Gyuto Club

Miyabi Koh Sujihiki Review

Miyabi's plainest knife in the 240 mm slicing length, read against ZWILLING's own spec sheet. It is the only sujihiki we can find where the maker commits to both a hardness figure and an edge angle — and the cheapest way into a Seki-ground 61 HRC blade.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which knife we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Short version: the Miyabi Koh 240 mm sujihiki is the slicer to buy if you want the specification in writing. It is the plainest knife Miyabi makes — no Damascus, no cladding, no bolster — and that is the reason to buy it rather than a reason not to: you are paying for the Seki grind and the published numbers instead of the etch. Three things are missing from the product page, and one of them is the spec most reviews of long knives get wrong.

What ZWILLING actually publishes

The knife is item 33950-243. On its own product page ZWILLING publishes a blade of 9.45 in (240 mm, sold as “9.5-inch”), “Advanced FC61 fine carbide stainless steel” at “61 HRC”, a “9.5-12° edge angle” produced by a “Hand-honed, 3-step Honbazuke blade”, a “FRIODURx2® Ice-Hardened Blade”, an “Octagon-shaped Pakkawood handle” on a concealed tang, a weight of 0.35 lbs, “Hand wash only”, a lifetime warranty, and “Handcrafted in Seki, Japan”.

That is an unusually complete disclosure for a slicing knife, and it is the whole case for this one. Both rival 240 mm sujihikis in our registry leave the two figures that matter most blank on the maker’s own site.

The one thing this knife has that its rivals do not

It is the only 240 mm sujihiki we can point at where the maker publishes both a hardness figure and an edge angle. That sounds like a small thing. It is the entire reason a spec-first site can recommend it.

Misono publishes a size list for its Molybdenum-series sujihiki — No. 521 at 240 mm, No. 522 at 270 mm, and so on — and a series description naming “high-carbon 13-chrome stainless with molybdenum.” It publishes no Rockwell figure, no weight, no handle spec and no bevel angle. The 57 HRC, the 157 g, the 2.2 mm spine and the 70/30 bevel that circulate for that knife all come from a specialist retailer’s spec table, not from Misono. We cite that retailer by name on the product card and say which figure is whose, because the distinction is the difference between a manufacturer’s commitment and a shop’s measurement. Yoshihiro publishes nothing at all in the way of a hardness number for its hammered Damascus 240 mm.

ZWILLING commits to 61 HRC and 9.5–12° in the place a buyer will actually look. Our hardness chart sets out what that band feels like in the hand: it is hard enough to hold a genuinely acute edge for a long time, and hard enough that you must stop treating the knife like a German one.

The weight, and why it is the right weight

ZWILLING publishes 0.35 lbs — about 159 g — for a 240 mm blade. People who have only handled Western carving knives read that and assume it is a misprint. It is not, and here is the cross-check that settles it: the retailer’s spec table for the Misono No. 521, the same 240 mm class, gives 157 g. Two long slicers, two grams apart, from two unrelated makers.

That is what a sujihiki is. It carries very little blade height and it is ground thin from spine to edge, so there is barely any metal in it despite the length. The absence of mass is the feature — a thick blade has to wedge a roast apart as it passes, which drags and distorts the slice, and 159 g of thin steel simply does not do that. It is also exactly why the knife is wrong for board work, which the sujihiki guide goes into properly.

One figure we will not build an argument on: ZWILLING lists its own Koh 8-inch chef’s knife at 0.62 lbs (about 281 g), which would make this longer knife 44 percent lighter than its shorter sibling. That is a tempting headline, and we are not going to write it, because ZWILLING’s own Kaizen II 8-inch chef’s knife is listed at 0.44 lbs (about 200 g) — so at least one of those three numbers is measuring something different from the others, probably packaging. The two sujihiki figures agree with each other and with the shape; the chef’s-knife comparison does not survive scrutiny, so we are leaving it out rather than dressing it up.

