Gyuto Club

The Best Knife Sets Under $500

The tier above $200, where the question changes: not which set is cheapest, but how many of the pieces you paid for are actually knives.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The MAC Professional three-piece is the set to buy under $500 — the MTH-80 chef’s knife, the PKF-50 paring knife and the MSB-105 bread and roast slicer, all from one line, with MAC’s own page naming all three by model number. It is for the cook who wants three knives that cover a whole board and no wooden furniture. The budget pick is the Wüsthof Classic two-piece: a forged 8-inch chef’s knife and a paring knife at ~58 HRC, the cheapest set here in which every single piece is a knife you will use this week.

Each price below comes from our live price layer and was read from Amazon as of November 7, 2026, and every card carries its own dated figure — treat “under $500” as true on that date, because the premium blocks move. The band matters because it is the first tier where you genuinely have three different shapes of answer for the same money: a full forged block that furnishes an empty kitchen, a three-knife working set, or two or three excellent knives and no storage at all.

The test we apply is the same one that runs through best chef knife sets and best Japanese knife sets, and at this price it bites harder: piece count is marketing, blade count is a specification. A six-piece Shun set contains three knives. A twelve-piece All-Clad set contains four steak knives and a block. Neither is dishonest — both list their contents — but the number on the box is not the number of knives. We own none of these sets and claim no tests; the contents, steels and hardness figures are each maker’s own where they publish them, marked Not published where they do not, per our methodology page.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which knife we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on steel, hardness, geometry and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not cut with every one of these — here is exactly how we compared them instead.

#KnifeBest forPrice
1
MAC Professional Series 3-Piece Set (PRO-31)

MAC Professional Series 3-Piece Set (PRO-31)

The three knives a working kitchen actually uses, all of them from one MAC line: the MTH-80 8-inch dimpled chef's knife, the PKF-50 5-inch dimpled paring knife and the MSB-105 10.5-inch bread and roast slicer. MAC's own page for the PRO-31 names all three by model number. What neither that page nor the listing publishes is a hardness figure, an edge angle or a blade thickness, which is the one thing we hold against it.

Best set under $500 overall
$435.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Shun Classic 6-Piece Slim Block Set

Shun Classic 6-Piece Slim Block Set

Three Shun Classic knives — 8-inch chef's, 7-inch santoku, 3.5-inch paring — plus shears, a combination honing steel and an eight-slot slim block. The knives are the VG-MAX, 68-layer, 16-degree Classics we already rate; the honest part is that half the piece count is not a knife, and that Shun's free sharpening and lifetime warranty only apply if you buy from an authorized dealer.

Best block with a sharpening service
$449.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Enso HD 7-Piece Birch Block Set

Enso HD 7-Piece Birch Block Set

The only Japanese set we cover where the hardness, the layer count and the edge angle are all published for the set itself: a VG10 core at 61 HRC under 37 hammered Damascus layers, hand-ground to about 12 degrees, made in Seki. Five knives, shears and a six-slot birch block — and the block is full, which is a feature if you are done buying and a limit if you are not.

Best published numbers in a block
$399.99 · View on Amazon

$599.9533% off

Price as of November 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
All-Clad Forged 12-Piece Knife Block Set (K272SC64)

All-Clad Forged 12-Piece Knife Block Set (K272SC64)

The cookware brand's knife line, and a block set that is better specified than most: fully forged X50CrMoV15, cryo-hardened with liquid nitrogen, triple-riveted POM handles with a full tang and an angled end bolster. Twelve pieces means four steak knives and a block are doing a lot of the piece count, and All-Clad publishes no hardness figure for the same steel Wüsthof rates at 58 Rockwell.

Best for furnishing an empty kitchen
$499.99 · View on Amazon

$549.999% off

Price as of November 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Tojiro Classic Damascus 2-Piece Set (F-600-2)

Tojiro Classic Damascus 2-Piece Set (F-600-2)

Two knives, no filler, and the Damascus version of Tojiro's one idea: an 8.25-inch chef's knife and a 4-inch paring knife built around a thick VG-10 cobalt-alloy core, here under 37 forged layers of low- and high-carbon stainless instead of the plain three-layer cladding. The pair lists for less than the same 8.25-inch Damascus chef's knife plus any other Damascus blade in the line bought separately, which is the whole argument for buying it as a set.

