Gyuto Club

Wüsthof Easy Edge Review

The electric that flexes to the blade instead of forcing a shape onto it — three one-touch belt stages, a published 14-degree standard angle, and the Asian-blade guide a Japanese knife needs sold as an extra.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which knife we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Short version: the Easy Edge is the electric sharpener that behaves least like an electric sharpener. Instead of dragging a blade through fixed abrasive slots, it runs flexible grinding beltsagainst the edge, so the abrasive bends to follow the blade’s own curve. Three one-touch programs replace the rod, the stone and the strop. It is made in the USA, it costs what a decent combination whetstone plus a good rod costs several times over, and the one thing a Japanese-knife owner needs from it — the 10° Asian blade guide — is sold separately.

That last point is the reason this review exists on a site mostly about Japanese knives. Everything else about the machine is better-judged than its competitors; the thing it asks you to buy twice is the thing that matters most here.

What the belts actually change

Every fixed-slot electric sharpener works the same way: two rigid abrasive wheels are held at a set angle, you pull the blade between them, and whatever geometry the knife arrived with is converted to the machine’s. It is fast and it is consistent, and it is also why a lot of good knives come out of a lot of kitchen drawers with a bevel nobody chose.

A belt is different in one specific way. Because the abrasive is flexible, it conforms along the length of the blade — the curve from heel to tip, the belly, the taper into the tip. Wüsthof describes the machine as having “three stages for the honing, sharpening and fine polishing of blades, replacing coarse sharpening steels, fine whetstones and finishing with leather and polish,” and the published feature list is short and unusually concrete: “Flexible grinding belts,” “Integrated dust suction,” “Interchangeable angle guide,” “Replaceable PEtec blade guide,” “Intelligent ‘One Touch’ program control” and an “Anti-slip rubber base.”

Be precise about what flexing does and does not buy you, because the marketing is not. The belt follows the blade’s profile. The bevel angleis still set by a rigid guide, exactly as on any other machine. So the Easy Edge is gentler about your blade’s shape and no more permissive about its angle.

The angle, and the guide that is not in the box

Wüsthof publishes no sharpening angle on the Easy Edge product page at all — no degrees, and no wattage or weight either. The figures live in its FAQ: “Our sharpening angle for standard blades is 14˚ per side, and for Asian-style blades (Santokus, Nakiris) is 10˚ per side.” The same answer recommends “using the same brand sharpener as your knife collection, to ensure that the material used is the correct hardness for the steel on your knives” — which is both self-serving and a real point about matching abrasive to steel.

The Easy Edge ships with the standard guide. Getting the Asian one means buying the Upgrade Set (7918), whose own page states the position plainly: “Asian blades need to be sharpened at a different angle to European ones and therefore require this Asian blade guide, which can be set up in just a few simple steps.” So Wüsthof’s claim that “Asian knives can also be sharpened with the Electric Knife Sharpener” is true, with an asterisk it does not print next to the claim.

Now the part that matters if your knives are Japanese. Shun grinds its Classic line to 16° each sideand hardens VG-MAX to “60-61 Rockwell” — both figures from Shun’s own FAQ. Put that knife on the standard 14° guide and you are not maintaining it, you are reprofiling it two degrees thinner. Put it on the 10° Asian guide and you are reprofiling it six degrees thinner, which means a lot of metal removed and a more fragile edge at the end of it. Neither is a disaster; neither is maintenance. The angle guide covers what reprofiling costs, and sharpeners for Japanese knives is where to look if that is your drawer.

On Wüsthof’s own knives the arithmetic is the opposite and the machine makes total sense: Wüsthof publishes 58 Rockwell for its forged blades and grinds them to the same 14° the standard guide holds. Machine and knife were designed to the same number, which is as close to a matched pair as this category gets.

Three buttons, and the cadence behind them

The one-touch control is the best-designed thing here. The live listing publishes what each program is for: “Use the Shape button if your knife is very dull or has damage to repair”, “The Sharpen button exposes a fresh cutting edge, monthly,” and “Use Refine to maintain your edge weekly.”

That maps cleanly onto the three things a sharpening kit does — coarse repair, edge setting, finishing — which is exactly how Wüsthof frames it on its own page. For someone who has never worked out whether their knife needs a rod or a stone, having the machine make that call is genuinely the feature.