The three things ZWILLING leaves off the page

  • What FC61 is. ZWILLING names the steel — “FC61 fine carbide stainless steel” — and stops. It does not publish a composition, and it does not say what the alloy corresponds to. The most-cited third-party account holds that FC61 is ZWILLING’s trade name for Sandvik 13C26, itself close to Uddeholm AEB-L, a genuinely fine-carbide stainless whose measured behavior is well documented. ZWILLING has never confirmed that, so we treat it as unconfirmed everywhere it appears. The full argument, with the numbers that are measured, is in FC61 vs VG10.
  • The blade geometry. The dimension block reads “Length of product: 15.12 in”, “Width of product: 0.75 in” and “Height of product: 1.30 in”. Those are not blade measurements — a 240 mm sujihiki is on the order of 2 mm at the spine — so we read them as a shipped-item figure and mark spine thickness and blade height as not published. It also means we will not do the arithmetic on handle length, because we cannot tell whether that 15.12 in is the knife or the carton.
  • What to do about maintenance. ZWILLING’s page for this knife says “Hand wash only” and no more. Its general care page is where the useful detail is, and we have pulled it in below.

Plain steel, and why that is the point

Koh is Miyabi’s entry line, and it looks like it: a mirror-polished mono-steel blade, no Damascus cladding, no hammered tsuchime face, no bolster. Every visual flourish the brand is known for has been removed.

What has not been removed is the part that cuts. The same ice-hardening ZWILLING calls FRIODURx2, the same hand-honed 9.5–12° edge, the same three-step Honbazuke process — which ZWILLING describes as grinding the knife “on a coarse vertical rotating sharpening stone”, then “finely honed on a horizontal rotating sharpening stone”, then polished on “a vertical rotating leather stropping block” — and the same Seki workshops. On a slicer that is the correct set of trade-offs, because nobody is admiring the finish on a knife that spends its working life buried in a brisket. Damascus cladding is decorative; the Damascus explainer makes that case at length.

The handle is the other saving. An octagonal pakkawood handle is symmetrical, which makes it handed-neutral in a way Miyabi’s D-shaped handles are not — a genuine advantage if you are left-handed, and the reason the left-handed guide keeps pointing at octagonal handles. It sits on a concealed tang rather than the full tang most Western slicers at this money advertise. That is a normal Japanese construction and not a fault, but it is a real difference from the Misono, and our handle guide explains what pakkawood is and how long it lasts.

Living with 61 HRC on a 9.5° edge

This is a hard blade on a very acute grind, and the maintenance follows from the numbers rather than from anyone’s opinion. No grooved honing rod: at this hardness the edge does not realign when you steel it, it fractures. A fine ceramic rod or a strop covers the weeks between sharpenings, and a 1000/6000 combination stone does the real work. Not every sharpener can hold a 15° edge, let alone a 9.5° one — the sharpeners that can are a short list, and most pull-through devices are not on it.

A long, nearly straight blade is genuinely easier to sharpen than a curved chef’s knife, because there is no belly to sweep through: you set the angle once and draw. The catch is that the blade is longer than most stones, so you work in sections, and any wobble at 61 HRC takes a chip rather than rolling a burr. If you have not done this before, read how to sharpen a knife first and practice on something cheaper.

On cleaning, ZWILLING’s own care page is more specific than the product page: wash “by hand using lukewarm water, mild dish soap and a non-scratch cloth or sponge”, dry with “a plain dishtowel or microfiber cloth”, and keep it out of the dishwasher, which it blames for “aggressive chemical tablets”, “high temperatures” and “bumps and bangs with other objects”. On wooden handles it goes further: they are “not dishwasher-safe and should only be washed by hand”, and it recommends “regularly treating the wood with oil (e.g. linseed oil) or wax (e.g. beeswax)”. And a knife should have “its very own space away from other objects, so not simply thrown in the cutlery drawer” — on a 240 mm blade at this hardness, that is not fussiness. More in our knife care guide.

The warranty, and where you buy it

This is the part of the purchase most reviews skip, and it is the part we think hardest about on a page that carries a buy link.

ZWILLING’s US terms are generous on their face: a product is covered as “free of defects in material and workmanship from the date of purchase for as long as said purchaser owns the product.” Two conditions attach. The first is ordinary — “the original purchaser must provide valid proof of purchase”, and the warranty “does not cover defects resulting from normal wear and tear, misuse, abuse, alteration, negligence, or use of the product other than its intended purpose.” On a 61 HRC slicer, “intended purpose” is doing real work: this knife is for protein, not for bone, frozen food or prying.

The second condition is the one that matters on a marketplace. The warranty applies to products “purchased in the United States from Zwilling or a Zwilling authorized seller located in the United States”, and ZWILLING reserves “the right to reject warranty claims for products purchased from unauthorized sellers.” On a marketplace listing the seller is frequently not the brand, so check who the listing actually ships and sells from before you order, and treat an unusually low price as the first thing to investigate rather than the reason to click. That applies to our link as much as to anyone else’s. Our where-to-buy guide covers the channels in full.

