Gyuto Club

All-Clad Forged Knife Set Review

A cookware brand's knife line, reviewed on its published spec: real forged construction and a cryogenic heat treatment, with no Rockwell figure and an edge-angle claim that does not resolve.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which knife we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Buy the three-piece essential set, not the twelve-piece block. The All-Clad Forged line is genuinely well built — fully forged X50CrMoV15, a cryogenic liquid-nitrogen treatment, a full tang, a triple-riveted POM handle and an angled end bolster — and the three-piece gives you that construction in the only sizes most kitchens use. The twelve-piece spends a large share of its price on four steak knives, an acacia block and accessories. Either way, go in knowing that All-Clad publishes no Rockwell hardness figure for the line, and that its one published edge-angle figure does not resolve.

This review exists because the query “all-clad forged knife set review” brings people to this site and we had no page for it. All-Clad is a cookware company first, which makes the knife line an easy thing to dismiss and an easy thing to oversell. So here is the published record, attributed to whoever published it, with the gaps named.

What is actually published

All-Clad’s own US site serves no reachable specification page for the Forged line, so the complete published spec we work from is a specialist retailer’s table for model ALL-K272SC64, the twelve-piece block set. It gives:

  • Steel:“Blades are made from X50CrMoV15 stainless steel, known for its rust resistance and durability.”
  • Heat treatment:“Cryo-Hardened Blades: Treated with liquid nitrogen to enhance rust resistance and maintain sharp-edge retention.”
  • Edge:a spec row reading “18 and 26°” underTotal Cutting Edge, with the features list repeating “Features an 18° and 26° total cutting edge.”
  • Handle and build:“Fade-resistant, triple-riveted POM handles with a full tang and angled end bolster, accommodating all types of grips.”
  • Contents:an 8" chef’s knife, 8" bread knife, 7" santoku, 5" serrated utility, 3.5" paring knife, four 5" steak knives, a honing steel, pull-apart kitchen shears and an acacia wood knife block.
  • Weight: 8.2 lbs for the set.
  • Warranty:“backed by All-Clad’s Limited Lifetime Warranty.”
  • Origin:“Designed in Canonsburg, PA: While designed in the USA, the set is manufactured in China.”

What is not there: any Rockwell hardness figure, and any dishwasher guidance. Both absences matter, and the first one matters a lot.

The hardness gap, in context

X50CrMoV15 is not a mystery alloy. It is the standard German kitchen stainless, and the brands that use it mostly tell you what they do with it. Wüsthof’s own account of its processes states that its forged blades — heated from a single piece of steel through “over fifty-four manufacturing steps” — are hardened to “58 Rockwell,” while its non-forged blades, “cut from a high-quality steel sheet using a precision laser” in “thirty-five manufacturing steps,” land “between 55 and 57 Rockwell.”

That is a three-point spread in the same steel, and it is the difference between a knife that holds an edge through a week of prep and one that does not. All-Clad publishes neither the figure nor a range. It is not alone in that — Mercer publishes no Rockwell figure for its forged Genesis line either, and its distributor listing says only “High Carbon Stainless Steel” — but Mercer sells at a fraction of the price of a twelve-piece All-Clad block.

The cryogenic claim makes the omission odder rather than better. Treating a blade with liquid nitrogen after quenching is a real metallurgical step, and the published justification here — rust resistance and sharp-edge retention — is a hardness-and-microstructure claim in everything but name. The result of that process is measured in Rockwell. Publishing the process and withholding the number is the one thing this site consistently flags, and our hardness chart explains what the figure would have told you.

The edge-angle figure, and why we will not clean it up

“18 and 26°” is published as a totalcutting edge, with no statement of which knives carry which figure. Read the way the label says — inclusive, both sides added together — 18° total is 9° per side. That would be more acute than any German knife we track and more acute than the 9.5 to 12° ZWILLING publishes for hand-honed Miyabi blades at 61 HRC, on a steel nobody claims is that hard. Read as per-side figures instead, 26° per side is blunter than a standard Western edge.

Neither reading is obviously right, and the published material does not settle it. Our guess — stated as a guess — is that the two numbers are inclusive angles for two groups of knives in the set: the plain-edged blades ground finer, the serrated and steak knives ground more obtusely. That would be sensible engineering. It is not what the spec says, because the spec does not say.