Our one reservation is the cadence. Refine weekly and Sharpen monthly is a lot of abrasive contact for a knife that is only getting dull from cutting food. Every motorized pass removes steel you do not get back, and twelve Sharpen cycles a year is a measurable amount of blade over the life of a knife. A kitchen-realistic routine: Refine when the knife starts dragging on a tomato skin, Sharpen only when Refine stops bringing it back, Shape only after real damage. Our page on how often to sharpen a knife sets out how to tell the difference, and how to test knife sharpness is the ten-second check that should decide it rather than the calendar.

What Wüsthof does not publish

Three gaps, and the first is the one we would most like closed.

No belt grit for the belts in the box. Nowhere on the product page. The only grits Wüsthof publishes anywhere for this system are on the Upgrade Set page: “1 x coarse / 120ZA, 2 x medium / 120, 1 x fine / X30 AO, 1 x ultra-fine / X4 AO.” Those are the upgradebelts. We are not going to quietly present them as the machine’s own, so the specification table below records the included grits as not published.

No angle on the product page. You have to go to the FAQ for the 14° and 10° figures, which is a strange place to keep the single most important number about a sharpener.

No wattage and no weight. The listing gives the footprint — “7 x 4.5 x 5" tall” — and Wüsthof gives the origin, “USA.” Beyond that the machine’s own numbers are absent.

What Wüsthof publishes for the Easy Edge, and what it does not
 Published figure
AbrasiveFlexible grinding belts
Belt grit (included set)Not published
Belt grit (Upgrade Set 7918)120ZA coarse, 120 medium x2, X30 AO fine, X4 AO ultra-fine
StagesThree — Shape, Sharpen, Refine
Published cadenceRefine weekly, Sharpen monthly
Standard angle14° per side (Wüsthof FAQ, not the product page)
Asian-blade angle10° per side — guide sold separately in the Upgrade Set
Dust handlingIntegrated dust suction
Footprint7 x 4.5 x 5" tall (listing)
Country of originUSA
Warranty3 years (listing)
Wattage / weightNot published

Cost of ownership

Belts are a consumable. Wüsthof sells a Spare Belt Set (7918-1) for exactly that reason, and the Upgrade Set is the other repeat line item if you own Japanese knives. Against that, a whetstone is close to a one-off: you flatten it occasionally and it lasts years, which is the argument how long does a whetstone last makes with the numbers.

So the comparison is not sticker price against sticker price. It is a premium machine plus belts plus possibly a guide, against a $35 combination stone plus about an hour of learning. If the hour is the obstacle, the machine is a reasonable purchase. If it is not, it is not.

Who should buy it

Buy it ifyour knives are German or German-style, you will not use a stone, and you want the electric that is least likely to wreck a blade’s shape. The belt mechanism, the three programs, the dust suction and the anti-slip base all point the same way: this is the considered version of a convenience product.

Think twice ifyour knives are Japanese — price in the Upgrade Set, and understand you will be reprofiling a 16° Shun edge to whichever guide you fit. Hard, thin Japanese edges are the case where a stone is not just better value but better practice, and the whetstone roundup starts around a tenth of what this machine costs.

Skip it ifyou want the fastest, cheapest route to sharp and do not care about geometry — the fixed-slot machines on our electric roundup do that for much less — or if you already own a stone and know what to do with it, in which case this machine removes metal you do not need to lose. Whetstone vs electric sharpener is the underlying decision, and professional knife sharpening is the third option for anyone who wants neither a machine nor a stone.

The verdict

The Easy Edge earns its place as the gentlest electric we can point at: flexible belts that follow the blade, a sensible three-stage program, dust suction, and a maker that publishes its angles even if it hides them in the FAQ. On Wüsthof’s own 58 Rockwell forged knives, ground to the same 14° the machine holds, it is a matched tool and an easy recommendation.

The two honest marks against it are both about disclosure and packaging rather than engineering: no grit published for the belts you actually receive, and a 10° Asian guide that a Japanese-knife owner needs and has to buy separately. Neither is a reason to avoid the machine. Both are reasons to know what you are buying before the box arrives.

Our verdict

WÜSTHOF Easy Edge Electric Knife Sharpener

The electric that behaves least like an electric. Instead of dragging the blade through fixed slots, flexible grinding belts run against the edge, so the abrasive follows the blade's own curve. WÜSTHOF describes the three one-touch stages as replacing coarse sharpening steels, fine whetstones and a finish on leather and polish — Shape for damage, Sharpen monthly, Refine weekly.