The four things it does badly

  • It is a one-job knife, and the job is narrow. A sujihiki slices protein. It has almost no blade height, so there is no knuckle clearance and no scooping a board of diced onion, and it cannot rock-chop. If you are choosing between this and a knife you would use every day, buy the every-day knife — the buying order puts a gyuto first for a reason.
  • It is plain, and some people mind. A mirror-polished mono-steel blade is the least decorated thing Miyabi sells. If part of the appeal of a Japanese knife is that it is beautiful, this one will disappoint you and the Kaizen II will not.
  • Concealed tang. Normal for the construction, but a real difference from the full-tang Western-style slicers — including the Misono — that it competes with on price.
  • Geometry is unpublished. No spine thickness, no blade height. For a shape where thinness is the entire performance argument, that is the gap we would most like ZWILLING to close, and until it does we are trusting the shape rather than a figure.

How it compares

The Miyabi Koh sujihiki against the two other 240 mm slicers we cover and the Miyabi one step up
 Miyabi KohMisono No. 521Yoshihiro VG10Miyabi Kaizen II
Blade length240 mm (published 9.45 in)240 mm (245 mm edge per the retailer)240 mmNot made as a 240 mm sujihiki
SteelFC61 fine-carbide stainless13-chrome molybdenum stainlessVG10 coreFC61 fine-carbide stainless
Published hardness61 HRC (on the product page)Not published by Misono (57 HRC is the retailer's figure)Not published60-62 HRC (on the product page)
Published edge angle9.5-12° per side, hand-honedNot published by Misono (70/30 per the retailer)Not published9.5-12° per side, hand-honed
ConstructionMono-steel, mirror-polished, no claddingSingle-layer stainless, made in SekiVG10 core, 16-layer hammered DamascusFC61 core, 48 Damascus layers
Published weight0.35 lb (about 159 g)157 g (retailer's figure)Not published
Handle / tangOctagonal pakkawood, concealed tangPakkawood with steel bolster, full tang per the retailerWestern-stylePakkawood D-shape, rounded bolster
Really forA slicer whose spec is written downFinding out whether you need a slicerA hand-finished Damascus slicer for lessThe same steel with the decoration

Against the Misono No. 521 the choice is a documentation argument, not a quality one. Misono has made knives in Seki for a long time and the 521 is a well-regarded working slicer; it is also 157 g of single-layer stainless whose hardness you are taking from a shop rather than the factory, and the retailer’s 57 HRC puts it a meaningful step below 61 in edge retention. It has the full tang and the bolster. If you are not yet sure you need a dedicated slicer, the Misono is the sane way to find out.

Against the Yoshihiro you are choosing a published number over a hammered Damascus face. The VG10 core is a known, good steel — our VG10 guide covers it — but no hardness figure is published for that knife at all, so the comparison is a spec sheet against a photograph. Against the Kaizen II there is no comparison to make at this length: ZWILLING does not sell one. If you want FC61 in a 240 mm slicer, the Koh is the only door. The full field, split by the job you are actually doing, is in the meat-cutting roundup.

Who should buy it

Buy the Miyabi Koh sujihiki if you carve, portion or slice large proteins often enough that a dedicated knife earns its drawer space; if you already own a chef’s knife you are happy with; if you want a hard, acutely ground Seki blade and would rather the money went into the steel than the pattern; and if you are willing to keep it off a honing rod and off bone. The symmetrical octagonal handle makes it one of the easier premium Japanese knives to recommend to a left-hander.

Buy something else if this would be your first good knife; if you want one knife that does everything, in which case a gyuto is the answer; if you are not sure the shape suits how you cook, in which case find out on the cheaper Misono; if you want a knife that looks like the Miyabi photographs you have seen; or if you need visible full-tang construction.

How we reviewed this

We do not own this knife and have not cut with it. This review reads the specification ZWILLING publishes on its own product page for item 33950-243, together with ZWILLING’s own account of the Honbazuke process, its knife use-and-care page and its US warranty terms, against Misono’s own pages for the competing Molybdenum-series sujihiki and the specialist retailer’s spec table for that knife. Where a maker publishes nothing — the spine thickness, the blade height, the composition of FC61, Misono’s hardness — we say so and name whoever does carry the number. Where ZWILLING’s own figures do not sit together — three weights on one site that cannot all be measuring the same thing — we say that too, and decline to build an argument on the ones we cannot trust. Anything nobody states is marked Not published rather than estimated, and no price appears in this text: prices on this site come only from the live daily check and carry the date they were pulled. Our methodology page sets out the whole approach.