The practical consequence is small but real: when you sharpen these, match the bevel that is physically on the knife rather than dialing in a published number. Lay the edge on a stone, find the angle at which it makes full contact, and hold it — the general sharpening reference’s point about consistency mattering more than any specific figure applies directly. Our angle guide covers how to do that, and how to sharpen a knife is the method.

What the twelve pieces actually are

Piece counts flatter sets, so it is worth laying this one out. Of the twelve pieces, five are knives you might use weekly (chef, bread, santoku, serrated utility, paring), four are steak knives, one is a honing steel, one is kitchen shears and one is the block.

That is a more honest configuration than many blocks — the chef’s knife, santoku and paring knife are three genuinely different jobs, and including a rod and shears rather than a tenth knife is the right instinct. But the daily drivers are three blades, and our set roundup makes the general case that two or three good knives beat a filled block. Here, All-Clad sells exactly that: the three-piece essential set is the same forged, cryo-hardened construction in the three sizes that matter.

Two details in the block set are worth more than they look. The honing steelis the right inclusion for softish German steel — Wüsthof’s own guidance for this kind of knife is a 14.5° angle between blade and rod, heel to tip, “6-8 times while alternating sides,” and a rod used that often is the difference between a knife that feels sharp all week and one that does not. The pull-apart shearsare the piece most households use most, and being pull-apart means the inner faces can be cleaned and the blades sharpened properly — which is its own job, covered in how to sharpen kitchen shears.

How it compares with the sets we already rate

All-Clad Forged against two forged sets already in our registry
 All-Clad ForgedWüsthof Classic 2-pcMercer Genesis 6-pc
SteelX50CrMoV15 (retailer spec)X50CrMoV15 (maker)'High Carbon Stainless Steel' only
Published hardnessNone58 RockwellNone
ConstructionFully forged, cryo-hardened, full tangForged, full tang, bolsteredForged, full tang, short bolster
Published edge angle'18 and 26°' total — unassigned~14° per side (PEtec)None (ground wider, ~20°)
What is in the box5 knives + 4 steak + rod + shears + block (12-pc)Chef + paring, no block5 knives + block, NSF certified
OriginDesigned in PA, made in ChinaGermanyNot stated on the listing
WarrantyLimited Lifetime (per spec)Lifetime, with named exclusionsNot published on the listings we read

Read down the hardness row and the pattern of this category is clear: the steel is the same, the construction claims are the same, and the only maker putting a number on the heat treatment is the German one. That is the single reason we point readers who care about edge retention at the Wüsthof line first, and why Mercer vs Wüsthof reaches the same conclusion a tier down in price.

What we hold against it

No hardness figure, at a block-set price. Covered above, and the most important reservation on this page.

An edge-angle claim that cannot be used. A number you cannot interpret is worth little more than no number.

The badge is doing work the spec does not.All-Clad’s name is built on American-made cookware; these knives are designed in Pennsylvania and made in China. Fine on its own terms — most knives in this price band are made somewhere other than where the brand is from — but buy the specification, not the association.

Piece count inflation on the twelve. Four steak knives and a wooden block are a large fraction of the cost. If you want steak knives, that is a feature; if you do not, it is a markup.

No dishwasher guidance published.So apply the standard rule rather than guessing: hand-wash and dry immediately. ZWILLING, publishing for the same class of knife, rules out the dishwasher for “aggressive chemical tablets,” “high temperatures” and “bumps and bangs with other objects,” and says a knife needs “its very own space away from other objects.” A wooden block satisfies the second part; knife care covers the rest.

What it gets right

It would be easy to be unfair to this line because it comes from a cookware brand, so to be clear about the positives: the construction is the real thing, not a stamped blade with a riveted handle. Fully forged with a full tang is the dividing line in Western knives, and All-Clad is on the right side of it. The angled end bolster is a genuine ergonomic touch rather than a styling flourish. The cryogenic step is a real process that cheaper lines skip. The POM handle is the same material Wüsthof uses on the Classic. And the configuration — a santoku alongside the chef’s knife, a rod and shears instead of more blades — suggests someone thought about how a kitchen actually works.

