Gyuto Club

Shun Classic Nakiri Review

The vegetable knife most people end up buying, checked against Shun's own numbers — including the one figure that should change who buys it, and the two promises that depend on where you buy it.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which knife we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Short version: the Shun Classic nakiri is the right knife for a cook who already owns a good chef’s knife and wants vegetable prep to be faster and better-looking. The core steel is genuinely hard, the edge is genuinely flat, and the finish is genuinely worth looking at. Two things about it are not in the marketing copy: Shun does not print a hardness figure on the page, and the knife is heavier than almost everyone expects — heavier, in fact, than Shun’s own 8-inch chef’s knife.

What Shun actually publishes

The knife is model DM0728. On its own product page Shun publishes a blade length of 165 mm (6.5 in), a “Proprietary VG-MAX cutting core”, a blade of “69 layer Damascus” broken down in the same page’s description as “34 layers of stainless Damascus cladding each side (68 total)”, a factory edge of “16° edge each side”, a 127 mm ebony-color Pakkawood D-shaped handle, overall dimensions of “2.0 in. H x 11.9 in. L x 0.8 in. W”, a weight of 7.6 oz (215 g), “Handcrafted in Japan” and a limited lifetime warranty.

That is a fuller disclosure than most knife pages manage, and it is one line short of complete.

The number Shun leaves off the page

There is no Rockwell figure anywhere on the DM0728 product page. Not for this model, not for the line. The 60–61 HRC everyone quotes comes from Shun’s own FAQ, which states that “Shun hardens VG10 and VG-Max steel to 60-61 Rockwell”. That is a figure for the steel, published in a support document, not a per-model spec printed next to the knife you are buying.

We cite it as exactly that, because the distinction matters when you are comparing spec sheets. ZWILLING prints “60-62 HRC” on the Miyabi nakiri’s own product page. Shun does not. Both knives are in the same hardness class; only one maker commits to it in the place a buyer will look. The hardness chart sets out what those numbers mean in the hand, and the steel guide covers why VG-MAX behaves the way it does.

The weight, which nobody mentions

Here is the figure that should actually change who buys this knife. Shun publishes 7.6 oz (215 g) for a 165 mm vegetable knife. For comparison, on the same website, Shun lists the Classic 8-inch chef’s knife at 6.7 oz (190 g) — a blade 38 mm longer and 25 g lighter. And the KAI Seki Magoroku Ginju nakiri, the same 165 mm length from Shun’s own parent company, publishes 120 g.

None of that is a fault. A nakiri is a tall rectangle of steel rather than a blade that tapers to a point, so there is simply more metal in it, and the height is what gives you knuckle clearance and a face wide enough to scoop a board of diced onion. The weight is also what makes it fall through a butternut squash. But “small light vegetable knife” is the picture most people have in their head when they click buy, and it is wrong by about 80 percent against the cheap nakiri they are comparing it to. If you want a nimble knife, this is not it. If you want a knife with authority behind the cut, it is exactly it.

The Damascus: what it does and what it does not

Thirty-four layers of stainless cladding on each side of a VG-MAX core. Shun says those layers “support the core, add stain resistance, and help food release from the blade”. The first two are real. The third is mostly optimistic: a Damascus pattern is a chemical etch on a smooth face, and it does far less for release than the dimples on a hollow-edge knife or the hammered tsuchime finish on knives that use one.

What the cladding genuinely buys is structural. A hard, brittle core on its own would be fragile; a softer stainless jacket around it absorbs the flex and keeps the corrosion off. Every laminated Japanese knife does this, including ones with no pattern at all — the plain three-layer Tojiro construction is the same idea without the etch. Our Damascus explainer makes the full case. The short version: the pattern is cosmetic, the lamination is not, and you should buy this knife knowing which one you are paying for.

The handle, and the left-handed sentence

The Classic D-handle is the most divisive thing Shun makes. It is ebony-color pakkawood, 127 mm, and contoured rather than symmetrical — the flat of the “D” sits against the base of your right thumb. In a right hand it locks in beautifully. In a left hand the contour lands in the wrong place.

