Gyuto Club

The Best Damascus Knives

Six Damascus-clad kitchen knives compared on the core steel underneath the pattern — because the cladding is finish and the core is the knife.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The Shun Classic 8-inch is the Damascus knife to buy — a VG-MAX core at a published ~60–61 HRC under 34 layers of cladding, in the shape and the size most people actually want, from the maker with the most reachable published spec. It is for the cook who wants one good knife that looks like a good knife. If you want the pattern for less, the budget pick is the Shun Classic 7-inch santoku — the cheapest genuinely Damascus-clad main knife on this page, same core steel, shorter blade. And if you want the hardest published core here rather than the most famous one, the Enso HD bunka states 61 HRC on a VG10 core.

One thing to be clear about before you spend the money: on a modern kitchen knife, Damascus is cladding. The visible pattern is layers of soft stainless forge-welded around a single hard core steel, and the core is the only part that reaches the edge. That means two knives with the same core at the same hardness cut much the same, whether one of them has 34 pretty layers and the other has a plain three-layer jacket. The pattern buys you looks, a little corrosion protection on the flats, and on the hammered (tsuchime) finishes a real but modest reduction in food sticking. It does not buy you a better edge.

So this page ranks on what is under the pattern: the core alloy, the hardness figure the maker is willing to print, the blade length in millimeters, and the edge angle where anyone states one. We own none of these knives and we do not claim to have cut with them — we compile what each maker publishes, cite where we read it, and mark the blanks Not published. Two makers on this page decline to state a hardness for the model listed. Our methodology page sets out exactly what that means, and Damascus steel explained is the long version of the argument above.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which knife we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on steel, hardness, geometry and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not cut with every one of these — here is exactly how we compared them instead.

#KnifeBest forPrice
1
Shun Classic 8-inch Chef's Knife

Shun Classic 8-inch Chef's Knife

The knife most people picture when they think 'nice Japanese knife': a VG-MAX core at ~61 HRC under 34 layers of Damascus cladding, with a slim D-shaped handle. You pay for the finish, but the steel is genuinely hard.

Best Damascus knife overall
$140.14 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Miyabi Kaizen II 8-inch Chef's Knife

Miyabi Kaizen II 8-inch Chef's Knife

Miyabi is Zwilling's Japan-made line, and the Kaizen II pairs an FC61 core at ~60 HRC with a 48-layer Damascus jacket and a comfortable D-handle. A polished alternative to the Shun Classic at a similar price.

Best published edge angle
$168.45 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Miyabi Kaizen II 6.5-inch Bunka

Miyabi Kaizen II 6.5-inch Bunka

The same FC61 core, 48-layer Damascus and hand-honed edge as the Kaizen II chef's knife, in the shorter bunka shape. If you already wanted a Kaizen II and prefer a flat edge with a tall tip, this is the one to buy.

Best Damascus for a k-tip
$184.50 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Shun Classic 6.5-inch Nakiri (DM0728)

Shun Classic 6.5-inch Nakiri (DM0728)

The nakiri most people end up buying, and a fair default: VG-MAX core, Damascus cladding, and a genuinely flat 165 mm edge that meets the board along its whole length. Buy it if you want one vegetable knife and you want it to be nice.

Best Damascus for vegetables
$189.07 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Tojiro Classic Damascus 2-Piece Set (F-600-2)

Tojiro Classic Damascus 2-Piece Set (F-600-2)

Two knives, no filler, and the Damascus version of Tojiro's one idea: an 8.25-inch chef's knife and a 4-inch paring knife built around a thick VG-10 cobalt-alloy core, here under 37 forged layers of low- and high-carbon stainless instead of the plain three-layer cladding. The pair lists for less than the same 8.25-inch Damascus chef's knife plus any other Damascus blade in the line bought separately, which is the whole argument for buying it as a set.

Best Damascus pair
$279.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Shun Classic 7-inch Santoku

Shun Classic 7-inch Santoku

The Classic line's santoku: the same VG-MAX core and Damascus cladding as Shun's 8-inch chef's knife, in the shorter, flatter shape. If you already wanted a Shun and you push-cut more than you rock, buy this instead of the chef's knife.