Strengths

  • Flexible belts follow the edge instead of forcing a fixed geometry onto it
  • Three one-touch programs — Shape, Sharpen, Refine — so the stage is chosen for you
  • Integrated dust suction and an anti-slip base; made in the USA with a stated 3-year warranty

Trade-offs

  • WÜSTHOF's published angles are 14° per side standard and 10° for Asian-style blades, and the Asian setting needs the separately sold Easy Edge Asian blade guide
  • No belt grit is published for the machine's own belts — only for the upgrade set (120ZA / 120 / X30 AO / X4 AO)
  • Belts are a consumable, and it is still a motor: lean on it and you will take off more than you meant to
TypeElectric, belt-driven, 3 one-touch stages
AbrasivesFlexible grinding belts; grit not published for the included set
Abrasive materialFlexible abrasive belt
Angle controlInterchangeable angle guide; Asian guide sold separately
Dimensions7 x 4.5 x 5 in

Specs read from the manufacturer listing, on October 28, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Wüsthof Easy Edge worth it?

If you own German knives, will not use a stone, and want the gentlest electric option, yes. The flexible belts follow the blade's own curve rather than dragging it through a fixed slot, and the three one-touch programs take the guesswork out of which stage to use. If you own Japanese knives, factor in the Upgrade Set, because the 10-degree Asian blade guide those knives need is a separate purchase. If you already sharpen on a whetstone, this machine removes more metal than you need to.

What angle does the Easy Edge sharpen at?

Wüsthof does not publish an angle on the Easy Edge product page at all. It publishes the figures in its FAQ instead: 'Our sharpening angle for standard blades is 14˚ per side, and for Asian-style blades (Santokus, Nakiris) is 10˚ per side.' The machine ships with the standard guide; the 10-degree Asian guide comes in the separately sold Upgrade Set.

Can you sharpen Japanese knives on a Wüsthof Easy Edge?

Wüsthof says 'Asian knives can also be sharpened with the Electric Knife Sharpener', and its own Upgrade Set page is blunter about what that takes: 'Asian blades need to be sharpened at a different angle to European ones and therefore require this Asian blade guide.' So yes, with the extra guide. Be clear about what happens either way: a Shun ground at 16 degrees each side put on a 14-degree guide is being reprofiled, and on the 10-degree Asian guide it is being reprofiled a great deal more. The machine imposes Wüsthof's geometry, not your knife's.

What grit are the Easy Edge belts?

Wüsthof publishes no grit figure for the belts supplied with the machine. The only place any grit appears is the separately sold Upgrade Set page, which lists '1 x coarse / 120ZA, 2 x medium / 120, 1 x fine / X30 AO, 1 x ultra-fine / X4 AO'. Those are the upgrade belts, not necessarily what is in the box, and we are not going to infer one from the other.

What do the three buttons do?

They are pre-programmed stages, and the live listing publishes the cadence Wüsthof intends for each: 'Use the Shape button if your knife is very dull or has damage to repair', 'The Sharpen button exposes a fresh cutting edge, monthly', and 'Use Refine to maintain your edge weekly'. Wüsthof's own product page frames the three stages as 'replacing coarse sharpening steels, fine whetstones and finishing with leather and polish'.

How often should you actually use it?

Less often than the buttons suggest, if you want the knife to last. Wüsthof's published cadence is Refine weekly and Sharpen monthly, and every pass on a motorized abrasive takes real steel off. Twelve Sharpen cycles a year is a lot of blade over a decade. A better routine for most kitchens is Refine when the knife starts to drag, Sharpen only when Refine stops working, and Shape only after actual damage.

Is the Easy Edge better than the Chef'sChoice 15XV?

They solve different problems. The 15XV uses fixed diamond slots and converts whatever you feed it to a 15-degree edge, which is fast, consistent and unforgiving of your knife's original geometry. The Easy Edge uses flexible belts, so the abrasive conforms to the blade's curve, and it offers a three-stage program with an interchangeable angle guide. If your knives are German and you want them maintained gently, the Easy Edge. If you want the fastest route to a keen 15-degree edge on a mixed drawer, the 15XV.

Do the belts wear out?

Yes, they are a consumable, and Wüsthof sells a Spare Belt Set (7918-1) to replace them. That is the real cost-of-ownership difference against a stone: a whetstone you flatten occasionally lasts years, while belts are a repeat purchase. Factor it in before comparing sticker prices.