Shun’s product page says “D-shaped ebony-finished Pakkawood handles are comfortable for both left- and right-handed users”. Shun also sells a separate left-handed version of this exact knife. Both statements live on Shun’s own site, and rather than pick one we will just say what we think a buyer should do with them: if you are left-handed, treat the marketing sentence as marketing and buy the left-handed model or a knife with a symmetrical Western handle. The reasoning in full is in our left-handed Japanese knives guide.

Living with a 60-HRC edge

The maintenance deal is the standard hard-Japanese-stainless one, and Shun states the terms itself. Use it on “meat and produce only” — Shun’s warranty page says in plain words “Do not use directly on bones, frozen food, or produce pits”, and that “Any use other than cutting (such as stabbing or prying) is considered misuse and abuse—and will void your warranty”.

No grooved honing steel, either. At this hardness an edge does not realign when you steel it; it chips. Shun’s FAQ extends that to diamond rods: “Please do not use a diamond steel for regular honing. Diamond steels are for sharpening and will remove metal from your knife before it is necessary.” A fine ceramic rod or a strop covers the weeks in between, and a 1000/6000 combination stone at about 16° per side does the real work a few times a year.

One genuine upside of the shape: a dead-flat edge is the easiest thing in the kitchen to sharpen. There is no belly to sweep through, so the whole edge lies on the stone at once and all you have to do is hold the angle. If you have been putting off learning to sharpen, this is a forgiving blade to learn the motion on — though the steel itself is not forgiving of a wobbly angle, so read how to sharpen a knife first.

The two promises that depend on where you buy it

This is the part of a Shun purchase that most reviews skip, and it is the part we think about hardest on a page that carries a buy link.

Shun says: “We will sharpen your Shun cutlery for free, for as long as you own it.” You pay shipping and processing — $15 in the US, $25 for Canada and Mexico — and Shun estimates two weeks turnaround. On a knife in this price band that is a real, ongoing piece of value, and it is the best argument for the brand that exists.

Then: “Free sharpening services apply to purchases made through authorized dealers only.” The lifetime warranty says the same thing — it applies “to purchases made through our authorized dealers only”, and Kai USA states that it “will NOT honor any Kai or Shun branded products purchased from unauthorized sources”.

On a marketplace, the seller is not always the brand. Shun’s own guidance on counterfeits is that not every seller on a trusted marketplace is an authorized one, and that no single visual feature confirms a knife is genuine. So: check who the listing actually ships and sells from before you order, and if the price looks unusually good, that is the thing to check first. This applies to every Shun link on this site, including ours. Our where-to-buy guide covers the channels in full.

The three things it does badly

  • It has no tip, and that is permanent. It cannot start a cut in the middle of something, core a pepper from the inside, or work around a joint. A dead-flat edge also means rock-chopping is physically impossible — there is no belly to pivot on. This is true of every nakiri, but it is worth being blunt about when the knife costs this much: you are buying a specialist, and it will never be the only knife on your board.
  • It is expensive for a one-job knife. The KAI Seki Magoroku Ginju is made by the same parent company, in the same city, in the same 165 mm size, and does the same chopping for a fraction of the price. It will not hold an edge nearly as long — it is single-layer stainless with no published hardness at all — but if you are not sure the shape suits you, finding out on the Shun is an expensive way to learn.
  • The handle excludes people, whatever the page says. A contoured D-handle is a genuine preference item, not just a handedness one. Some right-handed cooks find the Classic handle too slim in the palm; the Miyabi Kaizen II’s fuller pakkawood D is the usual answer. If you can hold one before buying, hold one.