For a household furnishing a kitchen in one purchase, who wants a matching block on the counter and will use the steak knives, this is a defensible buy. For anybody who already owns a chef’s knife, it is not — buy the three-piece, or buy individual knives and spend the difference on a stone.

Who should buy which

The three-piece essential setif you want the line’s construction without the block: chef, utility and paring, which covers board work and in-hand work. Add a rod separately — the rod roundup has the options for soft Western steel.

The twelve-piece block set if you are starting from nothing, want steak knives, and value one purchase over optimal value per blade.

Neitherif you want published hardness (buy Wüsthof), the cheapest honest forged knife (buy a Mercer Genesis), or a thin Japanese blade — in which case read the MAC page, where the maker publishes the edge angle and the starting thickness instead of the hardness, or the gyuto roundup for the field.

We do not own this set and we have not cut with it. Every figure above is read off a published spec and attributed to the party that published it, with the gaps named rather than filled — our methodology page explains the approach. Both ASINs were verified live and in stock on the day this page was written, and the prices on the cards below come only from our live price layer, with the date they were read.

The block set

All-Clad Forged 12-Piece Knife Block Set (K272SC64)

The cookware brand's knife line, and a block set that is better specified than most: fully forged X50CrMoV15, cryo-hardened with liquid nitrogen, triple-riveted POM handles with a full tang and an angled end bolster. Twelve pieces means four steak knives and a block are doing a lot of the piece count, and All-Clad publishes no hardness figure for the same steel Wüsthof rates at 58 Rockwell.

Strengths

  • Fully forged X50CrMoV15 with a full tang and an angled end bolster — the construction that separates a real knife from a stamped one
  • Cryo-hardened: the retailer spec states the blades are "Treated with liquid nitrogen to enhance rust resistance and maintain sharp-edge retention"
  • The piece count is honest about itself — an 8-inch chef, 8-inch bread, 7-inch santoku, 5-inch serrated utility and 3.5-inch paring, plus four steak knives, a honing steel, shears and an acacia block
  • Limited Lifetime Warranty, and a published set weight (8.2 lbs) that most set listings omit

Trade-offs

  • No Rockwell figure published anywhere we can reach — and this is the same X50CrMoV15 that Wüsthof publishes at 58 HRC, so the gap is a choice rather than a limitation of the steel
  • The published edge figure is "18 and 26°" labeled as TOTAL cutting edge, with no statement of which knife gets which, so it cannot be compared cleanly against a per-side figure
  • Designed in Canonsburg, PA but manufactured in China per the same retailer spec — worth knowing if you read the brand as American-made
  • Four steak knives and a wooden block carry a large share of a 12-piece price; the 3-piece starter set is the better value if you only want knives
Blade steelX50CrMoV15 (German stainless, retailer spec)
HardnessNot published
Blade lengthNot published
WeightNot published
Edge geometry"18 and 26°" total cutting edge (retailer spec; per-knife assignment not published)
HandlePOM, triple-riveted, full tang, angled end bolster
ConstructionFully forged, cryo-hardened with liquid nitrogen (retailer spec)

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on October 27, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

The set we would buy instead

All-Clad Forged 3-Piece Essential Set (K2720174)

The same forged, cryo-hardened X50CrMoV15 blades as the block set, in the only three sizes most kitchens use: 8-inch chef, 5-inch utility and 3.5-inch paring. No block, no steak knives, no shears — which is why it is the All-Clad Forged set we would actually buy.

Strengths

  • Three real knives and nothing else: 8-inch chef, 5-inch and 3.5-inch, per the listing
  • Identical construction to the 12-piece — fully forged, cryo-hardened, triple-riveted POM handle, full tang
  • The listing publishes the "18 and 26-degree cutting edge" figure, which the 12-piece listing title does not
  • Costs a fraction of the block set for the pieces that do the work

Trade-offs

  • No honing steel included, and a soft German edge wants one — budget for a rod
  • Same missing Rockwell figure as the rest of the line
  • No bread knife, which is the one shape the three here cannot stand in for
  • Same China manufacture as the block set, per the line's published spec
Blade steelX50CrMoV15 (German stainless, retailer spec)
HardnessNot published
Blade lengthNot published
WeightNot published
Edge geometry"18 and 26°" cutting edge (listing; inclusive or per-side not stated)
HandlePOM, triple-riveted, full tang, angled end bolster
ConstructionFully forged, cryo-hardened with liquid nitrogen (retailer spec)

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on October 27, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

Are All-Clad Forged knives any good?