Our verdict

Miyabi Koh 4000FC Sujihiki 240 mm

Miyabi's plainest line doing the slicer, and the only one at this length that puts a hardness number on the page: an ice-hardened FC61 blade at a published 61 HRC, hand-honed to 9.5-12° and left mirror-polished with no cladding and no Damascus. Buy it when you want the Seki grind and the figure, not the decoration.

Strengths

  • Zwilling publishes the number most slicer makers leave blank — 61 HRC on an ice-hardened FC61 fine-carbide blade
  • Hand-honed to a 9.5-12° edge by Miyabi's three-step Honbazuke process, more acute than a factory slicer usually arrives
  • Handcrafted in Seki with an octagonal pakkawood handle and the line's lifetime warranty behind it

Trade-offs

  • A plain mirror-polished blade with no cladding and no Damascus — the least decorated knife Miyabi makes
  • Concealed tang, not the full tang most Western-handled slicers at this level advertise
  • Hand-wash only, and at 61 HRC that 9.5-12° edge chips sooner than a softer carving knife's
Blade steelFC61 (fine-carbide stainless)
Hardness61 HRC
Blade length240 mm
Weight159 g
Edge geometryDouble bevel, 9.5-12° per side
HandleOctagonal pakkawood, concealed tang
ConstructionFC61, ice-hardened (FRIODURx2), mirror-polished — no Damascus cladding

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on September 23, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Miyabi Koh sujihiki worth buying?

If you carve or portion large proteins often and you want a 240 mm slicer whose specification is actually written down, yes. It is the only knife in this length we can point at where the maker publishes both the hardness (61 HRC) and the edge angle (9.5-12 degrees) on the product page itself. What you are not buying is decoration: the Koh line is plain mirror-polished steel with no Damascus and no cladding, and that is precisely why it costs less than the rest of Miyabi's catalog. If you carve a joint once a year, a slicer of any kind is a luxury and your chef's knife will cope.

What steel is the Miyabi Koh, and how hard is it?

ZWILLING calls it 'Advanced FC61 fine carbide stainless steel' and publishes '61 HRC' on the product page. What ZWILLING does not do anywhere on that page is say what FC61 actually is. The most-cited third-party account holds that FC61 is ZWILLING's trade name for Sandvik 13C26, which is in turn close to Uddeholm AEB-L - a genuinely fine-carbide stainless. ZWILLING has never confirmed that, so we report it as unconfirmed rather than repeat it as fact. The 61 HRC figure is ZWILLING's own and needs no caveat.

How much does the Miyabi Koh sujihiki weigh?

ZWILLING publishes 0.35 lbs, which is about 159 g for a 240 mm blade. That figure holds up against the field: the specialist retailer's spec table for the Misono Molybdenum No. 521 sujihiki, the same length, gives 157 g. Two 240 mm slicers two grams apart is what a sujihiki should weigh - they are narrow and ground thin, with very little steel in them. Treat any 'heavy slicer' expectation as wrong.

Can you use a honing steel on a Miyabi Koh?

Not a grooved steel rod. At a published 61 HRC on a 9.5-12 degree edge there is not enough ductility for the edge to bend back into line - it breaks off instead, in pieces too small to see. A fine ceramic rod or a leather strop is the between-sharpenings tool, and a 1000/6000 whetstone held at roughly the factory angle is the real one. A long blade makes this easier than it sounds: the profile is nearly straight, so there is no belly to sweep through.

Is the Miyabi Koh sujihiki full tang?

No. ZWILLING publishes 'concealed tang' for this model. That is worth knowing because most Western-handled slicers at this price advertise a full tang, and the Misono No. 521 that competes with it is described by its retailer as full-tang construction. A concealed tang is not a defect - a great many Japanese knives are built that way and the octagonal handle is the point of it - but if visible full-tang construction is on your checklist, cross this knife off it.

Does ZWILLING publish the blade height or the spine thickness?

No, and the dimension block on the product page makes that easy to miss. It reads 'Length of product: 15.12 in', 'Width of product: 0.75 in' and 'Height of product: 1.30 in' - figures that do not describe a knife blade, since a 240 mm sujihiki is roughly 2 mm at the spine. So spine thickness and blade height are unpublished for this model. The only thickness figure anywhere in this field is the 2.2 mm the specialist retailer lists for the Misono, and that is a different knife.