How it compares

Shun Classic nakiri against the three nakiris buyers actually cross-shop it with
 Shun ClassicMiyabi Kaizen IIKAI GinjuMercer Genesis
Blade length165 mm170 mm published (sold as 6.5 in)165 mm178 mm
Core steelVG-MAXFC61High-carbon moly-vanadium stainlessX50CrMoV15
Published hardness60-61 HRC (FAQ, not the product page)60-62 HRC (on the product page)Not published~58 HRC
ConstructionVG-MAX core, 34 Damascus layers each sideFC61 core, 48 Damascus layersSingle-layer stainless, made in SekiForged, full tang, bolstered
Published weight215 g0.47 lb (about 213 g)120 gNot published
Factory edge16° per sideHand-honed to 9.5-12°Double bevel, angle not publishedNot published
HandleSlim pakkawood DFuller pakkawood DNatural wood, nylon bolsterSantoprene, symmetrical
MaintenanceCeramic rod or stropCeramic rod or stropStone, or a light rodSteel rod
Really forA nakiri you also want to look atThe same knife with a fuller handleFinding out if you like the shapeDoing the job cheaply

Against the Miyabi Kaizen II this is close to a coin toss on paper — near-identical weight, the same hardness class, the same Japanese construction, the same premium price — with two differences that are not cosmetic: ZWILLING publishes its hardness on the product page and Shun does not, and the Miyabi’s handle is fuller in the palm. One small note of precision: the Miyabi is sold as a 6.5-inch knife, but ZWILLING’s own spec block reads 6.69 in, so it is fractionally the longer blade.

Against the KAI Ginju the argument is the one this whole site keeps returning to. Same parent company, same city, correct geometry, 95 g lighter, and a fraction of the money — but single-layer stainless with no published hardness figure, which means you are trusting the maker rather than the spec sheet, and an edge that will need the stone far more often. Against the Mercer Genesis you are choosing soft forged German steel you can maintain with a rod and cannot easily chip.

The full six-way table, including the Wüsthof Classic and the Yoshihiro hammered Damascus, is in the nakiri roundup.

Who should buy it

Buy the Shun Classic nakiri if you are right-handed, you already own a chef’s knife you are happy with, you prep a lot of vegetables, and you want the knife that does that job to be a nice object. Buy it if you own other Shun Classics and want one stone session and one edge angle across the whole set. Buy it if the free lifetime sharpening genuinely appeals — and if you do, buy it somewhere you can confirm is an authorized dealer, because that promise is worthless otherwise.

Buy something else if you have never used a nakiri and are not sure the shape suits how you cook; if you are left-handed and were about to buy the standard model; if you want a light knife; or if this would be your first good knife, in which case the buying order says a gyuto comes first and the nakiri comes third.

How we reviewed this

We do not own this knife and have not cut with it. This review reads the specifications Shun publishes on its own product page for the DM0728, Shun’s FAQ, its sharpening-service page and its warranty page, against ZWILLING’s published spec for the nakiri it competes with and the figures already compiled for the rest of the field. Where Shun publishes nothing — the hardness — we say so and name the document that does carry the number. Where Shun’s own pages sit awkwardly together — a D-handle described as comfortable for both hands, sold alongside a left-handed version of the same knife — we print both rather than pick one. Anything nobody states is marked Not published rather than estimated, and no price appears in this text: prices on this site come only from the live daily check and carry the date they were pulled. Our methodology page sets out the whole approach.

Our verdict

Shun Classic 6.5-inch Nakiri (DM0728)

The nakiri most people end up buying, and a fair default: VG-MAX core, Damascus cladding, and a genuinely flat 165 mm edge that meets the board along its whole length. Buy it if you want one vegetable knife and you want it to be nice.

Strengths

  • Truly flat edge — full-length board contact, so no uncut hinge at the end of a chop
  • VG-MAX core takes a very keen edge for push-cutting
  • Tall blade doubles as a scoop for moving prep off the board

Trade-offs

  • No tip worth speaking of — this cannot replace a chef's knife
  • Premium price for a knife that only does one job
  • At Shun's published 215 g it is heavier than Shun's own 8-inch chef's knife
Blade steelVG-MAX (stainless)
Hardness~60-61 HRC (Shun's FAQ, not the product page)
Blade length165 mm
Weight215 g
Edge geometryDouble bevel, 16° per side
HandleEbony-color Pakkawood, D-shape
ConstructionVG-MAX core, 34-layer Damascus cladding each side (69 total)

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Shun Classic nakiri worth it?

