Gyuto Club

The Best Knife Sets Under $200

This is the budget where the real decision shows up: two knives you would buy separately, or fifteen slots filled with steel nobody would choose on its own.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Buy the Tojiro DP two-piece set. Under $200 it is the only set here whose blades are a laminated VG10 core rather than a single soft stainless alloy, and the chef’s knife in it is the same F-808 we rate as the best-value gyuto on its own — so the paring knife is effectively added to a knife you were going to buy anyway. If you want a forged Western set with a block, the Mercer Genesis 6-piece is the one. If every slot has to be full, the HENCKELS Statement 15-piece is the honest version of that wish. And if the budget is genuinely tight, the McCook 15-piece is the cheapest block set we would let into a kitchen, with caveats.

One caveat about the ceiling before anything else: prices move, sometimes weekly. Treat “under $200” as true at the moment each price on this page was read — every card below carries its own dated figure from our live price layer, and two of these sets normally sit close enough to the line to cross it on a bad week. If a card shows more than $200 when you read this, that is the market moving, not us rounding.

The thing nobody selling sets will tell you is that piece count is not a specification. A “15-piece” set is typically eight knives, a pair of shears, a honing rod and a block — and the price per knife tells you what those eight blades can possibly be. We have not cut with every knife in every box; we compare the figures each maker publishes and say where a maker publishes nothing. Our methodology page sets out what that means.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which knife we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on steel, hardness, geometry and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not cut with every one of these — here is exactly how we compared them instead.

#KnifeBest forPrice
1
Tojiro DP 2-Piece Set (F-SET-2)

Tojiro DP 2-Piece Set (F-SET-2)

The cheapest way to start a Japanese kitchen with two knives you would buy separately anyway: the F-808 210 mm chef's knife the site already rates as its value gyuto, plus a 100 mm paring knife, both a VG10 core clad in 13-chrome stainless. No block, no filler, no shears — which is exactly why it costs what it does.

Best overall
$199.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Mercer Culinary Genesis 6-Piece Forged Block Set

Mercer Culinary Genesis 6-Piece Forged Block Set

The best-value real knife set: the forged Genesis chef's knife you'd buy on its own, plus the four other blades you actually reach for, in a beech-and-tempered-glass block. The listing describes 'German stainless steel blades with thick bolsters and full tangs' across the set — not the stamped filler most cheap blocks pad the count with.

Best forged set
$199.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
HENCKELS Statement 15-Piece Knife Block Set

HENCKELS Statement 15-Piece Knife Block Set

If you specifically want a full block that fills every slot — chef, santoku, bread, steak knives, shears — from a real German maker, this is the sane pick. Stamped rather than forged, which is exactly how it's affordable.

Best full block
$149.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
McCook MC29 15-Piece Block Set (built-in sharpener)

McCook MC29 15-Piece Block Set (built-in sharpener)

The best-selling budget block, and an honest one for the price: German-stainless stamped blades, a full slot count and a built-in sharpener in the block. Fine as a first kitchen's whole set — just don't expect forged-knife longevity.

Best budget block
$67.95 · View on Amazon

$125.9946% off

Price as of October 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Tojiro DP 2-Piece Set (F-SET-2)

The cheapest way to start a Japanese kitchen with two knives you would buy separately anyway: the F-808 210 mm chef's knife the site already rates as its value gyuto, plus a 100 mm paring knife, both a VG10 core clad in 13-chrome stainless. No block, no filler, no shears — which is exactly why it costs what it does.

Strengths

  • Both blades are a full VG10 core clad between two layers of stainless, not a VG10 coating
  • The 8.25-inch F-808 is the same chef's knife we rate as the value gyuto on its own
  • Full-tang, three-stud reinforced laminated handles with a metal bolster that keeps grime out of the joint
  • Made in Japan, and the listing states a lifetime warranty

Trade-offs

  • Tojiro publishes no Rockwell figure on its own site — the 60 HRC comes from the listing, and a specialist retailer states 60 +/-1 for the same DP line
  • Tojiro's own site lists a 90 mm F-800 paring knife but not the 100 mm F-848 in this set, so the second knife is documented only by the listing
  • Two knives and nothing else: no block, no rod, no sheaths
  • Plain looks — this is a working pair, not a Damascus showpiece
Blade steelVG10 (stainless)
Hardness60 HRC (listing)
Blade lengthNot published
WeightNot published
Edge geometryDouble bevel
HandleReinforced laminated material, full tang, three studs
ConstructionVG10 core clad in 13-chrome stainless (3-layer)

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on September 29, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best forged set

Mercer Culinary Genesis 6-Piece Forged Block Set

The best-value real knife set: the forged Genesis chef's knife you'd buy on its own, plus the four other blades you actually reach for, in a beech-and-tempered-glass block. The listing describes 'German stainless steel blades with thick bolsters and full tangs' across the set — not the stamped filler most cheap blocks pad the count with.