Miyabi Koh or Miyabi Kaizen II?

Different jobs, not different grades. Koh and Kaizen II both run FC61 at around 61 HRC with the same hand-honed 9.5-12 degree Honbazuke edge, both handcrafted in Seki. The Kaizen II adds 48 layers of Damascus cladding, a rounded bolster and a D-shaped handle, and the price goes up accordingly; the Koh is plain mirror-polished steel on an octagonal handle. And crucially, ZWILLING does not sell the Kaizen II as a 240 mm sujihiki. If you want this shape from Miyabi at this length, the Koh is the one.

Does the Miyabi lifetime warranty cover an Amazon purchase?

Only if the seller is an authorized one, and that is the buyer's job to check. ZWILLING's US terms cover a product for 'as long as said purchaser owns the product', but they apply to items 'purchased in the United States from Zwilling or a Zwilling authorized seller located in the United States', require valid proof of purchase, and reserve ZWILLING's right to reject claims for products bought from unauthorized sellers. On a marketplace the seller is frequently not the brand. Check who the listing ships and sells from before you order - that applies to our buy link as much as anyone else's.

Sources

  • MIYABI KOH 9.5-inch Pakka Wood Sujihiki, item no. 33950-243 — ZWILLINGZWILLING's published spec for item 33950-243: a '9.45 in' blade sold as '9.5-inch', 'Advanced FC61 fine carbide stainless steel' at '61 HRC', a '9.5-12° edge angle' from a 'Hand-honed, 3-step Honbazuke blade', a 'FRIODURx2® Ice-Hardened Blade', an 'Octagon-shaped Pakkawood handle' in brown on a 'concealed tang', a weight of '0.35 lbs', 'Hand wash only', a 'lifetime warranty', and 'Handcrafted in Seki, Japan'. ZWILLING's own description of the shape: a 'sujihiki knife, also known as the Japanese filet knife, features a long, thin blade designed for cleanly slicing through both meat and fish filets'. The dimension block reads 'Length of product: 15.12 in', 'Width of product: 0.75 in', 'Height of product: 1.30 in' — figures that do not describe a blade, so spine thickness and blade height are NOT published. Listed as In Stock on the date fetched; no price is quoted here because prices on this site come only from the live daily check. ZWILLING does NOT state what alloy FC61 is (accessed September 23, 2026)
  • MIYABI KOH 4000FC 8-inch Chef's Knife — ZWILLINGZWILLING's own description of the steel: 'Crafted from revolutionary FC61 fine carbide stainless steel', 'Blade hardness (HRC): 61 HRC', an 'Ice-hardened FRIODURx2 blade for exceptional durability', a '9.5-12° edge angle' from a 'Hand-honed, 3-step Honbazuke blade', 'Handcrafted in Seki, Japan', 7.87-inch blade, 0.62 lb. ZWILLING does NOT state what alloy FC61 is on this page — it names it only as 'FC61 fine carbide stainless steel' (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • MIYABI Kaizen II 5000FCD 8-inch Chef's Knife — ZWILLINGZwilling's published spec for the line: an 'FC61' core with fine carbide distribution at '60-62 HRC', '48 layers of stainless steel' Damascus over the core (49 total), an edge 'hand-honed using the historic Honbazuke method to an exceptionally sharp 9.5 to 12 degrees', a 'double ice-hardened FRIODUR' blade, a 'thicker and rounded bolster for increased comfort and balance', a black Pakkawood D-shaped handle, a 7.87 in blade at 0.44 lbs, handcrafted in Seki, Japan (accessed August 28, 2026)
  • Japanese Knives - Some Nuggets of Information — ZWILLINGZWILLING's own account of the three Honbazuke steps, which it translates as 'true cutting edge': 'The knife is initially ground on a coarse vertical rotating sharpening stone', then 'finely honed on a horizontal rotating sharpening stone', and finally 'a vertical rotating leather stropping block is used to polish the grind/cutting edge'. The page does not give an edge angle, a hardness figure, or any guidance on honing rods (accessed September 23, 2026)
  • How to Clean and Care for Your Knife — ZWILLINGZWILLING's own care instructions: 'clean it by hand using lukewarm water, mild dish soap and a non-scratch cloth or sponge', dried with 'a plain dishtowel or microfiber cloth'; the dishwasher is ruled out for 'aggressive chemical tablets', 'high temperatures' and 'bumps and bangs with other objects'. On wooden handles: 'not dishwasher-safe and should only be washed by hand', with the wood 'regularly treating the wood with oil (e.g. linseed oil) or wax (e.g. beeswax)'. On storage, a knife needs 'its very own space away from other objects, so not simply thrown in the cutlery drawer' — a block, 'drawer organizers or protective sleeves' (accessed September 23, 2026)