Budget pick — cheapest Damascus-clad main knife
$124.99 · View on Amazon

$139.9911% off

Price as of November 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best Damascus knife overall

Shun Classic 8-inch Chef's Knife

The knife most people picture when they think 'nice Japanese knife': a VG-MAX core at ~61 HRC under 34 layers of Damascus cladding, with a slim D-shaped handle. You pay for the finish, but the steel is genuinely hard.

Strengths

  • VG-MAX core at ~60-61 HRC — one of the harder mainstream stainless edges
  • 16° per-side edge is keener than any German knife out of the box
  • Damascus cladding and the pakkawood D-handle feel like the price

Trade-offs

  • The D-handle is shaped for right hands (a lefty version exists separately)
  • A hard, thin edge chips if you twist it through bone or frozen food
Blade steelVG-MAX (stainless)
Hardness~60-61 HRC
Blade length203 mm
WeightNot published
Edge geometryDouble bevel, ~16° per side
HandlePakkawood, D-shape
ConstructionVG-MAX core, 34-layer Damascus cladding

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best published edge angle

Miyabi Kaizen II 8-inch Chef's Knife

Miyabi is Zwilling's Japan-made line, and the Kaizen II pairs an FC61 core at ~60 HRC with a 48-layer Damascus jacket and a comfortable D-handle. A polished alternative to the Shun Classic at a similar price.

Strengths

  • FC61 core at ~60 HRC with a hand-honed, keen factory edge
  • 48-layer Damascus and a birch pakkawood D-handle
  • Made in Seki, Japan by Zwilling's Miyabi workshop

Trade-offs

  • Premium price, same as the other boutique Damascus knives
  • D-handle again favors right-handed use
Blade steelFC61 (fine-carbide stainless)
Hardness~60 HRC
Blade length200 mm
WeightNot published
Edge geometryDouble bevel, ~9.5-12° per side
HandleBirch pakkawood, D-shape
ConstructionFC61 core, 48-layer Damascus cladding

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best Damascus for a k-tip

Miyabi Kaizen II 6.5-inch Bunka

The same FC61 core, 48-layer Damascus and hand-honed edge as the Kaizen II chef's knife, in the shorter bunka shape. If you already wanted a Kaizen II and prefer a flat edge with a tall tip, this is the one to buy.

Strengths

  • FC61 core at ~60 HRC with the line's hand-honed 9.5-12° per side edge
  • 48-layer Damascus and the rounded birch pakkawood D-handle
  • Made in Seki by Zwilling's Miyabi workshop, with the line's warranty behind it

Trade-offs

  • Boutique pricing for a knife that overlaps a gyuto you may already own
  • D-handle is shaped for right hands
Blade steelFC61 (fine-carbide stainless)
Hardness~60 HRC
Blade length165 mm
WeightNot published
Edge geometryDouble bevel, ~9.5-12° per side
HandleBirch pakkawood, D-shape
ConstructionFC61 core, 48-layer Damascus cladding

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on August 18, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best Damascus for vegetables

Shun Classic 6.5-inch Nakiri (DM0728)

The nakiri most people end up buying, and a fair default: VG-MAX core, Damascus cladding, and a genuinely flat 165 mm edge that meets the board along its whole length. Buy it if you want one vegetable knife and you want it to be nice.

Strengths

  • Truly flat edge — full-length board contact, so no uncut hinge at the end of a chop
  • VG-MAX core takes a very keen edge for push-cutting
  • Tall blade doubles as a scoop for moving prep off the board

Trade-offs

  • No tip worth speaking of — this cannot replace a chef's knife
  • Premium price for a knife that only does one job
  • At Shun's published 215 g it is heavier than Shun's own 8-inch chef's knife
Blade steelVG-MAX (stainless)
Hardness~60-61 HRC (Shun's FAQ, not the product page)
Blade length165 mm
Weight215 g
Edge geometryDouble bevel, 16° per side
HandleEbony-color Pakkawood, D-shape
ConstructionVG-MAX core, 34-layer Damascus cladding each side (69 total)

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best Damascus pair

Tojiro Classic Damascus 2-Piece Set (F-600-2)

Two knives, no filler, and the Damascus version of Tojiro's one idea: an 8.25-inch chef's knife and a 4-inch paring knife built around a thick VG-10 cobalt-alloy core, here under 37 forged layers of low- and high-carbon stainless instead of the plain three-layer cladding. The pair lists for less than the same 8.25-inch Damascus chef's knife plus any other Damascus blade in the line bought separately, which is the whole argument for buying it as a set.