Strengths

  • Forged, full-tang, bolstered blades throughout, not stamped block-filler
  • Five knives that earn their slot: 8-inch chef, 8-inch wavy-edge bread, 6-inch boning, 5-inch utility, 3.5-inch paring
  • Grippy Santoprene handles across the set, and NSF certified

Trade-offs

  • Mercer publishes no Rockwell hardness for the Genesis line on this listing or its chef knife's
  • Hand wash only, and the tempered-glass block face shows every smudge
  • No santoku, no shears and no honing rod — budget for a rod separately
Blade steelHigh-carbon German stainless
HardnessNot published
Blade lengthNot published
WeightNot published
Edge geometryNot published
HandleSantoprene, ergonomic
ConstructionForged, full tang, bolstered (all blades)

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on August 26, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best full block

HENCKELS Statement 15-Piece Knife Block Set

If you specifically want a full block that fills every slot — chef, santoku, bread, steak knives, shears — from a real German maker, this is the sane pick. Stamped rather than forged, which is exactly how it's affordable.

Strengths

  • Complete set: chef, santoku, bread, utility, paring, steak knives, shears, block
  • German-engineered stamped stainless from an established brand
  • Built-in block keeps everything organized on the counter

Trade-offs

  • Stamped blades — lighter and less refined than forged lines
  • You are paying partly for the steak knives and block, not just the chef's knife
Blade steelGerman stainless (stamped)
HardnessNot published
Blade lengthNot published
WeightNot published
Edge geometryNot published
HandleRiveted polymer
ConstructionStamped, full set

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best budget block

McCook MC29 15-Piece Block Set (built-in sharpener)

The best-selling budget block, and an honest one for the price: German-stainless stamped blades, a full slot count and a built-in sharpener in the block. Fine as a first kitchen's whole set — just don't expect forged-knife longevity.

Strengths

  • Complete kitchen set for the price of one mid-range chef's knife
  • Built-in block sharpener makes basic upkeep frictionless
  • German stainless steel, one-piece stamped construction

Trade-offs

  • The pull-through block sharpener is convenient but removes a lot of metal
  • Entry-level steel; edge holding is modest
Blade steelGerman stainless (stamped)
HardnessNot published
Blade lengthNot published
WeightNot published
Edge geometryNot published
HandleRiveted, ergonomic
ConstructionStamped, full set

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Divide the price by the number of knives

This is the only arithmetic that matters on this page, and it reframes the whole category. A set under $200 containing two knives is spending about a hundred dollars a blade. A set under $200 containing eight knives, shears, a rod and a block is spending perhaps fifteen dollars a blade — and at fifteen dollars a blade, stamped steel in a soft alloy is not a cost-cutting decision, it is the only thing physically available.

Neither answer is wrong. They are answers to different questions. If the question is “what will cut best for the longest,” buy fewer, better knives. If the question is “how do I fill a kitchen for someone moving into their first apartment,” a full block is a perfectly reasonable thing to want and pretending otherwise is just snobbery. What we will not do is tell you the 15-piece block cuts as well as the two-piece Japanese set. It does not, and the arithmetic above is why.

Forged or stamped, and why it shows up at this price

Forged blades start as a billet that is heated and pressed into shape; they are heavier, usually have a full tang and often a bolster. Stamped blades are punched out of rolled sheet and ground — lighter, cheaper and how most 15-slot blocks reach their price. The Mercer Genesis set here is forged German stainless; the two 15-piece blocks are stamped. Our forged vs stamped comparison goes into what that does and does not change.

A note on the Mercer, because it is a genuinely unusual item: it is a forged set at close to a stamped set’s price, and the trade is that neither the set listing nor Mercer’s own chef-knife listing publishes a Rockwell figure. Our registry entry for it says “Not published” rather than inventing one. What Mercer does publish is the steel — high-carbon German stainless — the forged construction, the full tang and the Santoprene handles, and the set contains an 8-inch wavy-edge bread knife, which is the one blade a two-piece set cannot give you.