Best hard-steel pair
$279.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Wüsthof Classic 2-Piece Chef's Set (Chef + Paring)

Wüsthof Classic 2-Piece Chef's Set (Chef + Paring)

The honest way to buy into Wüsthof: the two knives you use for 90% of prep — an 8-inch chef and a paring knife — instead of a 15-slot block full of blades you'll never touch. Forged German steel, buy the rest later.

Budget pick — every piece is a knife
$225.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best set under $500 overall

MAC Professional Series 3-Piece Set (PRO-31)

The three knives a working kitchen actually uses, all of them from one MAC line: the MTH-80 8-inch dimpled chef's knife, the PKF-50 5-inch dimpled paring knife and the MSB-105 10.5-inch bread and roast slicer. MAC's own page for the PRO-31 names all three by model number. What neither that page nor the listing publishes is a hardness figure, an edge angle or a blade thickness, which is the one thing we hold against it.

Strengths

  • MAC's own page lists the PRO-31 contents model by model, and they match the listing exactly
  • All three knives come from the Professional line, so there is no step down in finish inside the box
  • Includes a long bread and roast slicer, which most Japanese sets leave out
  • Half-bolstered pakkawood handles that still allow sharpening right to the heel of the edge, handcrafted in Seki with a 25-year warranty

Trade-offs

  • No Rockwell figure anywhere on MAC's own site — the listing names the alloys without grading them, a sub-zero tempered alloy on the chef's knife and a stain-resistant molybdenum alloy on the paring knife and slicer
  • This listing publishes neither an edge angle nor a starting thickness, so the two figures MAC's Chef Series listings do give are missing here
  • No santoku, no block, no rod
  • MAC's warranty excludes staining, bent tips and cosmetic chips, and MAC names bones, frozen food, hard squash and nutshells as things not to cut
Blade steelSub-zero tempered alloy (chef's knife); stain-resistant molybdenum alloy (paring knife, slicer)
HardnessNot published
Blade lengthNot published
WeightNot published
Edge geometryNot published
HandlePakkawood, upswept Western, half-bolster
ConstructionStock removal — stamped, then tapered spine to edge

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on October 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best block with a sharpening service

Shun Classic 6-Piece Slim Block Set

Three Shun Classic knives — 8-inch chef's, 7-inch santoku, 3.5-inch paring — plus shears, a combination honing steel and an eight-slot slim block. The knives are the VG-MAX, 68-layer, 16-degree Classics we already rate; the honest part is that half the piece count is not a knife, and that Shun's free sharpening and lifetime warranty only apply if you buy from an authorized dealer.

Strengths

  • VG-MAX core under 68 layers of Damascus cladding, ground to a 16-degree edge each side
  • Three knives that cover the whole board: chef's, santoku and paring
  • Eight-slot block holding five items, so there is room to add knives later
  • Shun sharpens its knives free for as long as you own them, and the warranty is for the life of the original owner

Trade-offs

  • Six pieces, three knives — the shears, the honing steel and the block make up the other half of the count
  • Shun's own site does not list this exact 6-piece configuration, so the contents come from the listing rather than the maker
  • Free sharpening and the lifetime warranty apply to authorized dealers only, which is worth checking before you buy on a marketplace
  • Shun publishes no Rockwell figure on its product pages; the 60-61 HRC is from its own FAQ for the VG-MAX line
Blade steelVG-MAX (stainless)
Hardness~60-61 HRC (Shun FAQ)
Blade lengthNot published
WeightNot published
Edge geometryDouble bevel, 16° per side
HandlePakkawood, D-shape
ConstructionVG-MAX core, 68-layer Damascus cladding

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on September 29, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best published numbers in a block

Enso HD 7-Piece Birch Block Set

The only Japanese set we cover where the hardness, the layer count and the edge angle are all published for the set itself: a VG10 core at 61 HRC under 37 hammered Damascus layers, hand-ground to about 12 degrees, made in Seki. Five knives, shears and a six-slot birch block — and the block is full, which is a feature if you are done buying and a limit if you are not.