If you already own a good chef's knife, do a lot of vegetable prep, and want the nakiri to be an object as well as a tool, yes. The VG-MAX core is genuinely hard, the 16 degree factory grind is keen, and the flat edge is correctly flat. What you should not expect is that the Damascus cladding cuts better than plain steel - it does not. You are paying a real premium for the finish, the handle and the brand on top of a core steel that cheaper knives also have.

How much does the Shun Classic nakiri weigh?

Shun publishes 7.6 oz (215 g). That is worth reading twice, because it makes this 165 mm vegetable knife heavier than Shun's own 8-inch Classic chef's knife, which the same site lists at 6.7 oz (190 g), and roughly 80 percent heavier than the 120 g KAI Seki Magoroku Ginju nakiri. A nakiri is a tall slab of steel rather than a tapering blade, so the weight is not a defect - but 'light little vegetable knife' is the wrong mental picture.

What hardness is the Shun Classic nakiri?

Shun's product page for the DM0728 publishes the steel, the cladding, the edge angle, the handle, the weight and the origin - and no Rockwell figure at all. The 60-61 HRC usually quoted comes from Shun's own FAQ, which states that 'Shun hardens VG10 and VG-Max steel to 60-61 Rockwell'. That is a line-level figure for the steel, not a per-model spec, and we cite it as what it is rather than putting a number on the product page that Shun did not print there.

Is the Shun Classic nakiri good for left-handers?

Shun's own product page says 'D-shaped ebony-finished Pakkawood handles are comfortable for both left- and right-handed users', and Shun also sells a separate left-handed version of this exact knife. Both things are on Shun's site at once, and we would rather report that than resolve it for you. The practical read: the D-handle is genuinely contoured, most left-handers notice it within a minute of picking one up, and if you are left-handed it is worth buying the left-handed model rather than trusting the marketing sentence.

Can you use a honing steel on a Shun Classic nakiri?

Not a grooved steel rod. At 60-61 HRC the edge does not bend back into alignment, it breaks off in pieces too small to see. Shun's own FAQ is blunt about diamond rods too: 'Please do not use a diamond steel for regular honing. Diamond steels are for sharpening and will remove metal from your knife before it is necessary.' A fine ceramic rod or a leather strop is the between-sharpenings tool, and a 1000/6000 whetstone at about 16 degrees is the real one.

Does Shun really sharpen your knives for free?

Yes, with two conditions worth knowing before you buy. Shun says 'We will sharpen your Shun cutlery for free, for as long as you own it', but you pay shipping and processing - $15 in the US, $25 for Canada and Mexico - and estimated turnaround is two weeks. The condition that catches people out is the second one: 'Free sharpening services apply to purchases made through authorized dealers only.' The lifetime warranty carries the same restriction.

Shun Classic nakiri or Miyabi Kaizen II nakiri?

They are close enough that handle shape decides it. The Shun is VG-MAX at a FAQ-stated 60-61 HRC under 34 Damascus layers each side at 215 g; the Miyabi is FC61 at a page-stated 60-62 HRC under 48 layers at 0.47 lb, which is about 213 g - so essentially the same weight, the same class of steel and the same ice-thin premium price. The Miyabi's pakkawood D-handle is fuller in the palm. If the Shun handle feels thin when you hold one, that is the whole argument for the Miyabi.

Is a nakiri worth buying if I already have a chef's knife?

That is the only situation in which it is worth buying. A nakiri has no tip, so it cannot pierce, core or bone, and its dead-flat edge makes rock-chopping impossible. It is a second knife that does one job faster and more cleanly than your first knife does - not a replacement for it. If you do not already own a good chef's knife, buy that first.