What is actually in each box

Tojiro DP 2-piece (F-SET-2).A 210 mm chef’s knife and a 100 mm paring knife, both a VG10 core clad in 13-chrome stainless. No block, no rod, no shears, no sheaths. Tojiro publishes no Rockwell figure on its own site — the 60 HRC comes from the listing, and a specialist retailer states 60 ±1 for the same DP line — and Tojiro’s site documents a 90 mm paring knife in this line but not the 100 mm in this set, so the smaller knife is described by the listing rather than the maker. Covered in full in our Tojiro roundup.

Mercer Genesis 6-piece. Forged knives plus a wood-and-glass block. Six pieces, including the bread knife; no shears. The full review walks the contents and the missing hardness figure.

HENCKELS Statement 15-piece.A full block: stamped German stainless, every slot filled, including shears and a honing rod. This is the set to buy when the brief is “a complete kitchen, today.”

McCook 15-piece (MC29).The budget block, with a built-in sharpener in the block itself. Treat that sharpener as a convenience rather than a feature — pull-through sharpeners at fixed angles remove more steel than they need to, which our sharpening systems page explains. On knives at this price it is not a tragedy; on a VG10 blade it would be.

What no set under $200 includes

A whetstone. Not one of these four boxes contains a real sharpening stone, and the two that contain a sharpening device contain either a honing rod (which does not sharpen) or a carbide pull-through (which sharpens badly). That gap matters more than any difference between the four sets, because a $200 set you never sharpen cuts worse within a year than a $60 knife you keep keen. Our combination whetstone roundup covers the companion purchase, and sharpening vs honing explains why the rod in the block is not it.

The second thing no set includes is a reason to own eight knives. Honestly, a chef’s knife, a paring knife and a serrated bread knife cover almost everything a home kitchen does; a boning knife, a utility knife, a sandwich knife and four steak knives are the slots a block has to fill to look like a block. If you are buying for yourself rather than furnishing a kitchen, start with our best chef knives under $200 and add the other two pieces separately.

If you can stretch past $200

The field changes shape rather than just improving. Above this ceiling you reach the Japanese block sets — where every blade in the box is one you might buy alone — and the premium Western starter pairs. Our Japanese knife set roundup judges that field on exactly that test, and our general set roundup covers the forged-versus-stamped argument across all price bands.

How we ranked these

Order is by what the box actually contains and what its makers publish about it, not by piece count. We read Mercer’s own set and chef-knife listings, Tojiro’s own pages for the knives in the DP pair, and the steel maker’s published composition for VG10; where no hardness figure is published we print “Not published” on the card instead of estimating. Every price on this page comes from our live price layer with the date it was read, and the “under $200” threshold is checked against that layer rather than asserted in prose. No ratings, no awards, no tests we did not run.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best knife set under $200?

The Tojiro DP two-piece set, if you care most about how the knives cut. It is the only set at this price whose blades are a laminated VG10 core rather than a single soft stainless alloy, and its 210 mm chef's knife is one we rate on its own. If you need a block and more pieces, the forged Mercer Genesis 6-piece is the better fit.

Is a two-knife set really better than a 15-piece block?

At the same price, for cutting, yes — and the arithmetic shows why. Under $200 a two-knife set spends about a hundred dollars per blade; a 15-piece set spends roughly fifteen. At fifteen dollars a blade, stamped steel in a soft alloy is the only option available. A block is still the right buy if you need to fill a kitchen rather than cut well.

How many knives do I actually need?

Three cover almost everything: a chef's knife for 80% of the work, a paring knife for in-hand jobs, and a serrated bread knife for anything with a crust or a skin that resists. A boning knife and a slicer are worth adding if you cook meat or fish often. The other slots in a block exist because the block has slots.

Are forged knives worth it in a set at this price?

Yes, if the alternative is a stamped set at the same money — forged blades are heavier, full-tang and generally longer-lived. The Mercer Genesis 6-piece is unusual in being a forged set at close to stamped-set pricing. Note that neither the set listing nor Mercer's own chef-knife listing publishes a Rockwell hardness figure, so we show that field as not published.

Do knife sets under $200 include a sharpener?

Some include a honing rod, which realigns an edge but does not sharpen it, and some include a built-in carbide pull-through, which does sharpen but takes more steel than necessary at a fixed angle. None of them includes a whetstone. Budget separately for a 1000/6000 combination stone — it matters more than the difference between any two sets here.

Should I buy a knife set or build one knife at a time?

Build it, if the kitchen is yours and you are not in a hurry. Buying one knife at a time means every blade is one you chose, and the money that would have gone into four steak knives goes into a better chef's knife and a stone. Buy a set when you are furnishing a kitchen from nothing, matching a look, or buying a gift.

Is a block with a built-in sharpener a good idea?