Strengths

  • VG10 core at a published 61 HRC, hand-ground to approximately 12 degrees
  • 37-layer hammered (tsuchime) Damascus on every blade, handcrafted in Seki, Japan
  • Five knives that earn their slot plus take-apart shears: 4-inch paring, 6-inch utility, 6.5-inch santoku, 8-inch chef's, 9-inch bread
  • Canvas micarta handles with three rivets keep their grip wet, and the set carries a lifetime warranty

Trade-offs

  • The block has six slots and the set fills all six — there is nowhere to put a knife you add later
  • No honing rod in the box, and a 61 HRC edge wants a fine ceramic rod rather than a grooved steel
  • Hand wash only, and a hard thin edge chips on bone, frozen food and fruit pits
  • Enso is a US-exclusive line through one distributor, so there is no maker's site publishing the set independently
Blade steelVG10 (stainless)
Hardness61 HRC
Blade lengthNot published
WeightNot published
Edge geometryDouble bevel, hand-ground to ~12°
HandleBlack canvas micarta, triple-riveted
ConstructionVG10 core, 37-layer hammered Damascus cladding

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on September 29, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best for furnishing an empty kitchen

All-Clad Forged 12-Piece Knife Block Set (K272SC64)

The cookware brand's knife line, and a block set that is better specified than most: fully forged X50CrMoV15, cryo-hardened with liquid nitrogen, triple-riveted POM handles with a full tang and an angled end bolster. Twelve pieces means four steak knives and a block are doing a lot of the piece count, and All-Clad publishes no hardness figure for the same steel Wüsthof rates at 58 Rockwell.

Strengths

  • Fully forged X50CrMoV15 with a full tang and an angled end bolster — the construction that separates a real knife from a stamped one
  • Cryo-hardened: the retailer spec states the blades are "Treated with liquid nitrogen to enhance rust resistance and maintain sharp-edge retention"
  • The piece count is honest about itself — an 8-inch chef, 8-inch bread, 7-inch santoku, 5-inch serrated utility and 3.5-inch paring, plus four steak knives, a honing steel, shears and an acacia block
  • Limited Lifetime Warranty, and a published set weight (8.2 lbs) that most set listings omit

Trade-offs

  • No Rockwell figure published anywhere we can reach — and this is the same X50CrMoV15 that Wüsthof publishes at 58 HRC, so the gap is a choice rather than a limitation of the steel
  • The published edge figure is "18 and 26°" labeled as TOTAL cutting edge, with no statement of which knife gets which, so it cannot be compared cleanly against a per-side figure
  • Designed in Canonsburg, PA but manufactured in China per the same retailer spec — worth knowing if you read the brand as American-made
  • Four steak knives and a wooden block carry a large share of a 12-piece price; the 3-piece starter set is the better value if you only want knives
Blade steelX50CrMoV15 (German stainless, retailer spec)
HardnessNot published
Blade lengthNot published
WeightNot published
Edge geometry"18 and 26°" total cutting edge (retailer spec; per-knife assignment not published)
HandlePOM, triple-riveted, full tang, angled end bolster
ConstructionFully forged, cryo-hardened with liquid nitrogen (retailer spec)

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on October 27, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best hard-steel pair

Tojiro Classic Damascus 2-Piece Set (F-600-2)

Two knives, no filler, and the Damascus version of Tojiro's one idea: an 8.25-inch chef's knife and a 4-inch paring knife built around a thick VG-10 cobalt-alloy core, here under 37 forged layers of low- and high-carbon stainless instead of the plain three-layer cladding. The pair lists for less than the same 8.25-inch Damascus chef's knife plus any other Damascus blade in the line bought separately, which is the whole argument for buying it as a set.

Strengths

  • A real VG-10 core forged under 37 layers of low- and high-carbon stainless, not a Damascus pattern printed on a blade
  • The two blades most Japanese-knife guides tell you to buy first — a 210 mm chef's knife for the board and a 4-inch paring knife for in-hand work
  • Micarta handle with three stainless rivets and a closed bolster collar, so the blade-to-handle joint that goes grim on a Western knife is sealed
  • Made in Niigata, Japan, and both the listing and the specialist retailer state a lifetime warranty

Trade-offs

  • Tojiro publishes nothing for this set right now — its own English site serves a renewal notice in place of every product page, so the 60 HRC and the F-600-2 model number are both the specialist retailer's figures
  • Neither the listing nor the retailer publishes an edge angle, a blade weight or the component model numbers for the two knives
  • Two knives and nothing else: no block, no honing rod, no sheaths
  • It costs materially more than the three-layer DP pair it replaces, and the extra buys cladding rather than cutting — the core steel is the same VG10 either way
Blade steelVG10 (stainless)
Hardness60 HRC (specialist retailer)
Blade lengthNot published
WeightNot published
Edge geometryDouble bevel
HandleBlack micarta, three stainless rivets, closed bolster collar
ConstructionVG10 core, 37-layer Damascus cladding

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on October 16, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#6Budget pick — every piece is a knife

Wüsthof Classic 2-Piece Chef's Set (Chef + Paring)

The honest way to buy into Wüsthof: the two knives you use for 90% of prep — an 8-inch chef and a paring knife — instead of a 15-slot block full of blades you'll never touch. Forged German steel, buy the rest later.