Strengths

  • A real VG-10 core forged under 37 layers of low- and high-carbon stainless, not a Damascus pattern printed on a blade
  • The two blades most Japanese-knife guides tell you to buy first — a 210 mm chef's knife for the board and a 4-inch paring knife for in-hand work
  • Micarta handle with three stainless rivets and a closed bolster collar, so the blade-to-handle joint that goes grim on a Western knife is sealed
  • Made in Niigata, Japan, and both the listing and the specialist retailer state a lifetime warranty

Trade-offs

  • Tojiro publishes nothing for this set right now — its own English site serves a renewal notice in place of every product page, so the 60 HRC and the F-600-2 model number are both the specialist retailer's figures
  • Neither the listing nor the retailer publishes an edge angle, a blade weight or the component model numbers for the two knives
  • Two knives and nothing else: no block, no honing rod, no sheaths
  • It costs materially more than the three-layer DP pair it replaces, and the extra buys cladding rather than cutting — the core steel is the same VG10 either way
Blade steelVG10 (stainless)
Hardness60 HRC (specialist retailer)
Blade lengthNot published
WeightNot published
Edge geometryDouble bevel
HandleBlack micarta, three stainless rivets, closed bolster collar
ConstructionVG10 core, 37-layer Damascus cladding

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on October 16, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#6Budget pick — cheapest Damascus-clad main knife

Shun Classic 7-inch Santoku

The Classic line's santoku: the same VG-MAX core and Damascus cladding as Shun's 8-inch chef's knife, in the shorter, flatter shape. If you already wanted a Shun and you push-cut more than you rock, buy this instead of the chef's knife.

Strengths

  • VG-MAX core — the hardest mainstream stainless in this roundup
  • Damascus cladding and pakkawood D-handle match the rest of the Classic line
  • Flat 7-inch profile is genuinely suited to push-cutting, not a shortened chef's knife

Trade-offs

  • Costs three to four times the Mercer for a shape you use the same way
  • D-handle is contoured for right hands; the hard edge chips if you twist it
Blade steelVG-MAX (stainless)
HardnessNot published
Blade length178 mm
WeightNot published
Edge geometryNot published
HandlePakkawood, D-shape
ConstructionVG-MAX core, Damascus stainless cladding

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on August 10, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

What the layer count actually tells you

Makers quote layers in two different ways, which is why the numbers look inconsistent. Shun describes the Classic as 34 layers of cladding per side— so the same knife is also, legitimately, advertised as 69 layers in total. Miyabi quotes 48 on the Kaizen II. Yoshihiro quotes 46 on its hammered nakiri, Enso 37 on the HD line. None of those numbers is a performance figure. More layers mean a finer, busier pattern and more forge-welding passes; they do not mean a harder edge, a thinner grind or a longer-lasting knife.

The figure that does matter is the one some makers bury: the core. VG-MAX (Shun), VG10 (Tojiro, Enso, Yoshihiro) and FC61 (Miyabi) all land around 60–61 HRC, which is genuinely hard — several points above a German knife and enough to hold a keen edge through weeks of home prep. Our steel and hardness guide puts those alloys side by side, and FC61 vs VG10 takes the two most common cores here head to head.

Hammered or mirror-polished

There are two Damascus finishes on this page and the difference is practical, not decorative. A tsuchime(hammered) face — the Enso HD, the Yoshihiro nakiri, the Tojiro pair — has dimpled hollows across the flats, which break the suction that makes a wet potato slice cling to steel. It is the same mechanism as a granton edge, and like a granton edge it helps modestly and consistently. A mirror-polished Damascus face — the Shun Classic, the Miyabi Kaizen II — looks more expensive and sticks more. Neither affects sharpness.

