Buy the 202H if your knives are Japanese and you want a clamp, or if you repair edges rather than merely refresh them. Buy the cheaper Work Sharp Precision Adjust if you own a normal drawer of kitchen knives and keep them maintained. The 202H earns its price on two published figures and loses a capability on a third, and all three are checkable rather than vague.
SHARPAL states the specification plainly. “Sharpening Angle: 10°–35° per side.” “Abrasives Included: Diamond 220 grit, Diamond 325 grit, Diamond 600 grit, Diamond 1000 grit, Ceramic plate, 6000 grit whetstone, Smooth leather strop.” “Blade Type: Straight-edge knives.” “Main Materials: Stainless steel and aircraft-grade aluminum alloy.” “Product Dimensions & Weight: 9.25 x 6.22 x 5.31 in… 9 lb / 4.1 kg.” Its key features add a “Flip design keeps sharpening angle consistent” and “Heavy-duty metal construction”, under a site-wide three-year warranty.
We have not sharpened a hundred knives on one — we do not own it, and our methodology page says what we do instead. What follows is that published specification read against the clamps we already rate, and against what a Japanese kitchen edge actually needs.
The 10 degree floor is the reason to care
Every clamped system sets an angle. The question is which angles it can reach, and this is where the field separates. The Work Sharp Precision Adjust dials from 15° to 30°. The Lansky Deluxe Diamond gives four fixed guides whose lowest is 17°. Both are perfectly matched to Western kitchen knives and to the Japanese knives ground around 15 or 16 degrees — Shun publishes a 16° edge per side on the Classic line — and both stop exactly where the category’s finest edges begin. ZWILLING publishes a 9.5° to 12° hand-honed edge on its Miyabi Koh knives. A 15° floor cannot restore that edge; it can only thicken it.
SHARPAL’s 10° floor is the first on a clamp we rate that reaches it. That is a real, narrow advantage rather than a broad one: most readers own knives at 15 or 16 degrees and will never dial below it. But if you own one knife ground finer than that, this is the only guided kit here that will not quietly re-profile it, and our angle guide gives the number per knife type.
One honest limit on that number, published by SHARPAL rather than discovered by us: “For wide blades, the usable angle range may be slightly more limited depending on the blade width and clamping position.” The system also runs two scales for exactly this reason — the A scale when the clamp-to-edge distance is 12.7 mm, the B scale when it is 50.8 mm — so a tall nakiri and a petty are not read off the same markings.
Seven abrasives is a full ladder, not a longer list
The grits matter less for how fine they finish than for how evenly they step. 220, 325, 600 and 1000 in diamond, then a ceramic plate SHARPAL describes as a 3000-grit equivalent, then a 6000 whetstone, then leather. Each stage only has to remove the scratches the previous one left, which is what makes a long ladder produce a cleaner apex than a short one — not the headline number at the top.
SHARPAL is unusually direct about not using all of it. Its own FAQ says to “Use 220 grit only for severely dull, damaged, or chipped edges”, 325 “for edge restoration or heavier sharpening”, and “For regular sharpening and maintenance, start with 600 grit or 1000 grit.” That is the correct advice and it is worth repeating here, because 220 grit diamond on a 60-plus HRC edge removes steel fast, and hard thin steel does not grow back. Shun’s own FAQ makes the same point about diamond in a different context: it warns against a diamond steel for routine honing because it “will remove metal from your knife before it is necessary”.
The three abrasive types also want three different routines, which is the kit’s main day-to-day nuisance: diamonds dry, the ceramic dry or with a little water, the 6000 stone kept wet, and the strop on a clean dry blade, spine-leading only. None of that is difficult. It does mean the full ladder is a project rather than a five-minute job, and most sessions should be two plates and a strop.
SHARPAL 202H against the two clamps we already rate, on published figures| | SHARPAL 202H | Work Sharp Precision Adjust | Lansky Deluxe Diamond |
|---|
| Angle control | 10°–35° per side, continuously adjustable | 15°–30°, 1° increments | Four fixed guides: 17°, 20°, 25°, 30° |
|---|
| Abrasives supplied | 220/325/600/1000 diamond, ceramic plate, 6000 whetstone, leather strop | 320 and 600 diamond, fine ceramic | Four diamond hones, coarse to fine |
|---|
| Serrated capability | No — published for straight edges only | Not stated | Not stated |
|---|
| Blade capacity | To 7 mm thick, 560 mm long, 7.5 mm or wider | About 10 inches without repositioning | Small hones — long blades need several clamp positions |
|---|
| Build and weight | Stainless and aircraft-grade aluminium, 9 lb | Not published | Folds into its own case |
|---|
| Warranty stated by maker | 3 years | Not stated on our source | Not stated on our source |
|---|
| Running cost | Named refill plates, sold per pair by the maker | Replaceable abrasives | Replaceable hones |
|---|
What it will not do
Serrations. SHARPAL publishes the blade type as straight-edge knives and the kit contains nothing shaped to enter a gullet. This is a genuine regression from the Work Sharp Precision Adjust Elite that previously held this slot on our roundup, which shipped a ceramic rod for serrated edges. If a bread knife is part of why you are buying a system, it is not part of what this one solves — our serrated roundup covers the tools built for that job.
Single-bevel knives. A yanagiba, deba or usuba is ground on one side with a hollow back, and no symmetric clamped system belongs near one; our single-bevel guide explains why.
Living in a drawer. Nine pounds and a 9.25-inch base is a bench tool. That mass is the reason the angle stays where you put it, so it is a feature rather than a flaw — but a kit you have to haul out and set up is a kit you use less often than a stone you can wet in ten seconds.
Teaching you anything. Nothing clamped will teach you to feel a burr, which is the skill that eventually makes a stone faster than any jig. Between real sharpenings a smooth ceramic rod remains the correct maintenance tool, and sharpening vs honing covers the distinction.
Who should buy which
Buy the 202H if you own a Japanese knife ground finer than 15 degrees; if you are the person who sharpens everyone else’s knives; or if your drawer contains genuinely damaged edges that need resetting rather than refreshing and you want the whole repair-to-polish ladder in one case.
Buy the Work Sharp Precision Adjust if you own a normal kitchen set at 15 to 20 degrees, keep it roughly maintained, and want repeatable results for appreciably less money. It reaches the angles your knives actually have, and the edge it leaves on a kitchen knife is one most people could not distinguish in use. Our review of that kit makes the case in full, and Precision Adjust vs Lansky sets it against the fixed-guide alternative.
Buy a stone instead if your knives are Japanese, you have the patience for a weekend of practice, and you would rather own a skill than a fixture. A 1000/6000 combination stone costs a fraction of this, is gentler on hard thin steel, and handles every shape a clamp refuses — including the serrations this kit will not touch. Our combination whetstone roundup is where to start, and how to sharpen a knife teaches the motion.
The verdict
The 202H is a specification-led product rather than a marketing tier: the angle range, the seven named abrasives, the materials, the mass and the blade capacity are all published and all checkable, and the one capability it lacks is published too rather than left for you to discover. That is a better standard than most of this category manages. What SHARPAL does not claim, and we will not either, is that a longer grit ladder makes a sharper kitchen knife than a shorter one in ordinary use. It makes a wider range of repairs possible on more knives, and it reaches a geometry the cheaper clamps cannot. Price that against the knives you actually own.