Strengths

  • Just the chef's knife and paring knife you'll actually use daily
  • Fully forged, full-tang X50CrMoV15 at ~58 HRC
  • Add pieces individually as you need them, rather than paying for filler

Trade-offs

  • No block or storage included
  • Costs more than some full budget blocks — you're paying for two real knives
Blade steelX50CrMoV15 (stainless)
Hardness~58 HRC
Blade lengthNot published
WeightNot published
Edge geometryNot published
HandlePOM, triple-riveted
ConstructionForged, full tang, bolstered

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Count the blades, not the pieces

Run the arithmetic before you compare prices, because it reorders the field completely:

  • MAC Professional PRO-31:three pieces, three knives — chef’s, paring and a 10.5-inch bread and roast slicer. No filler and no block.
  • Shun Classic six-piece slim block:six pieces, three knives. The shears, the combination honing steel and the eight-slot block make up the other half — and the block has room for two more knives, which the Enso does not.
  • Enso HD seven-piece: seven pieces, five knives plus take-apart shears and a six-slot birch block that the set fills exactly. Nowhere to put anything you add later.
  • All-Clad Forged twelve-piece: twelve pieces, five kitchen knives, four steak knives, a honing steel, shears and an acacia block.
  • Tojiro DP and Wüsthof Classic two-pieces: two pieces, two knives, no storage.

What this band buys that $200 does not

Three things, in descending order of how much they matter.

Hard steel in every blade.Under $200 a set is forged German stainless at best, and often a stamped block. Here the Japanese sets bring a VG10 or VG-MAX core at 60–61 HRC to the whole box, and Enso publishes a hand-ground ~12° edge for the HD line, which is the most acute figure any set maker on this site states. The tier below is on best knife sets under $200.

A service behind the knives.Shun sharpens its knives free for as long as you own them and warrants them for the life of the original owner — both conditional on buying from an authorized dealer, which is worth checking on any marketplace listing. MAC carries a 25-year warranty with named exclusions. Those promises are worth real money across a decade and are invisible on a spec sheet.

Consistency inside the box.The cheap-set failure mode is a good chef’s knife and five pieces of block filler. At this price the MAC, Enso, Shun and Tojiro sets are single-line throughout: same steel, same handle, same finish on every blade, so one stone session covers the whole set.

Block or no block

A block is the most expensive piece of wood in your kitchen, and it decides what you are allowed to buy next. Two rules we would apply:

Count the empty slots.The Shun block holds five items in eight slots — room to add a nakiri and a petty later. The Enso block holds six in six, so it is finished on day one. If you expect your taste to develop, that difference is bigger than the price gap.

Know what the wood costs you. On the twelve-piece All-Clad, a block and four steak knives carry a large share of the price, which is why its own three-piece essential set is the better value if what you want is knives. A magnetic strip or an in-drawer tray stores knives just as safely for a fraction of it, and keeps the edges off a tight wooden slot.

The published-numbers scoreboard

Because it is the reason to buy one of these rather than another: Ensopublishes core steel, 61 HRC, 37 layers and a ~12° edge for the line. Shunpublishes VG-MAX, a 16° per-side edge and 68 layers, with the 60–61 HRC coming from its own FAQ rather than the product page. Wüsthof publishes 58 Rockwell for forged blades. Tojiro’s hardness comes from the specialist retailer, attributed as such.

And two gaps worth naming out loud. MAC— our top pick — publishes no Rockwell figure, no edge angle and no thickness for the PRO-31 anywhere on its own site; it wins on contents and construction, not on disclosure. All-Cladpublishes no hardness figure for the same X50CrMoV15 that Wüsthof rates at 58 HRC, and its “18 and 26°” total-cutting-edge claim does not say which knife gets which. The full working of that is in our All-Clad Forged set review, and the hardness context is in the knife hardness chart.

