  • MIYABI Kaizen II 5000FCD 8-inch Chef's Knife — ZWILLING — Zwilling's published spec for the line: an 'FC61' core with fine carbide distribution at '60-62 HRC', '48 layers of stainless steel' Damascus over the core (49 total), an edge 'hand-honed using the historic Honbazuke method to an exceptionally sharp 9.5 to 12 degrees', a 'double ice-hardened FRIODUR' blade, a 'thicker and rounded bolster for increased comfort and balance', a black Pakkawood D-shaped handle, a 7.87 in blade at 0.44 lbs, handcrafted in Seki, Japan (accessed August 28, 2026)
  • MIYABI KOH 4000FC 8-inch Chef's Knife — ZWILLING — ZWILLING's own description of the steel: 'Crafted from revolutionary FC61 fine carbide stainless steel', 'Blade hardness (HRC): 61 HRC', an 'Ice-hardened FRIODURx2 blade for exceptional durability', a '9.5-12° edge angle' from a 'Hand-honed, 3-step Honbazuke blade', 'Handcrafted in Seki, Japan', 7.87-inch blade, 0.62 lb. ZWILLING does NOT state what alloy FC61 is on this page — it names it only as 'FC61 fine carbide stainless steel' (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • MIYABI KOH 9.5-inch Pakka Wood Sujihiki, item no. 33950-243 — ZWILLING — ZWILLING's published spec for item 33950-243: a '9.45 in' blade sold as '9.5-inch', 'Advanced FC61 fine carbide stainless steel' at '61 HRC', a '9.5-12° edge angle' from a 'Hand-honed, 3-step Honbazuke blade', a 'FRIODURx2® Ice-Hardened Blade', an 'Octagon-shaped Pakkawood handle' in brown on a 'concealed tang', a weight of '0.35 lbs', 'Hand wash only', a 'lifetime warranty', and 'Handcrafted in Seki, Japan'. ZWILLING's own description of the shape: a 'sujihiki knife, also known as the Japanese filet knife, features a long, thin blade designed for cleanly slicing through both meat and fish filets'. The dimension block reads 'Length of product: 15.12 in', 'Width of product: 0.75 in', 'Height of product: 1.30 in' — figures that do not describe a blade, so spine thickness and blade height are NOT published. Listed as In Stock on the date fetched; no price is quoted here because prices on this site come only from the live daily check. ZWILLING does NOT state what alloy FC61 is (accessed September 23, 2026)
  • Japanese Knives - Some Nuggets of Information — ZWILLING — ZWILLING's own account of the three Honbazuke steps, which it translates as 'true cutting edge': 'The knife is initially ground on a coarse vertical rotating sharpening stone', then 'finely honed on a horizontal rotating sharpening stone', and finally 'a vertical rotating leather stropping block is used to polish the grind/cutting edge'. The page does not give an edge angle, a hardness figure, or any guidance on honing rods (accessed September 23, 2026)
  • How to Clean and Care for Your Knife — ZWILLING — ZWILLING's own care instructions: 'clean it by hand using lukewarm water, mild dish soap and a non-scratch cloth or sponge', dried with 'a plain dishtowel or microfiber cloth'; the dishwasher is ruled out for 'aggressive chemical tablets', 'high temperatures' and 'bumps and bangs with other objects'. On wooden handles: 'not dishwasher-safe and should only be washed by hand', with the wood 'regularly treating the wood with oil (e.g. linseed oil) or wax (e.g. beeswax)'. On storage, a knife needs 'its very own space away from other objects, so not simply thrown in the cutlery drawer' — a block, 'drawer organizers or protective sleeves' (accessed September 23, 2026)
  • Warranty USA — Zwilling J.A. Henckels — ZWILLING's US warranty terms, which govern a Miyabi purchase: products 'will be free of defects in material and workmanship from the date of purchase for as long as said purchaser owns the product'; it 'does not cover defects resulting from normal wear and tear, misuse, abuse, alteration, negligence, or use of the product other than its intended purpose'; 'the original purchaser must provide valid proof of purchase'; and it applies only to products 'purchased in the United States from Zwilling or a Zwilling authorized seller located in the United States', with ZWILLING reserving 'the right to reject warranty claims for products purchased from unauthorized sellers' (accessed September 23, 2026)
  • FC61 · Steel Deep Dive — The Culinary Knife Bible — The most-cited third-party account of FC61: 'FC61 is Zwilling's trade name for Sandvik 13C26, which is in turn essentially identical to Uddeholm AEB-L'; composition given as 0.68% C, 13% Cr, 0.7% Mn, 0.4% Si; hardness 60-62 HRC with a target of 61; used in the 'Evolution, Kaizen II, Koh lines'; and ''FC' stands for Fine Carbide; '61' refers to the hardness target'. The page does not cite ZWILLING for the equivalence, and ZWILLING has not confirmed it — which is exactly how our comparison page reports it (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • All About AEB-L — Knife Steel Nerds — Independent metallurgist's account of the fine-carbide razor steel: '0.65-0.7% C' with '13.5% chromium', developed by Uddeholm in the 1960s with Sandvik's 'identical' 13C26 following; 'carbides of one micron or less' against 440C's 'carbides over 10 microns'; at 62.2 Rc it 'matches the toughness of 59.8 Rc CPM-154'; slicing edge retention about '55% of ... 440C at 59 Rc'; hardenable to '63+ Rc'; 'not a good choice ... in very corrosive environments like salt water'. FC61 and Miyabi are NOT mentioned in this source — it is cited for what a fine-carbide razor steel measures at, not as proof of what FC61 is (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Shun Knives FAQ — Shun Cutlery (Kai USA) — Shun's own answers: 'Shun hardens VG10 and VG-Max steel to 60-61 Rockwell and SG2 to 61-62', 'Shun knives, for example, are sharpened to a 16 degree angle on each side of the blade', and on rods, 'Please do not use a diamond steel for regular honing. Diamond steels are for sharpening and will remove metal from your knife before it is necessary' (accessed August 28, 2026)
  • The Difference Between WÜSTHOF Forged and Stamped Kitchen Knives — WÜSTHOF — Wüsthof's own account of both processes: forged blades start as a single piece of steel heated to over 2000°F and take 'over fifty-four manufacturing steps', hardened to '58 Rockwell'; non-forged blades are 'cut from a high-quality steel sheet using a precision laser' in 'thirty-five manufacturing steps' and run 'between 55 and 57 Rockwell' (accessed August 18, 2026)
  • Rockwell hardness test — Wikipedia — Definition of the Rockwell C (HRC) scale used to state knife-steel hardness (accessed July 21, 2026)

Per-knife specs (steel, HRC, blade length, geometry) are read from each maker’s spec sheet or product listing and dated on the individual review cards above. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure — we flag it rather than guess.

Keep reading