  • Warranty USA — Zwilling J.A. HenckelsZWILLING's US warranty terms, which govern a Miyabi purchase: products 'will be free of defects in material and workmanship from the date of purchase for as long as said purchaser owns the product'; it 'does not cover defects resulting from normal wear and tear, misuse, abuse, alteration, negligence, or use of the product other than its intended purpose'; 'the original purchaser must provide valid proof of purchase'; and it applies only to products 'purchased in the United States from Zwilling or a Zwilling authorized seller located in the United States', with ZWILLING reserving 'the right to reject warranty claims for products purchased from unauthorized sellers' (accessed September 23, 2026)
  • FC61 · Steel Deep Dive — The Culinary Knife BibleThe most-cited third-party account of FC61: 'FC61 is Zwilling's trade name for Sandvik 13C26, which is in turn essentially identical to Uddeholm AEB-L'; composition given as 0.68% C, 13% Cr, 0.7% Mn, 0.4% Si; hardness 60-62 HRC with a target of 61; used in the 'Evolution, Kaizen II, Koh lines'; and ''FC' stands for Fine Carbide; '61' refers to the hardness target'. The page does not cite ZWILLING for the equivalence, and ZWILLING has not confirmed it — which is exactly how our comparison page reports it (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • All About AEB-L — Knife Steel NerdsIndependent metallurgist's account of the fine-carbide razor steel: '0.65-0.7% C' with '13.5% chromium', developed by Uddeholm in the 1960s with Sandvik's 'identical' 13C26 following; 'carbides of one micron or less' against 440C's 'carbides over 10 microns'; at 62.2 Rc it 'matches the toughness of 59.8 Rc CPM-154'; slicing edge retention about '55% of ... 440C at 59 Rc'; hardenable to '63+ Rc'; 'not a good choice ... in very corrosive environments like salt water'. FC61 and Miyabi are NOT mentioned in this source — it is cited for what a fine-carbide razor steel measures at, not as proof of what FC61 is (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • 筋引 SUJIHIKI KNIFE — Misono Molybdenum series (MISONO CUTLERY CO., LTD.)Misono's own size list for the Molybdenum-series sujihiki: 'No. 521' 240 mm, 'No. 522' 270 mm, 'No. 523' 300 mm, 'No. 524' 330 mm, 'No. 525' 360 mm. No weight, hardness, handle or bevel figure is published on the page; the company address is Seki, Gifu (accessed September 20, 2026)
  • Molybdenum series — MISONO CUTLERY CO., LTD.Misono's own description of the series: 'ハイカーボン13クロームステンレス・モリブデン使用' (high-carbon 13-chrome stainless with molybdenum), 'ハイレベルの磨き技術を用いた鋭い切れ味のステンレス刃' (a sharp stainless blade finished with high-level polishing); the English text calls it 'high-percent carbon and high-grade molybdenum-vanadium stainless steel' and 'rust resistant'. No Rockwell figure is published (accessed September 20, 2026)
  • Misono Molybdenum Steel Series Sujihiki (240mm to 360mm, 5 sizes) — Japanese Chefs Knife (JCK)The specialist retailer's spec table for the No. 521: 'AUS-8 Molybdenum Vanadium Stainless Steel', 'Rockwell Hardness (HRc): 57', 'Cutting edge length: 245mm (9.6")', 'Blade Thickness: 2.2mm (0.08")', 'Total Length: 365mm (14.3")', 'Total Weight: 157g (5.5oz)', 'Black Pakka Wood Handle with Stainless Steel Bolster', 'Full tang construction', 'Double Bevel Edge 70/30'. These are the retailer's figures, not Misono's — the product card says which is which (accessed September 20, 2026)
  • Japanese kitchen knife — WikipediaReference on gyuto/santoku/nakiri, single- vs double-bevel (kataba/ryoba) and edge angles (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Rockwell hardness test — WikipediaDefinition of the Rockwell C (HRC) scale used to state knife-steel hardness (accessed July 21, 2026)

Per-knife specs (steel, HRC, blade length, geometry) are read from each maker’s spec sheet or product listing and dated on the individual review cards above. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure — we flag it rather than guess.

Keep reading