Our honest alternative to all six

Buy one excellent chef’s knife, one paring knife, a whetstone and a rod, and put the rest of the $500 back in your pocket. That is the recommendation this site has made since launch and this band does not change it — most sets still sell you storage and steak knives, and nobody has ever improved their cooking with a fourth knife they do not use. If you want the single-knife route, start at best chef knives under $200 and add a stone.

Buy a set anyway if the box is genuinely all knives you will use (the MAC and both two-pieces pass that test), if you are furnishing an empty kitchen in one purchase, or if it is a gift and the block is part of the present. Those are good reasons. “Twelve pieces” is not one.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best knife set under $500?

The MAC Professional PRO-31 three-piece: an 8-inch chef's knife, a 5-inch paring knife and a 10.5-inch bread and roast slicer, all from one line, with MAC's own page naming each by model number. Every piece is a knife you will use. If you want a block with a sharpening service behind it, the Shun Classic six-piece slim block is the alternative; if you want the best-documented set, the Enso HD seven-piece publishes 61 HRC and a ~12-degree edge.

Is a knife set worth it, or should I buy knives individually?

Individually, for most people. A good chef's knife and a paring knife cover roughly ninety percent of home prep, and a set's price usually includes storage and steak knives rather than more capability. A set is worth it in three cases: every piece in the box is genuinely a knife you will use, you are furnishing an empty kitchen in one purchase, or it is a gift where the block is part of the present.

How many pieces do I actually need in a knife set?

Three knives: an 8-inch chef's knife, a paring knife and a long serrated bread knife. That is exactly the MAC PRO-31's contents and it is not a coincidence — it is the standard working trio. A santoku or nakiri is a fourth worth adding if you do a lot of vegetables; steak knives are a dinner-table purchase rather than a prep one, and a honing rod matters more than either.

Does the number of pieces mean the number of knives?

No, and this is the single most important thing to check before you buy. A six-piece Shun Classic block set contains three knives plus shears, a honing steel and the block. A twelve-piece All-Clad set contains five kitchen knives, four steak knives, a rod, shears and a block. Both list their contents honestly, but the number on the box counts everything in it, so always read the itemized list.

Japanese or German set at this price?

Japanese if you push-cut, cook mostly vegetables, fish and boneless meat, and will use a whetstone — the VG10 and VG-MAX sets here bring a 60-61 HRC core to every blade in the box. German if you rock-chop, occasionally hit a joint or a squash, and would rather hone for ten seconds than sharpen for ten minutes. Hardness buys edge retention; the softer German steel buys forgiveness.

Should I pay extra for the block?

Only if you will use it, and then count its slots. A block is the most expensive piece of wood in a kitchen and it caps what you can add later: the Shun slim block holds five items in eight slots, while the Enso block is full on day one. A magnetic wall strip or an in-drawer tray protects edges just as well for a fraction of the cost, and is kinder to a thin Japanese edge than a tight wooden slot.