On construction, yes — they are fully forged from X50CrMoV15 with a full tang, a triple-riveted POM handle and an angled end bolster, which is the same build German makers charge more for. The gap is information: no Rockwell hardness figure is published anywhere we can reach, and the published '18 and 26 degree' cutting-edge figure is not assigned to specific knives or stated as inclusive or per-side. You are buying a well-built Western knife without the numbers that would let you predict its edge retention.

What steel do All-Clad Forged knives use?

X50CrMoV15, per the specialist retailer's published spec for the line — the same German stainless used by Wüsthof's Classic line and by Mercer's forged Genesis knives. Wüsthof publishes 58 Rockwell for its forged blades in that steel and 55 to 57 for its stamped ones; All-Clad publishes no hardness figure at all, so where in that band its heat treatment lands is unknown.

What does 'cryo-hardened' mean on these knives?

The published spec says the blades are 'Treated with liquid nitrogen to enhance rust resistance and maintain sharp-edge retention'. Cryogenic treatment after hardening is a real, long-established step in heat treatment — it converts retained soft austenite in the steel — and it is a genuine point in the line's favor. What it does not do is substitute for a hardness number, because the result of any heat treatment is measured in Rockwell, and that figure is exactly what is missing here.

What does the '18 and 26 degree' cutting edge mean?

Nobody who publishes it says. The retailer spec lists it as a 'Total Cutting Edge' of '18 and 26°' and the listing repeats '18 and 26-degree cutting edge', with no statement of which knives get which figure or whether the number is inclusive or per side. Read as inclusive, 18 degrees total is 9 degrees per side — more acute than any German knife we track and unusual for this steel. Read as per side, 26 degrees is blunter than a typical Western edge. We print the figure and flag it rather than resolving it for them.

Where are All-Clad Forged knives made?

Designed in Canonsburg, Pennsylvania and manufactured in China, per the same published spec. That is worth stating plainly, because All-Clad's cookware reputation is built on US manufacturing and the knife line does not share it. It says nothing about whether the knives are good; it says you should buy them on their specification rather than on the badge.

Is the 12-piece block set worth it, or should I buy the 3-piece?

The 3-piece, for most kitchens. The 12-piece is five knives plus four steak knives, a honing steel, shears and an acacia block — so a large share of the price is the block, the steak knives and the accessories rather than the blades you reach for daily. The 3-piece essential set has the chef, utility and paring knives in the same forged, cryo-hardened construction and nothing you will not use.

Does the All-Clad knife warranty cover chips?

The line carries All-Clad's Limited Lifetime Warranty per the published spec, and like every warranty in this category it is written against defects rather than damage. Treat chipped edges, bent tips and corrosion from being left wet as your responsibility — that is how Wüsthof's published terms read for the same kind of knife, and there is no reason to expect broader cover here.

How do you sharpen All-Clad Forged knives?

Like any softish German-style stainless knife: hone frequently on a rod, and sharpen on a stone a few times a year. Because the published edge figure is ambiguous, the practical approach is to match the bevel you can see rather than chase a number — lay the edge on the stone, find the angle at which it sits flat, and keep it. A 1000-grit stone does the work and a 3000 or 6000 refines it.

All-Clad Forged or Wüsthof Classic?

Wüsthof, if the published record matters to you: same steel family, but Wüsthof states 58 Rockwell, states a roughly 14-degree-per-side Precision Edge grind, and publishes warranty terms you can read before buying. All-Clad's case is the set: if you want a matching block, shears and a rod in one purchase and the brand's cookware is already in your kitchen, the construction is genuinely comparable.