The second practical difference is handle. The Shun and Miyabi knives here use a contoured D-shaped handle, which is comfortable if it fits your hand and shaped for right-handed use; Yoshihiro fits an octagonal wa handle; Tojiro and Enso fit symmetrical Western handles that work either way. If you are left-handed, that is the single most important line on this page — left-handed Japanese knives covers what is and is not available.

What we left out, and why

Amazon is full of $40–$70 “Damascus” chef knives with a hammered face, a swirl pattern and no stated core alloy or hardness anywhere in the listing. We do not rank them, for a specific reason: at that price the pattern is often a surface etch or a three-layer San-Mai marketed as Damascus rather than a multi-layer clad billet. The honest version of that knife is in our registry — the Mitsumoto Sakari gyuto, which describes itself accurately as a three-layer San-Mai with a hammered finish and a 9Cr18MoV core, and which is covered on best Japanese chef knives. If you want the look for under $100, buy that and know what it is.

Two genuine Damascus knives are also missing from the table above because they are ranked on a page that fits them better: the Yoshihiro VG-10 46-layer hammered nakiri and the 16-layer hammered sujihiki are both on best VG10 knives, where the one-steel comparison is the useful one. And the cheapest Damascus-clad item we list of any kind is the Shun Classic 6-inch utility knife — a second knife rather than a main one, which is why the santoku takes the budget slot here. It is on best petty knives.

Living with a Damascus knife

Three rules, all of them consequences of the hard core rather than of the pattern. No dishwasher, ever: the heat and the detergent attack the cladding’s polish and the handle, and a 60 HRC edge knocking against a rack chips. No ribbed steel rod— a grooved honing steel is too aggressive for this hardness and can micro-chip the edge; use a fine ceramic rod between sessions if you want a refresh, which is the argument in do Japanese knives need honing. And sharpen on a stone, at the maker’s angle where one is published.

Sharpening a clad knife worries people more than it should. You only ever abrade the core at the very edge; the pattern sits above the bevel and is not touched by normal sharpening, so the knife does not “lose its Damascus” over years of stone work. The one thing that does ruin the look is a belt sharpener or a coarse pull-through taken up the flats. The full walkthrough is in sharpening a Damascus knife, and the stones we would actually buy for a 60 HRC core are on best sharpeners for Japanese knives.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best Damascus knife?

The Shun Classic 8-inch chef's knife is our overall pick: a VG-MAX core at a published ~60-61 HRC under 34 layers of cladding per side, a 16-degree-per-side factory edge, and the 203 mm length that suits most kitchens. The Miyabi Kaizen II is the alternative if you want a rounder handle and the most acute published edge angle here (~9.5-12 degrees per side). The cheapest Damascus-clad main knife we list is the Shun Classic 7-inch santoku.

Is a Damascus knife actually better?

Not at cutting, no. On a modern kitchen knife the Damascus is cladding: soft stainless layers forge-welded around one hard core steel, and only the core reaches the edge. A plain stainless-clad knife with the same core at the same hardness cuts the same way. What the pattern genuinely buys is appearance, a little corrosion resistance on the flats, and — on hammered finishes only — slightly better food release. Buy it because you like looking at it.

Do more Damascus layers mean a better knife?

No. Layer counts describe the cladding, not the cutting edge, and makers even count them differently — Shun's 34 layers per side is the same knife as '69 layers total'. A 48-layer Miyabi and a 37-layer Enso are not two steps apart in quality; they are two different core alloys at almost the same hardness. Judge the core steel and the published HRC, and treat the layer count as a description of the pattern.

Will sharpening ruin the Damascus pattern?

Normal stone sharpening will not. You abrade only the core steel at the very edge, and the pattern sits above the bevel where the stone never reaches. What does damage the look is anything that touches the flats — a belt sharpener, a coarse pull-through dragged up the blade, or aggressive polishing compound. Sharpen at the maker's angle on a stone and the pattern will outlive you.