It is a convenience, not a feature. Built-in sharpeners are carbide or ceramic pull-throughs at a fixed angle, which is fine on inexpensive soft-steel knives and wrong for a hard Japanese edge. Using one on a VG10 blade would reset the edge geometry the maker ground. If your block has one and your knives are cheap, use it; otherwise learn a stone.

What does 15-piece actually mean?

Usually eight knives, a pair of kitchen shears, a honing rod and the block, with four of the knives being steak knives. Piece count is a marketing number, not a specification: it counts the rod and the block alongside the blades. Read the contents list rather than the headline, and divide the price by the number of knives you would actually use.

Sources

  • Mercer Culinary M20050 Genesis 6-Piece Wood / Glass Knife Block Set — WebstaurantStore — The distributor listing for this set: 'German stainless steel blades with thick bolsters and full tangs', 'Ergonomic, easy-to-grip, soft Santoprene knife handles', 'Features a beech wood and tempered glass knife block' and 'Includes a paring, utility, boning, bread, and chef's knife' — itemized as a 3 1/2 inch paring, 5 inch utility, 6 inch boning, 8 inch wavy edge bread and 8 inch chef's knife in an 8 inch L x 3 1/4 inch W x 9 inch H block, blade material 'High Carbon Stainless Steel', features 'Hand Wash Only Non-Slip Handles NSF Certified'. No Rockwell hardness figure is printed (accessed August 26, 2026)
  • Mercer Culinary M21078 Genesis 8-inch Forged Chef Knife with Short Bolster — WebstaurantStore — The Genesis line's own chef-knife listing: 'Forged construction with short bolster', a 'Taper ground edge' for 'superior stability, easy-honing, and long-lasting sharpness', and 'Full tang creates better balance' — with no steel-grade designation and no Rockwell hardness figure printed anywhere on the page (accessed August 26, 2026)
  • TOJIRO CLASSIC Chef Knife 210mm — TOJIRO JAPAN — Tojiro's own product page for model F-808, now titled 'TOJIRO CLASSIC Chef Knife 210mm': blade length 210 mm, 'Blade is VG10 as core steel, clad by 13-Chrome stainless steel', reinforced laminated handle with a metal bolster (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • TOJIRO CLASSIC Paring Knife 90mm — TOJIRO JAPAN — Tojiro's own product page for the F-800: blade length '90 mm', total length '205 mm', weight '60 g', core 'VG10', cladding '13 Chrome Stainless Steel', handle 'Reinforced Laminated Material (3Studs, Full-Tang)', edging 'Double Bevel'. NO Rockwell hardness figure is published. Cited here because it is the smallest paring knife Tojiro's own site documents in this line — the 100 mm F-848 supplied in the F-SET-2 two-piece set is not listed on Tojiro's site (accessed September 29, 2026)
  • TOJIRO CLASSIC Santoku 170mm | Tojiro DP Santoku — Chef Knives To Go — Specialist retailer's listing for the F-503: 'The CLASSIC line is the DP line - completely unchanged, name only updated at the request of the manufacturer.' Its F-808 gyuto listing says the same: 'formerly called the DP' and 'The name changed; the knife did not.' (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • VG10 — TAKEFU SPECIAL STEEL CO., LTD. — The steel maker's own published composition for VG10: 'C: 1.00, Cr: 15.00, Mo: 1.00, V: 0.25, Co: 1.55' (percent), a hardness of 'HRC60≦' (60 HRC and above), and the maker's own explanation that '15% chromium (Cr), 1% molybdenum (Mo), and 1.5% cobalt (Co) which all strengthen the matrix, yielding high hardness, in addition to maintaining a long-lasting sharp edge'. Intended uses listed as kitchen knives, general-purpose knives and machine blades (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • The Difference Between WÜSTHOF Forged and Stamped Kitchen Knives — WÜSTHOF — Wüsthof's own account of both processes: forged blades start as a single piece of steel heated to over 2000°F and take 'over fifty-four manufacturing steps', hardened to '58 Rockwell'; non-forged blades are 'cut from a high-quality steel sheet using a precision laser' in 'thirty-five manufacturing steps' and run 'between 55 and 57 Rockwell' (accessed August 18, 2026)
  • Japanese kitchen knife — Wikipedia — Reference on gyuto/santoku/nakiri, single- vs double-bevel (kataba/ryoba) and edge angles (accessed July 21, 2026)

Per-knife specs (steel, HRC, blade length, geometry) are read from each maker’s spec sheet or product listing and dated on the individual review cards above. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure — we flag it rather than guess.

Keep reading