Sources

  • All-Clad - Forged Knives 12 Pcs Knife Block Set - K272SC64 — ChefSupplies.ca — The only complete published specification we could reach for the All-Clad Forged line — All-Clad's own US site serves no reachable spec page for it. For model 'ALL-K272SC64' the page publishes: 'Blades are made from X50CrMoV15 stainless steel, known for its rust resistance and durability'; 'Cryo-Hardened Blades: Treated with liquid nitrogen to enhance rust resistance and maintain sharp-edge retention'; a spec row reading '18 and 26°' under Total Cutting Edge, with the features list repeating 'Features an 18° and 26° total cutting edge' and NO statement of which knives carry which figure or whether the angle is inclusive or per side; 'Fade-resistant, triple-riveted POM handles with a full tang and angled end bolster'; contents itemized as an 8" chef's knife, 8" bread knife, 7" santoku, 5" serrated utility, 3.5" paring knife, four 5" steak knives, a honing steel, pull-apart kitchen shears and an acacia wood block; a set weight of '8.2 lbs'; All-Clad's 'Limited Lifetime Warranty'; and the origin — 'Designed in Canonsburg, PA: While designed in the USA, the set is manufactured in China'. NO Rockwell hardness figure and NO dishwasher guidance appear anywhere on the page (accessed October 27, 2026)
  • The Difference Between WÜSTHOF Forged and Stamped Kitchen Knives — WÜSTHOF — Wüsthof's own account of both processes: forged blades start as a single piece of steel heated to over 2000°F and take 'over fifty-four manufacturing steps', hardened to '58 Rockwell'; non-forged blades are 'cut from a high-quality steel sheet using a precision laser' in 'thirty-five manufacturing steps' and run 'between 55 and 57 Rockwell' (accessed August 18, 2026)
  • Limited Lifetime Warranty Policy Details — WÜSTHOF — Wüsthof's published warranty terms: cover for the initial purchaser or gift recipient, and the exclusions (bent tips, chipped blades, honing steels, customary wear, commercial or educational use) (accessed August 13, 2026)
  • How To Sharpen Your WÜSTHOF Knives — The Chef's Table, WÜSTHOF — Wüsthof's published honing procedure and the distinction it draws: honing 'realigns the microscopic teeth on the edge of the blade and prolongs your knife's lifespan', while sharpening 'takes a small amount of steel off the blade, creating a new edge'. It gives a '14.5-degree angle between the edge of the blade and the honing steel' for Western knives and a '10-degree angle' for Asian knives, and says to run the blade 'from the "heel" to the "tip" of the knife' and 'Repeat this process 6-8 times while alternating sides' (accessed September 1, 2026)
  • Mercer Culinary M20050 Genesis 6-Piece Wood / Glass Knife Block Set — WebstaurantStore — The distributor listing for this set: 'German stainless steel blades with thick bolsters and full tangs', 'Ergonomic, easy-to-grip, soft Santoprene knife handles', 'Features a beech wood and tempered glass knife block' and 'Includes a paring, utility, boning, bread, and chef's knife' — itemized as a 3 1/2 inch paring, 5 inch utility, 6 inch boning, 8 inch wavy edge bread and 8 inch chef's knife in an 8 inch L x 3 1/4 inch W x 9 inch H block, blade material 'High Carbon Stainless Steel', features 'Hand Wash Only Non-Slip Handles NSF Certified'. No Rockwell hardness figure is printed (accessed August 26, 2026)
  • Rockwell hardness test — Wikipedia — Definition of the Rockwell C (HRC) scale used to state knife-steel hardness (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Knife sharpening — Wikipedia — Reference on edge angle, coarse-to-fine grit progression, and honing vs sharpening (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • How to Clean and Care for Your Knife — ZWILLING — ZWILLING's own care instructions: 'clean it by hand using lukewarm water, mild dish soap and a non-scratch cloth or sponge', dried with 'a plain dishtowel or microfiber cloth'; the dishwasher is ruled out for 'aggressive chemical tablets', 'high temperatures' and 'bumps and bangs with other objects'. On wooden handles: 'not dishwasher-safe and should only be washed by hand', with the wood 'regularly treating the wood with oil (e.g. linseed oil) or wax (e.g. beeswax)'. On storage, a knife needs 'its very own space away from other objects, so not simply thrown in the cutlery drawer' — a block, 'drawer organizers or protective sleeves' (accessed September 23, 2026)

Per-knife specs (steel, HRC, blade length, geometry) are read from each maker’s spec sheet or product listing and dated on the individual review cards above. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure — we flag it rather than guess.

Keep reading