Why are cheap Damascus knives so cheap?

Because the pattern can be faked or simplified. Below roughly $100 a 'Damascus' kitchen knife is often a three-layer San-Mai blade with a hammered or etched face rather than a multi-layer clad billet, and the listing usually names no core alloy and no hardness figure. That is not automatically a bad knife — but it is not the same object, and with no stated steel there is nothing to compare.

Can a Damascus knife go in the dishwasher?

No, and this is the one rule worth being strict about. Dishwasher heat and detergent attack the cladding's polish and the pakkawood or micarta handle, and a 60 HRC edge chips when it knocks against the rack. Every maker on this page says hand wash and dry immediately; Yoshihiro names the dishwasher specifically as the thing to keep the knife out of.

Sources

  • Japanese kitchen knife — Wikipedia — Reference on gyuto/santoku/nakiri, single- vs double-bevel (kataba/ryoba) and edge angles (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Rockwell hardness test — Wikipedia — Definition of the Rockwell C (HRC) scale used to state knife-steel hardness (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Shun Classic 8-inch Chef's Knife — Shun Cutlery (Kai USA) — Shun's published spec for the knife itself: a 'VG-MAX' core in '69 layer Damascus' — described as '34 layers of stainless Damascus cladding each side (68 total)' — a '16 degree edge each side', an '8 in. (203mm)' blade, '6.7 oz (190 g)', an ebony-color Pakkawood D-shaped handle, 'Handcrafted in Seki City, Japan' and a 'Limited Lifetime Warranty'. No Rockwell figure appears on the product page (accessed August 28, 2026)
  • MIYABI Kaizen II 5000FCD 8-inch Chef's Knife — ZWILLING — Zwilling's published spec for the line: an 'FC61' core with fine carbide distribution at '60-62 HRC', '48 layers of stainless steel' Damascus over the core (49 total), an edge 'hand-honed using the historic Honbazuke method to an exceptionally sharp 9.5 to 12 degrees', a 'double ice-hardened FRIODUR' blade, a 'thicker and rounded bolster for increased comfort and balance', a black Pakkawood D-shaped handle, a 7.87 in blade at 0.44 lbs, handcrafted in Seki, Japan (accessed August 28, 2026)
  • Shun Knives FAQ — Shun Cutlery (Kai USA) — Shun's own answers: 'Shun hardens VG10 and VG-Max steel to 60-61 Rockwell and SG2 to 61-62', 'Shun knives, for example, are sharpened to a 16 degree angle on each side of the blade', and on rods, 'Please do not use a diamond steel for regular honing. Diamond steels are for sharpening and will remove metal from your knife before it is necessary' (accessed August 28, 2026)
  • Enso Knives — Japanese Crafted HD, Hizashi, SG2, Hachi (Cutlery and More) — Published Enso HD line spec: 'VG10 stainless steel core. 61 Rockwell.', '37-layer Damascus with a hammered tsuchime finish', a triple-riveted canvas micarta handle, made in Seki, Japan (accessed August 18, 2026)
  • Tojiro Classic Damascus 2 Piece Knife Set — Cutlery and More — Specialist retailer's published spec for the set Amazon sells as the 'Tojiro DP Classic Damascus 2 Piece Knife Set': contents a '4" Paring Knife' and an '8.25" Chef's Knife', model 'F-600-2', '60 Rockwell Hardness', a '37-layer stainless steel Damascus with VG10 core' built on a 'VG-10 premium cobalt alloy steel' core, 'Black micarta with stainless steel rivets and bolster' with a 'closed bolster collar', 'Made in Niigata, Japan' and a 'Lifetime Warranty'. The retailer's companion listing for the 8.25-inch knife alone gives it as model 'F-655', '8.25" (210mm)'. This is the ONLY published hardness figure and the ONLY model number for the set — Tojiro's own site publishes neither right now (accessed October 16, 2026)

Per-knife specs (steel, HRC, blade length, geometry) are read from each maker’s spec sheet or product listing and dated on the individual review cards above. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure — we flag it rather than guess.

Keep reading