Sources

  • Classic 6.5" Nakiri — Shun Cutlery (Kai USA)Shun's published spec for model DM0728: a '6.5 in. (165mm)' blade in '69 layer Damascus', a 'Proprietary VG-MAX cutting core [that] is wear and corrosion resistant, strong, and very fine-grained to enable a razor-sharp, long-lasting 16° edge each side', '34 layers of stainless Damascus cladding each side (68 total)', a '5.0 in (127mm)' 'Ebony color Pakkawood' handle described as 'D-shaped ebony-finished Pakkawood handles are comfortable for both left- and right-handed users', overall dimensions of '2.0 in. H x 11.9 in. L x 0.8 in. W', a weight of '7.6 oz (215 g)', 'Handcrafted in Japan' and a 'Limited Lifetime Warranty'. Listed at a Regular Price of $237.00. No Rockwell hardness figure appears anywhere on the page (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Shun Knives FAQ — Shun Cutlery (Kai USA)Shun's own answers: 'Shun hardens VG10 and VG-Max steel to 60-61 Rockwell and SG2 to 61-62', 'Shun knives, for example, are sharpened to a 16 degree angle on each side of the blade', and on rods, 'Please do not use a diamond steel for regular honing. Diamond steels are for sharpening and will remove metal from your knife before it is necessary' (accessed August 28, 2026)
  • Shun Classic 8-inch Chef's Knife — Shun Cutlery (Kai USA)Shun's published spec for the knife itself: a 'VG-MAX' core in '69 layer Damascus' — described as '34 layers of stainless Damascus cladding each side (68 total)' — a '16 degree edge each side', an '8 in. (203mm)' blade, '6.7 oz (190 g)', an ebony-color Pakkawood D-shaped handle, 'Handcrafted in Seki City, Japan' and a 'Limited Lifetime Warranty'. No Rockwell figure appears on the product page (accessed August 28, 2026)
  • Sharpening Service — Shun Cutlery (Kai USA)Shun's own terms for the service: 'We will sharpen your Shun cutlery for free, for as long as you own it.' You pay 'shipping and processing' at '$15 for US, $25 for Mexico & Canada', 'Estimated turnaround time for mail-in warranty and sharpening services is 2 weeks', and 'Free sharpening services apply to purchases made through authorized dealers only' (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Warranty & Service — Shun Cutlery (Kai USA)Shun's own warranty terms: 'Shun Cutlery from Kai USA Ltd. carries a limited warranty for the lifetime of the original owner', guaranteed 'against manufacturing defects in material and construction and to perform as advertised when properly used and maintained'. The exclusions are explicit — 'Any use other than cutting (such as stabbing or prying) is considered misuse and abuse—and will void your warranty', 'Use your Shun knives on meat and produce only. Do not use directly on bones, frozen food, or produce pits', and the warranty 'does not extend to normal signs of wear, rust, damage or breakage due to improper use, improper maintenance, accidents, loss, or theft'. It applies 'to purchases made through our authorized dealers only', and 'Kai USA will NOT honor any Kai or Shun branded products purchased from unauthorized sources with our limited lifetime warranty' (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • How to Spot a Fake Shun Knife — Shun CutleryShun's own statement that no single visual feature confirms authenticity, that not all sellers on a trusted marketplace are authorized, and that only knives bought from an authorized dealer are eligible for warranty service (accessed August 13, 2026)
  • MIYABI Kaizen II 5000FCD 6.5-inch Nakiri — ZWILLINGZWILLING's published spec for the nakiri specifically (model 34685-173), not just the line: a '6.69 in' blade, a weight of '0.47 lbs', an 'FC61' core at '60-62 HRC', '48 layers of stainless steel' over the core, a 'black pakkawood' handle, hand-honed 'to an exceptionally sharp 9.5 to 12°' — ZWILLING does not state whether that figure is per side or included — made in Japan (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Japanese kitchen knife — WikipediaReference on gyuto/santoku/nakiri, single- vs double-bevel (kataba/ryoba) and edge angles (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Rockwell hardness test — WikipediaDefinition of the Rockwell C (HRC) scale used to state knife-steel hardness (accessed July 21, 2026)

Per-knife specs (steel, HRC, blade length, geometry) are read from each maker’s spec sheet or product listing and dated on the individual review cards above. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure — we flag it rather than guess.

Keep reading