Sources

  • Professional Series Set 3 PCS (PRO-31) — MAC Knife — MAC's own page for the PRO-31 set, which itemizes it model by model: it 'Includes the best seller MTH-80 Pro Chef's Knife 8" with Dimples, PKF-50 Pro Paring Knife 5"' and 'the MSB-105 Pro Bread/Roast Slicer' — so all three knives are Professional series, unlike the CHEF-32 it replaced. MAC's MSRP on this page is $435.00, the same figure the live Amazon listing showed on the access date. As with every other MAC set page, it publishes NO steel grade, NO Rockwell hardness, NO edge angle and NO blade thickness. One figure on the page is inconsistent with MAC's own catalogue and we do not use it: the set page writes the slicer as 10 1/4 inch, while MAC's own product page for the same knife is titled 'Professional Series 10 1/2" Bread/Roast Slicer (MSB-105)' and the Amazon listing gives 10.5 inch — so 10.5 inch is the length this site states (accessed October 31, 2026)
  • Warranty Information — MAC Knife — MAC's own warranty terms: '25 years from the date of purchase' against 'defects in the materials or workmanship of our products'. The exclusions are explicit — 'accidental or incidental damage including broken or bent tips', 'staining or corrosion to the blade' and 'cosmetic scratches, chips, or dents to the handle or blade that occur during normal use'. MAC names the foods to keep off the edge: 'frozen items, bones, shellfish shells, hard squashes, hard cheeses, nut shells, blocks of chocolate, etc.' The warranty is 'non-transferable and is valid only to the original purchaser' (accessed September 29, 2026)
  • Classic 2-Piece Starter Set (DMS0220) — Shun Cutlery (Kai USA) — Shun's own page for the set names both knives — the 'Classic 8" Chef's Knife' (DM0706) and the 'Classic 3.5" Paring Knife' (DM0700) — and publishes the blade spec for them: 'VG–MAX' steel in a '69 layer Damascus' blade described as '34 layers of stainless Damascus cladding each side (68 total)', a 'razor-sharp, long-lasting 16° edge each side', 'D-shaped ebony-finished Pakkawood handles' on a 'full composite tang', 'Handcrafted in Japan' and a 'Limited Lifetime Warranty'. NO Rockwell hardness figure appears on the set page (accessed September 29, 2026)
  • Sharpening Service — Shun Cutlery (Kai USA) — Shun's own terms for the service: 'We will sharpen your Shun cutlery for free, for as long as you own it.' You pay 'shipping and processing' at '$15 for US, $25 for Mexico & Canada', 'Estimated turnaround time for mail-in warranty and sharpening services is 2 weeks', and 'Free sharpening services apply to purchases made through authorized dealers only' (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Enso Knives — Japanese Crafted HD, Hizashi, SG2, Hachi (Cutlery and More) — Published Enso HD line spec: 'VG10 stainless steel core. 61 Rockwell.', '37-layer Damascus with a hammered tsuchime finish', a triple-riveted canvas micarta handle, made in Seki, Japan (accessed August 18, 2026)
  • All-Clad - Forged Knives 12 Pcs Knife Block Set - K272SC64 — ChefSupplies.ca — The only complete published specification we could reach for the All-Clad Forged line — All-Clad's own US site serves no reachable spec page for it. For model 'ALL-K272SC64' the page publishes: 'Blades are made from X50CrMoV15 stainless steel, known for its rust resistance and durability'; 'Cryo-Hardened Blades: Treated with liquid nitrogen to enhance rust resistance and maintain sharp-edge retention'; a spec row reading '18 and 26°' under Total Cutting Edge, with the features list repeating 'Features an 18° and 26° total cutting edge' and NO statement of which knives carry which figure or whether the angle is inclusive or per side; 'Fade-resistant, triple-riveted POM handles with a full tang and angled end bolster'; contents itemized as an 8" chef's knife, 8" bread knife, 7" santoku, 5" serrated utility, 3.5" paring knife, four 5" steak knives, a honing steel, pull-apart kitchen shears and an acacia wood block; a set weight of '8.2 lbs'; All-Clad's 'Limited Lifetime Warranty'; and the origin — 'Designed in Canonsburg, PA: While designed in the USA, the set is manufactured in China'. NO Rockwell hardness figure and NO dishwasher guidance appear anywhere on the page (accessed October 27, 2026)
  • The Difference Between WÜSTHOF Forged and Stamped Kitchen Knives — WÜSTHOF — Wüsthof's own account of both processes: forged blades start as a single piece of steel heated to over 2000°F and take 'over fifty-four manufacturing steps', hardened to '58 Rockwell'; non-forged blades are 'cut from a high-quality steel sheet using a precision laser' in 'thirty-five manufacturing steps' and run 'between 55 and 57 Rockwell' (accessed August 18, 2026)
  • Tojiro Classic Damascus 2 Piece Knife Set — Cutlery and More — Specialist retailer's published spec for the set Amazon sells as the 'Tojiro DP Classic Damascus 2 Piece Knife Set': contents a '4" Paring Knife' and an '8.25" Chef's Knife', model 'F-600-2', '60 Rockwell Hardness', a '37-layer stainless steel Damascus with VG10 core' built on a 'VG-10 premium cobalt alloy steel' core, 'Black micarta with stainless steel rivets and bolster' with a 'closed bolster collar', 'Made in Niigata, Japan' and a 'Lifetime Warranty'. The retailer's companion listing for the 8.25-inch knife alone gives it as model 'F-655', '8.25" (210mm)'. This is the ONLY published hardness figure and the ONLY model number for the set — Tojiro's own site publishes neither right now (accessed October 16, 2026)

Per-knife specs (steel, HRC, blade length, geometry) are read from each maker’s spec sheet or product listing and dated on the individual review cards above. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure — we flag it rather than guess.

Keep reading