Where is the Easy Edge made, and what is the warranty?

Wüsthof's own page gives a 'Country of Origin' of 'USA'. The live listing states 'Made in USA with a 3-year warranty; 7 x 4.5 x 5" tall'. Note that the three-year term is the machine's, not the lifetime warranty Wüsthof puts on its knives.

Sources

  • Easy Edge Electric Knife Sharpener — WÜSTHOF — WÜSTHOF's own page for Production SKU 3069730301, and the only maker-published description of the machine: 'The Electric Knife Sharpener boasts three stages for the honing, sharpening and fine polishing of blades, replacing coarse sharpening steels, fine whetstones and finishing with leather and polish', and 'Asian knives can also be sharpened with the Electric Knife Sharpener'. Its feature list is 'Handy table-top device', 'Flexible grinding belts', 'Integrated dust suction', 'Interchangeable angle guide', 'Replaceable PEtec blade guide', 'Intelligent "One Touch" program control' and 'Anti-slip rubber base', with a 'Country of Origin' of 'USA'. The page points owners to 'the Upgrade Set (7918)' to 'Improve handling' and 'the Spare Belt Set (7918-1)' to replace the belts. WÜSTHOF publishes NO grit figure for the belts supplied with the machine, NO sharpening angle on this page, and NO wattage or weight. The live Amazon listing's own feature block supplies the rest of what we print: 'Simple one-touch pre-programmed controls guide you through 3 sharpening stages without the guesswork', 'Use the Shape button if your knife is very dull or has damage to repair', 'The Sharpen button exposes a fresh cutting edge, monthly', 'Use Refine to maintain your edge weekly', and 'Made in USA with a 3-year warranty; 7 x 4.5 x 5" tall' (accessed October 28, 2026)
  • Frequently Asked Questions — WÜSTHOF — WÜSTHOF's own statement of the angles its sharpening tools are built around, which is the figure its product pages omit: 'Our sharpening angle for standard blades is 14˚ per side, and for Asian-style blades (Santokus, Nakiris) is 10˚ per side. We offer a variety of sharpening products with pre-set angles.' The same answer recommends 'using the same brand sharpener as your knife collection, to ensure that the material used is the correct hardness for the steel on your knives' (accessed October 28, 2026)
  • Easy Edge Upgrade set — WÜSTHOF — WÜSTHOF's own page for Production SKU 3069730401, and the source of the one limitation that matters most on a Japanese-knife site: 'The Asian blade attachment for our EASY EDGE electric knife sharpener. Asian blades need to be sharpened at a different angle to European ones and therefore require this Asian blade guide, which can be set up in just a few simple steps.' It is a SEPARATE purchase from the sharpener. The same page is the only place any belt grit is published for the system: 'The following grinding belts are included: 1 x coarse / 120ZA, 2 x medium / 120, 1 x fine / X30 AO, 1 x ultra-fine / X4 AO' (accessed October 28, 2026)
  • The Difference Between WÜSTHOF Forged and Stamped Kitchen Knives — WÜSTHOF — Wüsthof's own account of both processes: forged blades start as a single piece of steel heated to over 2000°F and take 'over fifty-four manufacturing steps', hardened to '58 Rockwell'; non-forged blades are 'cut from a high-quality steel sheet using a precision laser' in 'thirty-five manufacturing steps' and run 'between 55 and 57 Rockwell' (accessed August 18, 2026)
  • Shun Knives FAQ — Shun Cutlery (Kai USA) — Shun's own answers: 'Shun hardens VG10 and VG-Max steel to 60-61 Rockwell and SG2 to 61-62', 'Shun knives, for example, are sharpened to a 16 degree angle on each side of the blade', and on rods, 'Please do not use a diamond steel for regular honing. Diamond steels are for sharpening and will remove metal from your knife before it is necessary' (accessed August 28, 2026)
  • Knife sharpening — Wikipedia — Reference on edge angle, coarse-to-fine grit progression, and honing vs sharpening (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Rockwell hardness test — Wikipedia — Definition of the Rockwell C (HRC) scale used to state knife-steel hardness (accessed July 21, 2026)

Per-knife specs (steel, HRC, blade length, geometry) are read from each maker’s spec sheet or product listing and dated on the individual review cards above. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure — we flag it rather than guess.

Keep reading